Page 2 of 55 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 52 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 824

Thread: Network Updates

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,025
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    Wind on HMP2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Or put a "tower" inside the mall.

    Could a store inside of a mall install a signal booster, either with an antennae on the roof or an internet signal to get the mall interior a better or usable signal? Might not do anything outside the mall but that might be handled by existing towers.


    .
    via the HoFo App
    -----
    Your choices are yours and I do not criticize you for them.
    My choices are mine, please do not criticize me for my choices.
    -----
    Any comments I make are made to further any conversation that is happening and should not be taken as an attack or belittlement of anyone, unless I specifically say so.
    -----
    I dislike all politicians and lawyers equally.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    61
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by juleso View Post
    I'd be really curious to know the impact of that new tower (July 7) in Mississauga near square one....where there's an appreciable improvement in and around the mall, since I assume, like many other malls in the GTA, the quality of the signal was probably lacking.
    Well they've now added a site at fairview mall.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,138
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Indeed!

    Announced July 23

    GTA - North York @ Fairview Mall

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,131
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Indeed!

    Announced July 23

    GTA - North York @ Fairview Mall
    It's about time! I have always wondered how the Wind kiosk in that mall ever survived. Imagine the look on a customer's face when they take 10 steps away from the kiosk with shiny new phone in hand and find zero signal. Next step is to upgrade Yorkdale mall.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using HowardForums

  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada - Toronto
    Posts
    1,750
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus S
    Carrier(s)
    WIND MOBILE
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have noticed that the voice quality with WIND around GTA was noticeably bad during the past 3-5 days. Today seems to be ok.
    Any major upgrades going on that is causing this issue? Anyone else experienced this past few days?
    WIND: Everywhere 55
    Unlimited CA/US Call, MMS, 8gb Data, 2400 min US/CA Roaming w/1gb Data

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,025
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    Wind on HMP2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by syzuie View Post
    I have noticed that the voice quality with WIND around GTA was noticeably bad during the past 3-5 days. Today seems to be ok.
    Any major upgrades going on that is causing this issue? Anyone else experienced this past few days?
    Past week and some last week I couldn't get data in Edmonton but I could do voice and text. Not extensive testing on this though. West end and east end around Northlands. First time I've had issues or first time I've noticed, take your pick.


    .
    Via HoFo App on an iPhone 5S

  7. #22
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada - Toronto
    Posts
    1,750
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus S
    Carrier(s)
    WIND MOBILE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Right now ppl in my office (Hwy7 & Leslie) have major issues with their FIDO and ROGERS and another friend in North York also confirmed her calls doesnt go through (again Fido).. the voice quality for WIND was also aweful in the past week throughout the GTA..
    I wonder if this incident is coincidence..

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    196
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by syzuie View Post
    Right now ppl in my office (Hwy7 & Leslie) have major issues with their FIDO and ROGERS and another friend in North York also confirmed her calls doesnt go through (again Fido).. the voice quality for WIND was also aweful in the past week throughout the GTA..
    I wonder if this incident is coincidence..
    Maybe all related to extra people coming in for PanAm games?

    On Bell here I've just noticed a bit slower speeds so might all be related

    Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Center Universe (Toronto)
    Posts
    66
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by syzuie View Post
    I have noticed that the voice quality with WIND around GTA was noticeably bad during the past 3-5 days. Today seems to be ok.
    Any major upgrades going on that is causing this issue? Anyone else experienced this past few days?
    I have noticed that too. Phone calls were hard to place and when it did connect call quality was pretty bad. I started blaming Phone/Bluetooth. same areas seemed worst than others. It seemed to improved last few days. Data still hit and miss, great some areas, non existent on others.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,138
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Announced August 11

    Vancouver - Kingsway & Knight Street

    --
    sites.postpro.net
    'WIND New'

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,025
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    Wind on HMP2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Announced August 11

    Vancouver - Kingsway & Knight Street

    --
    sites.postpro.net
    'WIND New'
    Right next to a Mobilicity site, so this one must have been on the go for a while. Oh well, fills in another hole in the coverage map.


    .
    Via HoFo App on an iPhone 5S

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,138
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    They are too close to rule out it being the same location, 4028 Knight Street. WIND provides only closest (major) intersection in their announcements.

    Someone in the area could locate the actual address of the new WIND site using CellMapper. Plotting at least three of the site's cells (sectors) should provide an accurate location. The site tower/building could then be confirmed visually.

    Once mapped using CellMapper, the new Vancouver site will appear here. If you'd like contributor credit for helping map the site register an account for a user ID first, from within the app or on the website. Once registered you can also edit site data, eg. for precise location / actual address.

    --
    For a tower to be calculated properly, you will need to travel around the tower in at least 1/2 to 3/4 of a circle near the actual location in order to determine the exact location.
    - CellMapper FAQ
    Last edited by pjw918; 08-11-2015 at 08:49 PM.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    243
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Q5, Blackberry Z30
    Carrier(s)
    Wind, Public Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    An area that needs a huge improvement is near Finch Station.
    I'm in 1 of the Xerox buildings and it's sporadic at best.

    Even going outside doesn't help much. Ugh

    Sometimes it takes me 3hrs to send a whatapp text, let alone a web page...

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    GVA
    Posts
    1,702
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus, Blackberry Passport, Lumia 640
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SilverSamurai View Post
    An area that needs a huge improvement is near Finch Station.
    I'm in 1 of the Xerox buildings and it's sporadic at best.

    Even going outside doesn't help much. Ugh

    Sometimes it takes me 3hrs to send a whatapp text, let alone a web page...
    That should be a sign that WIND maybe isn't working out for you...

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    560
    Device(s)
    Lots
    Carrier(s)
    PM, Wind, Koodo, Koodo, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0

    Ottawa

    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Announced July 13

    Ottawa - Gatineau @ rue Davidson Ouest & rue Nobert
    Thanks for the update. Interesting that they don't add towers in Ottawa's East end, yet Buckingham has a few towers. I wonder if they are seeing the same congestion level we are.

    No towers South of Innes (Ottawa 30), close to Trim and South of Hunt Club. Driving from the East End to Metcalfe and Manotick (through the Greenbelt), you go in and out of Wind's coverage zones two or three times.

    -gmd

Page 2 of 55 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 52 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Phone(Delve) keeps resetting after network update
    By metachronos in forum ALLTEL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2009, 02:23 PM
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 04:34 PM
  3. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 10:13 PM
  4. Audiovox 5600 -- no network update of date and time?
    By jillwohl in forum UT Starcom / Audiovox
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2005, 12:34 AM
  5. Verizon network update
    By Andy84094 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 07:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks