Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Use Fi sim periodically?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    159
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Use Fi sim periodically?

    I was curious if I could get Fi but then deactivate my account except for around a few times a year when my wife and I travel to visit family. The addition of US cellular is a big plus now. Can you basically is fi as a true prepaid provider and just activate it as needed?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    2,444
    Device(s)
    s8+, s8, s7e, Pro3, Axon 7, Nexus 5+6+5x, Note 4, moto xp
    Carrier(s)
    Xfinity Mobile, Project Fi, att, tmo, FreedomPop, trac/att, CellNuvo, tru, lyca, ekit
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can suspend service up to three months (except military up to 39 mos), then it will automatically resume. You keep your number during the suspension but you cannot use the number (hangouts will not work either).

    If you want to deactivate, you can port your number to Google Voice (or elsewhere) and you would need a new SIM and start over on your next visit. Or if you do not need the number, just cancel, and then start over.
    --
    CellGuru

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    335
    Feedback Score
    0
    They told me reactivation can take up to a week so when I inquired......That was maybe back in February 2016.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dover, NH
    Posts
    2,539
    Device(s)
    S8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believe the number associated with Fi (your Google Voice number), also gets suspended when Fi is suspended, so you can't suspend Fi and use your GV number on another carrier.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    15
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by worldtraveler85 View Post
    They told me reactivation can take up to a week so when I inquired......That was maybe back in February 2016.
    Can anyone confirm this? I'm thinking about suspending my account two more times and then nuking it after a couple of trips. T-Mobile/Sprint coverage is horrible where I live (no band 12 on T-Mo because of stupid UHF station).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dover, NH
    Posts
    2,539
    Device(s)
    S8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cruisereg View Post
    Can anyone confirm this? I'm thinking about suspending my account two more times and then nuking it after a couple of trips. T-Mobile/Sprint coverage is horrible where I live (no band 12 on T-Mo because of stupid UHF station).
    Why would you get Fi if you have bad Sprint and T-Mobile coverage? When you suspend Fi, you also suspend your GV number tied to Fi.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    15
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by geoff5093 View Post
    Why would you get Fi if you have bad Sprint and T-Mobile coverage? When you suspend Fi, you also suspend your GV number tied to Fi.
    Mostly for the International roaming. Also, I hadn't been on Sprint for 6+ years in this area so I was hoping it'd had gotten better.

    I don't have my main GV # tied to the service, so that isn't an issue.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-07-2016, 05:25 PM
  2. fs: used voicestream sim
    By joey12volt in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2002, 11:47 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2002, 12:17 AM
  4. Firmware 2.3.0 -- can't use 32k SIM??
    By leobag in forum Siemens
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-28-2001, 10:21 AM
  5. WTB: Used / Unused sims for anything but FIDO
    By mpeg in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-04-2001, 12:05 PM

Bookmarks