Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 95

Thread: Unlimited Sprint LTE $120 a year (plus $55 for hotspot) for low-income

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    Google Pixel XL, OnePlus 5, Nexus 6P
    Carrier(s)
    Google FI, T-Mobile, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ElBerryKM13 View Post
    Available in my area. Ordered one will post results if I get it.
    I guess you qualified for the plan?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Next to a tower in Kansas
    Posts
    699
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    It would be nice if I could move the SIM into a netgear 6100d, the mifi I have with freedompop sucks and I don't think the fuse would be much better.
    Mourning the loss of my Nextel i325 but still using a bag phone.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Greater D.C./Baltimore Metro Region, USA
    Posts
    1,870
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile BlackBerry Priv, VZW AC791L Jetpack, MoFi 4500 SIM4 V. 2 LTE Gateway
    Carrier(s)
    ▪T▪ ▪ ▪Mobile▪, Verizon Wireless, AT&T BLAST! Plan from 4ghsDOTcom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gunterm View Post
    It would be nice if I could move the SIM into a netgear 6100d, the mifi I have with freedompop sucks and I don't think the fuse would be much better.
    I guess it depends if these SIMs are IMEI locked the way they are on Sprint post-paid service.
    Photobucket's policy changes SUCK!

    New signature coming soon-ish...

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    253
    Feedback Score
    0
    Why would you think the 6100 would be any better?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    805
    Feedback Score
    0
    6100d has external antennas. but now that I think about it, I wonder if those antennas are for the cell reception or for the wifi (since it is also a wifi router)

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    253
    Feedback Score
    0
    Those little antennas may be a bit better than the internal but not much.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,923
    Feedback Score
    0
    YOU CAN NOT CHANGE THE SIM CARD IN A HOTSPOT..............Meaning from FUSE to 6100D....... I already tried, and its been addressed by tech support.

    The ESN/SIM CARD is tied to the device...........

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    188
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by greg4android View Post
    YOU CAN NOT CHANGE THE SIM CARD IN A HOTSPOT..............Meaning from FUSE to 6100D....... I already tried, and its been addressed by tech support.

    The ESN/SIM CARD is tied to the device...........
    You mean they won't let you change from the fuse to another device? That's pretty bad they won't let you. What if your netgear fuze craps out and you end up buying another hotspot device from ebay? I don't see a reason why they won't allow it.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    253
    Feedback Score
    0
    The fuse has antenna ports and I have seen the little antennas for them but never where to but them. A TS0 adapter is what you use to connect a regular antenna to the fuse. Just connect one of the ports. You'd need two separate outside antennas to use both ports.

    If you are handy I saw a You tube of a home made antenna for the fuse. Stubby little thing that you wouldn't think much of except it's much larger than the antenna inside the device.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    253
    Feedback Score
    0
    BTW the price went up on this to $180 a year.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    453
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jimindenver View Post
    BTW the price went up on this to $180 a year.
    $60 of which covers the modem/hotspot/device, and $120 of which covers the service. So year 2 would cost $120.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    188
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jimindenver View Post
    BTW the price went up on this to $180 a year.
    What has goe up is the price of shipping. Its still $120/y but you pay more for modem if they ship ito you.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,470
    Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket Essential Plan
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by greg4android View Post
    YOU CAN NOT CHANGE THE SIM CARD IN A HOTSPOT..............Meaning from FUSE to 6100D....... I already tried, and its been addressed by tech support.

    The ESN/SIM CARD is tied to the device...........
    Help me understand the technology. My Novatel MIFI2200 from Selectel doesn't even have a SIM card as far as I know. I think it's like a CDMA cell phone.. So the Fuse and Netgear mobile hotspots that you're describing are like GSM cell phones with s SIM card?
    My smartphone is a lot smarter than I am.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,923
    Feedback Score
    0
    the SIM CARD in a CDMA device is used only for the 4G LTE connection.

    Hence why a CDMA 3G phone doesn't have a sim card.

    the FUSE/ZING etc etc are CDMA hotspots. If they have 4GLTE capabilities, then they have a sim card.

    Now, if you take OUT the sim card, it won't work at all because its a part of the device.

    We're NOT talking about GSM devices on at&t or T-Mobile...........they REQUIRE a sim card. The FUSE is CDMA on SPRINT, ***NOT*** GSM. (its not a global device).

    Quote Originally Posted by Relztrah View Post
    Help me understand the technology. My Novatel MIFI2200 from Selectel doesn't even have a SIM card as far as I know. I think it's like a CDMA cell phone.. So the Fuse and Netgear mobile hotspots that you're describing are like GSM cell phones with s SIM card?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Greater D.C./Baltimore Metro Region, USA
    Posts
    1,870
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile BlackBerry Priv, VZW AC791L Jetpack, MoFi 4500 SIM4 V. 2 LTE Gateway
    Carrier(s)
    ▪T▪ ▪ ▪Mobile▪, Verizon Wireless, AT&T BLAST! Plan from 4ghsDOTcom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jimindenver View Post
    The fuse has antenna ports and I have seen the little antennas for them but never where to but them. A TS0 adapter is what you use to connect a regular antenna to the fuse. Just connect one of the ports. You'd need two separate outside antennas to use both ports.

    If you are handy I saw a You tube of a home made antenna for the fuse. Stubby little thing that you wouldn't think much of except it's much larger than the antenna inside the device.
    Sprint sells Netgear's Signal Boosting Cradle for the Zing, you can find it HERE.

    Quote Originally Posted by greg4android View Post
    the SIM CARD in a CDMA device is used only for the 4G LTE connection.

    Hence why a CDMA 3G phone doesn't have a sim card.

    the FUSE/ZING etc etc are CDMA hotspots. If they have 4GLTE capabilities, then they have a sim card.

    Now, if you take OUT the sim card, it won't work at all because its a part of the device.

    We're NOT talking about GSM devices on at&t or T-Mobile...........they REQUIRE a sim card. The FUSE is CDMA on SPRINT, ***NOT*** GSM. (its not a global device).
    That's not entirely true. As evidenced by Verizon Wireless, on a modern WCDMA (i.e. LTE) network, your service is activated on, i.e. tied to, your SIM card. Sprint just IMEI LOCKS their SIM cards to the device the SIM comes with to make it much harder for you to change devices, because they're a bunch of jerks like that.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1878
    Last Post: 10-04-2017, 01:10 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-28-2014, 03:23 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 06:37 PM
  4. VM to offer federally subsidized wireless service for low-income NYers
    By Jill-o in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 04:07 PM
  5. Free Tracfone for low income in Virginia
    By tracnet in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2008, 01:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks