Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: I want VM to be taken away entirely. How?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,166
    Feedback Score
    0

    I want VM to be taken away entirely. How?

    I have this option in the $25 package. But checking on VM is absolute pain. All my buddies know they should leave msg to my home VOIP phone which will generate an email reaching me right away.
    Should I just leave the VM system uninitiated?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Device(s)
    One Plus One (Virgin), iPhone 5c (Mobi)
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin > Fongo, Chatrlicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is no rule that says you need to use the VM system. You could even just forward on no answer to your VoIP line.
    Bell SK+fongo:
    $85 Unlimited NA, NA text, US Roaming, 15GB

    Chatrlicity:
    $30 Unlimited NAM , $30 Unlimited Province Wide

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13,768
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't know with your provider but most will disable it completely for you, if what you want is an ongoing ring no answer. But what I usually do is set up conditional call forwarding - on no answer, on no service, and unbusy - to my universal Inbox, which in your case sounds like should be your VoIP number.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,166
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fruvous View Post
    There is no rule that says you need to use the VM system. You could even just forward on no answer to your VoIP line.
    Actually I was trying to do that with short code forwarding to my home phone. But all short codes incl those of Rogers do not work.
    And I finally called the service centre and have the feature taken out. It works really beautiful as by now it rings for 15 times before the line is hanged up. Love it.
    With VM it would have been passed back to the VM system after 5 rings. That helps a lot when call comes in and I need to locate the phone (or I am driving)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    144
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's as easy as just calling them and say you want the voice mail disabled.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2,283
    Carrier(s)
    4169582622 ANI #
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dtong22 View Post
    I have this option in the $25 package. But checking on VM is absolute pain. All my buddies know they should leave msg to my home VOIP phone which will generate an email reaching me right away.
    Should I just leave the VM system uninitiated?
    Where is the screen shot from? Thx
    25GB Cap? DIY Telnus prepaid/Koodo unlimited EVDO internet (for $10 per 2 months, to keep account "Active"), Max 3Mbps download speed, if you roam on Bell (free), then you get non-NATed IP

    mobile files is reopened - Aug 11/2010
    HoFo = censorship same as US censor wikileaks = china censor

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    6,383
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Z30, Blackberry Q10, Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by dtong22 View Post
    With VM it would have been passed back to the VM system after 5 rings. That helps a lot when call comes in and I need to locate the phone (or I am driving)
    That was your reason to disable it???
    You CAN change number of rings before voice mail picks up
    It is sad I need to state the obvious but some people just don't get it. Any posts I make are my own OPINIONS and in no way represent the views of my employer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Device(s)
    One Plus One (Virgin), iPhone 5c (Mobi)
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin > Fongo, Chatrlicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kav2001c View Post
    That was your reason to disable it???
    You CAN change number of rings before voice mail picks up
    Do tell how to do that on Wind or Virgin.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,138
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fruvous View Post
    Do tell how to do that on Wind or Virgin.
    Forwarding dial codes don't work on WIND or Virgin?

    A quick way to check is *#61#

    Won't do anything, just reports on status of no-answer conditional forwarding.

    If you don't get something like "request not processed", you should be able to set a conditional forward to your voicemail number for a specific # of rings.

    If you have to pay for call forwarding, that's unconditional forwarding, you should still be able to set a conditional forward.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    360
    Device(s)
    Asus ZenFone 2 Laser w/CM13
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile, Chatr, formerly Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fruvous View Post
    Do tell how to do that on Wind or Virgin.
    On Wind, use the following to adjust the voicemail delay:

    **61*16477001778**xx#


    where "xx" is the number of seconds. 30s is approximately 5-6 rings.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    947
    Device(s)
    Blackview BV8000
    Carrier(s)
    Telus & Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fruvous View Post
    Do tell how to do that on Wind or Virgin.
    In the Chatr forums this is relevant how???

Similar Threads

  1. National Access MOU - Being Taken Away
    By bobbert45 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 09:35 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 05:51 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2003, 06:33 PM
  4. SunCom To Be Taken Over By AT&T Wireless?
    By Guest 174 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-07-2003, 09:44 AM
  5. Replies: 43
    Last Post: 06-07-2002, 08:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks