Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Windows Phone settings for Roam

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,089
    Device(s)
    Nokia Lumia 920
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

    Windows Phone settings for Roam

    Has anyone successfully used a Windows Phone running 8.1 on Roam Mobility? I'm trying to set things up and they helpfully have instructions for Windows 8.0, but several options were added in the cellular section of settings, and some of the options were renamed, making them difficult to parse. If there were only new options, or the options were only renamed, I'd probably be able to figure it out. It's the two together that makes it tough. This is on a Lumia 920.

    I see they now recommend using downloading "Access Point" from the store for setting up Lumias for their service, any experience with that?
    Lumia 950 XL dual-SIM -- SIM slot 1: Rogers (small business flex data) -- SIM slot 2: Public Mobile ($120/12GB/90 day plan)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    81
    Device(s)
    Nokia L1520.3, Redmi Note3SE, iPhone7+
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile, Speakout, Roam
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    As long as you don't have T-Mobile APN setting on your Access Point, it will work without any problem. I've Lumia 920 running Win 8.1 too, and I need to uninstall Access Point due to I've both T-Mobile & Roam APN settings there. I've to uninstall Access Point, change into Roam sim, and then reboot my 920. Even without Access Point, you can modify the APN settings for Roam, and everything works.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,089
    Device(s)
    Nokia Lumia 920
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yogababe View Post
    As long as you don't have T-Mobile APN setting on your Access Point, it will work without any problem. I've Lumia 920 running Win 8.1 too, and I need to uninstall Access Point due to I've both T-Mobile & Roam APN settings there. I've to uninstall Access Point, change into Roam sim, and then reboot my 920. Even without Access Point, you can modify the APN settings for Roam, and everything works.
    I had trouble setting up Roam's APN correctly in Windows Phone 8.1 correctly, because there were more menu options added (and some existing ones renamed) making it difficult to parse the old WP8.0 entries into the new ones. However, with neither T-Mobile or Roam APNs set up, I downloaded Access Point and it seemed to work fine (though the name in Access Point said "T-Mobile" not "Roam). I won't know for sure until I get to test it in the U.S.

    Can you share with me your APN settings for Roam? I'd appreciate it! I was able to get data to sort of work, but couldn't get MMS to work at all.
    Last edited by Steven Hurdle; 12-22-2014 at 06:05 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    81
    Device(s)
    Nokia L1520.3, Redmi Note3SE, iPhone7+
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile, Speakout, Roam
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I was in the States last month to pick up a Lumia 1520, and set it up with Roam sim without any problem. According to Data Sense, I've used 1.1 GB of data to setup the phone, so data is definitely working and I didn't bother using the slow Wifi from hotel. When I inserted the sim card, it asked me to choose a profile, so I picked T-Mobile, and then I modified the apn & mms and removed T-Mobile profile, set Data Roaming to ON is a must, and reboot the phone. Mind you Access Point is not working on Lumia 1520, so you have to make the changes under mobile + SIM. My phone is running Denim right now.

    Here is the setting I used which is on their website:
    Roam APN: wholesale
    - Select Settings
    - Select mobile+SIM
    - Select SIM settings
    - Select add Internet APN
    - Enter the word wholesale under the APN field
    - Press the save icon

    The following settings are for picture messaging MMS and are optional

    - Select add MMS APN
    - Enter the word wholesale under the APN field
    - Enter http://wholesale.mmsmvno.com/mms/wapenc under MMSC (URL)
    - Restart the device if data doesn't start working

    BTW, I get rid of my old L920 due to the sim card slot not working issue. If you do a search, you will find out a lot of Lumia users having this issue too. Both of my Wind & Roam sim cards won't work, but Fido will work. Some said it's software issue, and some said it's the card slot fitting issue. That's the reason I'm getting a new phone with nano sim this time.
    Last edited by yogababe; 04-30-2015 at 12:25 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. windows mobile settings for smt 5600 on edge wireless
    By laurieh in forum UT Starcom / Audiovox
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2006, 03:09 PM
  2. phone settings for my nokia 6111
    By ck_chino in forum Nokia
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2005, 07:12 PM
  3. PC / Phone setting for data modem
    By kenship in forum Nokia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2005, 05:45 PM
  4. Phone settings for INNO 90
    By NGio666 in forum Other Manufacturers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-25-2004, 06:43 PM
  5. WTB: Cheapy GSM 850 phone (unlocked) for roaming
    By brian_washdc in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 11:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks