Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Broken 007SH : I messed up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Free
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unhappy Broken 007SH : I messed up

    Hello !

    I've been lurking here for a while, but I decided to register today to see if anyone could help me with my phone. I read the topics on similar problems but so far I haven't been able to do much, so I'll appreciate any help/tip you guys could give me. Thanks in advance

    I bought a second hand unlocked Sharp 007SH aquos on ebay a few weeks ago. It worked great but it was crazy slow, so I rooted it and got rid of the bloatware. It was enough to make it work a good deal faster, but not quite enough to my taste. So after a while I installed an app that supposedly flagged all the modules in the phone : green for what I could delete safely, yellow for what should be kept and red for what I shouldn't touch at all.
    You see where I'm going with this right ? I deleted some more green stuff that was running in the background all the time and eating the ram, and tadaa, phone bricked. Well not exactly bricked. After I deleted said files an error message popped up about some file or other missing. I turned off the phone, turned it on again, but it can't complete the boot. The softbank logo appears, the aquos screen appears, but after that it tells me there's something wrong with the usim and it just stops there.

    I tried what was advised here : showthread.php/1809651-Sharp-Softbank-007SH-Aquos-problem-does-not-start ! (sorry I can't post links, so I cropped the beginning)

    The wipe data/factory reset in the recovery mode. It said it worked, but the only difference now is that the error message is in Japanese instead of English.

    I don't even know what I deleted. Did I relock my phone by deleting something ? Or is it something else ?

    If you have any idea about what I could do to repair the damage I've done, I'd be very grateful. Even though it was slow, I loved that phone way more than my Iphone, and I'm kinda heartbroken I know it's my own damn fault but well, I still want to try something.


    Thank you very much for reading !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    1. Enter recovery mode.
    2. Connect phone to PC.
    3. Use ADB (#root) to push backup files (hope you didn't forget to make backups!) to the phone.

    This is roughly what you need to do. I can't give you the exact details and commands though.
    Sharp mobile devices database & tips for Sharp smartphones: http://sharp.cheeseus.org
    Selling: Near mint Sharp SoftBank 005SH: SIM unlocked, permanent root, 16 GB microSD, leather case
    Selling: Sharp Aquos Phone 007SH – The Hybrid, SIM-unlocked, permanent root, 16 GB microSD, optimised.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Free
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am so very ashamed to say I didn't make any back up. It was on my to-do list that same day I chose to delete the files ; why it was not the first thing I chose to do is beyond even myself.
    And because bad news never come unaccompanied, I have a mac, not a pc, and Android File Transfer does not work with the version of Android I have apparently. I'm still trying to come up with a way to connect the phone to my computer...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by JoyStone View Post
    I am so very ashamed to say I didn't make any back up. It was on my to-do list that same day I chose to delete the files ; why it was not the first thing I chose to do is beyond even myself.
    And because bad news never come unaccompanied, I have a mac, not a pc, and Android File Transfer does not work with the version of Android I have apparently. I'm still trying to come up with a way to connect the phone to my computer...
    Well, how did you root the phone in the first place? All the rootkits (I have put on my website) are for Windows only...

    The first part of procedures of any of the semi-automated rootkits is creating backups. These backups are usually stored in a dedicated directory on the phone's microSD (you're supposed to transfer them to your PC later).

    So, if you did the procedure properly, check your microSD card -- using a card reader. The ADB environment files are included in the rootkit, so all you'd need to do is get the backups from the microSD to that PC, and then do the steps from above.

    No backups --- sorry for your loss

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Free
    Feedback Score
    0
    Alright, I'll try that ! Thank you very much for taking the time to answer I will keep you updated !

    It was a hassle to root it truth be told. I tried many things, but as you mentioned the rootkits are for Windows (that's how I found your website by the way). It turns out the towelroot apk worked on the phone. It rooted it, but I have yet to see if it did so properly and if I have those backups you are talking about...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by JoyStone View Post
    Alright, I'll try that ! Thank you very much for taking the time to answer I will keep you updated !

    It was a hassle to root it truth be told. I tried many things, but as you mentioned the rootkits are for Windows (that's how I found your website by the way). It turns out the towelroot apk worked on the phone. It rooted it, but I have yet to see if it did so properly and if I have those backups you are talking about...
    This is the first time - ever since Sharp made their first Android phone - that somebody reports a non-Japanese rootkit working on a Sharp phone. Towelroot does not create backups, as far as I know. This is bad news.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Free
    Feedback Score
    0
    If what you say is true, all that's left to do for me is kiss goodbye to any hope I had :/ Serves me right I guess -__-

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Try to connect the phone to a Windows PC, get the Sharp ADB drivers, and the ADB environment files, then try to establish connection with the phone. If you do, try to get root permissions. If you can, your best hope is to find the required image files (the backups) from another 007SH, and try to flash those to your system. Chances that this works aren't big, but this is the only thing I can think of.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Free
    Feedback Score
    0
    You've been a huge help already, thank you so much for that I'll try everything you mentioned, I'll update this if something happens to work !

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2007, 09:38 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2006, 02:24 AM
  3. WTB BROKEN, OR MESSED UP PHONES: read.
    By brownmin in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-29-2005, 04:23 PM
  4. T720 Messed up/Broken PLEASE HELP ME!!
    By popsicle pete in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2003, 09:58 PM
  5. Nokia 6185, got messed up need HELP!
    By HoustonTXPrimeCo in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2001, 03:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks