Thread: What do PC's and Phones have in common?

Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

What do PC's and Phones have in common?

Name:  IMG_9156.jpg
Views: 145
Size:  41.0 KB
    I’ve been trying out Microsoft’s Lumia 950 Windows Phone all week. The fact that it runs me Microsoft's Windows made me get a bit nostalgic. I’m a bit of an old-school gadget nerd. I’ve been working on HowardForums for over 15 years now and while I’m a huge phone nerd who always regrets not keeping every single phone I’ve ever owned, my original love will always be desktop computers.

My memory is a bit hazy but around the time I started the site I had an Intel Pentium 133MMX laptop running Windows ME which was soon to be replaced with an Athlon 600 which I built myself. Here’s a bit of trivia, the first computer HowardForums had all to itself was a Celeron 300 (or was it a 600) which was overclocked. It ran Linux and had a 40GB hard drive. It was cobbled together from new and existing parts I had lying around.

Over the years I would replace my computer as often as I could afford. Fortunately I had a girlfriend (now wife) who was okay with this. However, a few years back something happen; My interest in computers started to wane. Instead of replacing my computer every year I’d start replacing it every 2 years. Then I went through an almost 4 or 5 year stint where I didn’t change it and really didn’t think twice about this.

Last year I built myself an 8 core Intel computer and unless it breaks I really don’t see myself getting rid of it unless it breaks.

I guess the reason why I stopped caring about computers is that newer versions didn’t really do anything my old computer could already do. Mind you with desktops you can always upgrade it incrementally. Want more space? Buy a new hard drive. What better speakers? Swap those out.