Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Steps to port from ST (or pretty much any other service) to AT&T/GoPhone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    739
    Feedback Score
    0

    Steps to port from ST (or pretty much any other service) to AT&T/GoPhone

    Steps to port from ST (or pretty much any other service) to AT&T/GoPhone:

    Make sure you're calling from another phone number that you're not porting.
    Have your ST account number (It's the number on the SIM card) ready.
    Have an unused AT&T/GoPhone SIM card ready (postpaid and GoPhone SIMs are the same).
    *Have a prepaid PIN code ready to fund your new account (*unless you want to pay AT&T directly, which includes taxes/fees).
    Call AT&T porting: 18888987685.
    Tell them you want to port your number over from ST. They (AT&T porting) make the call to ST. You just chill out on hold.
    After that is done, AT&T will ask for the AT&T SIM card number (and prepaid PIN if you have it).
    Process will be complete, you'll be up and running on AT&T. They may ask to call you to ensure the port was successful.
    And you're done. The process takes ~25 minutes. Very straightforward and you know it'll be done right by you, the end user. Plus it saves you a trip to a store where it's a crapshoot as to what level of support you'll get.
    Last edited by YabbaDabaDoo; 12-05-2014 at 05:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    739
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hello Mod(s), can this thread please be stickied for future reference? Thank you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    N/W Tennessee
    Posts
    1,374
    Carrier(s)
    GoPhone (x2)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I second the request for this thread to be stickied.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    2,467
    Device(s)
    LG H631
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I third the request .

    Great job Yabba.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    739
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you Gate.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    739
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, Mods.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    2,467
    Device(s)
    LG H631
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yay sticky status.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mtns of Western NC
    Posts
    1,218
    Device(s)
    Ascend Y, Proclaim, Ascend Plus
    Carrier(s)
    America Movil, Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks OP! Used this method yesterday. Also of note, I activated with an H2O sim card as mentioned in another, older thread.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    739
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by indyrunr89 View Post
    Thanks OP! Used this method yesterday. Also of note, I activated with an H2O sim card as mentioned in another, older thread.
    You're welcome. Nice.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had an interesting experience porting over the phone from Cricket to GoPhone, part of it my fault, but hopefully this can help someone else.

    The number I wanted to port from Cricket (NY area code) and the area I reside in (NH) are considered 2 different markets by AT&T. When I called AT&T porting with my unactivated sim card ready to go, they said I had to create a GoPhone account first. Okay, cool, I went online and stupidly made a new account with a NH area code. When I called back, they said 1) I couldn't port a number from a different market than the existing account, and 2) if I was porting from an AT&T reseller (Cricket), I couldn't keep the original AT&T sim I was using.

    Somehow they worked around all this by getting prepaid on the line, changing my temporary GoPhone account to a NY number, then canceling the temporary account with a "relocation" code which let them reuse the sim and port my number from Cricket. I really have no idea why I had to make an account in the first place, or why they would say "we can't do that, but we actually can". I guess if porting tells you to make an account first, make sure you get assigned a number with the same area code as the one you are porting (they ask you for the service zip code which should be a zip code with the area code you want, not where you actually live).

    Or, just go to the store?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    2,467
    Device(s)
    LG H631
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Either way, even at the store, they'd have to get you into the right market first.

    I had this happen to me before but it's been a while.

    I forgot all about AT&Ts market issue till I read your post.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gate115 View Post
    Either way, even at the store, they'd have to get you into the right market first.

    I had this happen to me before but it's been a while.

    I forgot all about AT&Ts market issue till I read your post.
    Last time I ported to GoPhone I was visiting my parents, and the store was in the same market as the number I was porting. That would probably be why I didn't have any issues then...didn't think about that.

    I wonder if it would be at least a little less complicated in an out of market store than it was over the phone.

    As long as I don't have to pay NY taxes on my autorefill lol...but that should be tied to my card's billing address.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    739
    Feedback Score
    0
    GoPhone: Pure, premium, uncapped, sexual cellular service.

    Name:  image.jpg
Views: 2360
Size:  51.5 KB

Similar Threads

  1. Porting from ST Verizon to ST AT&T
    By Borghi in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 01:10 PM
  2. Time To Port Out...ST or TMobile?
    By jimxx200 in forum Phone Battle and Comparison
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 10:06 AM
  3. Porting from ST to PP
    By fade2black2004 in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 11:10 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 11:37 AM
  5. Steps to Port from Nextel to Sprint?
    By jpruett1 in forum Sprint
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-10-2006, 10:58 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks