Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 102

Thread: Cricket Q&A - The thread

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls
    Posts
    41
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wow, what great information. I wish I would have found this thread earlier.

    Regarding locked AT&T phones, is there any way of determining before ordering a SIM card whether or not a particular AT&T phone would work on Cricket without requiring an unlock? My wife has an AT&T locked Nokia Lumia 920 that we have been using on Straight Talk for a couple of years, but I would like to get it onto Cricket and take advantage of the multi-phone discount. (After reading a few posts back, it looks like my wife's AT&T phone should work just fine).

    Also, my father-in-law has an unlocked 3G tablet with 200mb of free data FOR LIFE on T-Mobile and I want to set him up with a SIM card for Cricket on a Basic plan (yet another phone for the discount) to get him 2.5GB/month. Other than creating a new APN for Cricket, are there any potential issues I should anticipate? Could we install a texting app to allow SMS and MMS messaging over the Cricket/AT&T network?

    Thanks for maintaining the FAQ!

    KC
    Last edited by zoofer; 08-24-2015 at 09:55 PM. Reason: Updated
    Cricket LG Optimus Pro
    Cricket Trio AXS 4G Tablet
    Cricket Nokia Lumia 920

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,339
    Device(s)
    Samsung GS7, Nokia 6350
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zoofer View Post
    Wow, what great information. I wish I would have found this thread earlier.

    Regarding locked AT&T phones, is there any way of determining before ordering a SIM card whether or not a particular AT&T phone would work on Cricket without requiring an unlock? My wife has an AT&T locked Nokia 920 that we have been using on Straight Talk for a couple of years, but I would like to get it onto Cricket and take advantage of the multi-phone discount.

    Also, my father-in-law has an unlocked 3G tablet with 200mb of free data FOR LIFE on T-Mobile and I want to set him up with a SIM card for Cricket on a Basic plan (yet another phone for the discount) to get him 2.5GB/month. Other than creating a new APN for Cricket, are there any potential issues I should anticipate? Could we install a texting app to allow SMS and MMS messaging over the Cricket/AT&T network?

    Thanks for maintaining the FAQ!

    KC
    I believe the only known locked ATT phone that doesn't work on Cricket is an iPhone 4. (4s is good.)

    I have no experience with putting a Cricket SIM into a radios but I have read lots of posts of people doing this sort of thing. I would wonder whether a tablet would have the cellular radios to send/receive SMS and MMS since the expectation is to not have voice calls on the tablet.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls
    Posts
    41
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmoose View Post
    I have no experience with putting a Cricket SIM into a radios but I have read lots of posts of people doing this sort of thing. I would wonder whether a tablet would have the cellular radios to send/receive SMS and MMS since the expectation is to not have voice calls on the tablet.
    Excellent point, didn't even consider that. Thanks.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    113
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm assuming so, but does cricket map as ATT on sensorly?

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    When I get the device upgrade credit, can I use it online or do I have to buy the phone in a store? And if I do that, do I have to pay the $25 activation fee on top of the purchase? I'm currently trying to save up money so I can get a new phone when my upgrade credit comes in, as I'm officially fed up with Windows Phone. And does it only come with certain plans or what?
    Last edited by grandhotel; 08-31-2015 at 10:47 PM.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by grandhotel View Post
    When I get the device upgrade credit, can I use it online or do I have to buy the phone in a store? And if I do that, do I have to pay the $25 activation fee on top of the purchase? I'm currently trying to save up money so I can get a new phone when my upgrade credit comes in, as I'm officially fed up with Windows Phone. And does it only come with certain plans or what?
    Any phone on their website - any plan. I would pick a phone with 4G LTE capabilities. I'm a light user (email, phone, text, web, apps) and I have the Moto E and it's fine. It's lags sometimes but....the ZTE Overture 2 is OK also.

    If you buy the device online, the sim is included and so is activation (so no additional cost). Everything can be done on-line. Make sure you can PORT your number (check on-line).

    IDK what a device upgrade credit is but when I got the rebate for buying the phone, I got it in form of a VISA card. I didn't use it to pay cricket b/c I have autopay (discount....).

    Keep your windows phone, esp if the hotspot feature is active. And don't upgrade the OS, that feature might be blocked.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls
    Posts
    41
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here's a question that you can add to the FAQ. I have an older smartphone activated on Cricket that uses a full size sim card. I want to replace that phone with a newer phone I've purchased on Swappa that uses a different size sim card, but I want to keep my existing phone number. How do I accomplish this?

    Thanks!

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13,768
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zoofer View Post
    Here's a question that you can add to the FAQ. I have an older smartphone activated on Cricket that uses a full size sim card. I want to replace that phone with a newer phone I've purchased on Swappa that uses a different size sim card, but I want to keep my existing phone number. How do I accomplish this?

    Thanks!
    Get a very inexpensive tool designed to cut down sims, works perfectly available very cheaply on eBay and Amazon.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls
    Posts
    41
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HansCT View Post
    Get a very inexpensive tool designed to cut down sims, works perfectly available very cheaply on eBay and Amazon.
    That sir looks like the way to go. Thanks for the suggestion!

  10. #70
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    291
    Feedback Score
    0
    Couple of questions for you Cricket pros.

    1. Canada Data options? Not seeing any info so I assume that isn't possible right now.

    2. I saw not that long ago there were issues with data speeds with Cricket users getting really low speeds. Was this resolved? Is this a normal occurrence?

    Looks almost like a good service for the price. Hell, maybe even a great deal. $35 for 2.5gb is pretty good even if its only 8mbs. That is plenty fast enough even for video. What is the catch?

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,397
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Aridon View Post
    Couple of questions for you Cricket pros.

    1. Canada Data options? Not seeing any info so I assume that isn't possible right now.

    2. I saw not that long ago there were issues with data speeds with Cricket users getting really low speeds. Was this resolved? Is this a normal occurrence?

    Looks almost like a good service for the price. Hell, maybe even a great deal. $35 for 2.5gb is pretty good even if its only 8mbs. That is plenty fast enough even for video. What is the catch?

    for #1 - no data in canada just voice calls & texts.

  12. #72
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    206
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    for #1 - no data in canada just voice calls & texts.
    I was just in Canada recently and one of the phones on our account had data roaming turned on for a short time before we realized and we turned it off, the data worked fine at LTE speeds.

    It hasn't been long enough to see if there will be some sort of charge but I proactively decided to read through all of the terms and conditions, all three full terms and conditions pages using the search feature, and I did not find anything about incurring data roaming charges in Canada or Mexico. Interestingly the terms and conditions specifically said that data roaming will not function in Mexico but omitted that it will not function in Canada whereas most everything else discusses Canada and Mexico together in the terms and conditions.

    Do you guys think if data roaming works then just go for it, use it?

    Does anyone know for a fact if they will charge me in some way?

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,397
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by <<M>> View Post
    I was just in Canada recently and one of the phones on our account had data roaming turned on for a short time before we realized and we turned it off, the data worked fine at LTE speeds.

    It hasn't been long enough to see if there will be some sort of charge but I proactively decided to read through all of the terms and conditions, all three full terms and conditions pages using the search feature, and I did not find anything about incurring data roaming charges in Canada or Mexico. Interestingly the terms and conditions specifically said that data roaming will not function in Mexico but omitted that it will not function in Canada whereas most everything else discusses Canada and Mexico together in the terms and conditions.

    Do you guys think if data roaming works then just go for it, use it?

    Does anyone know for a fact if they will charge me in some way?
    if data works then use it. the worst cricket can do is to terminate your service.

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a question that nobody at Cricket has been able to answer.

    I just signed up for a new credit card at my bank, and they need a phone number to contact me that also has my name associated with it. I gave them my cricket phone number, as it is my only phone. When I try and verify details for security purposes, they say my Cricket number comes up with someone else's name. Note that I can't find this person's name anywhere on Cricket, and Cricket sees my account as being in my name. Something else to note is that I get calls all of the time from people looking for another person, which is apparently the person who had this number before me.

    Is there a way to get this number associated with my name, maybe on caller ID? I can't pinpoint where the problem is. Really frustrating since I'm unable to activate the card until I get this resolved.

    Thanks.

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    687
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Pojosamaneo View Post
    I have a question that nobody at Cricket has been able to answer.

    I just signed up for a new credit card at my bank, and they need a phone number to contact me that also has my name associated with it. I gave them my cricket phone number, as it is my only phone. When I try and verify details for security purposes, they say my Cricket number comes up with someone else's name. Note that I can't find this person's name anywhere on Cricket, and Cricket sees my account as being in my name. Something else to note is that I get calls all of the time from people looking for another person, which is apparently the person who had this number before me.

    Is there a way to get this number associated with my name, maybe on caller ID? I can't pinpoint where the problem is. Really frustrating since I'm unable to activate the card until I get this resolved.

    Thanks.
    Email zendesk cricket email support and give them as much detail as possible.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 12:21 AM
  2. RE: The thread with a black guy fighting a white guy
    By drunkgoat in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2003, 10:47 PM
  3. Replies: 56
    Last Post: 10-24-2002, 03:29 AM
  4. the thread subscriptions
    By blucific in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2002, 11:16 AM

Bookmarks