Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Telus testing pico/femto cells?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    545
    Device(s)
    Moto X SkyNET edition
    Carrier(s)
    To be determined
    Feedback Score
    0

    Telus testing pico/femto cells?

    I have been told Telus intends to install thousands and thousands of very small cells.
    Looking at the just updated cell data base you can see an area in Langley, BC where it looks like they are testing the concept. This is not a super populated area at all. Put in postal code v3a3g1 and then zoom out a little to see just how many Telus sites are in the area.
    http://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmm, not really new, they have been around for a year or two. The Broadway corridor (LTE only), Tsawwassen (LTE+UMTS), and Commercial Drive (LTE only?) come to mind as being there for some time. They are also doing parts of White Rock as well I believe.
    See this link and look for the telltale clusters. Langley is one of them.
    One thing to notice is that Telus seems to be using the PCS band for Langley vs AWS it used for previous deployments.
    Telus basically stated something along the lines of "macrocells are dead" and they will only focus on microcells/DAS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    913
    Feedback Score
    0
    Not sure about pico for outdoor use, but maybe some kind of outdoor microcells.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    They are made by Huawei. I don't have the exact model #. They seem to connect via ADSL (or at least use the copper wires), as all the poles I have seen it on only had power+phone lines on them.
    LTE (Vancouver)
    Name:  302_220_11002_126391 (1).jpg
Views: 939
Size:  78.0 KB
    LTE+UMTS (Tsawwassen):
    Name:  302_220_11014_310769 (1).jpg
Views: 947
Size:  21.9 KB

    I have higher res pictures if anybody is interested

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    913
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hard to tell from the pictures, but looks like microcell BTS3202E, for Band 4 LTE.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Definately looks very similar. I'm not familiar with Huawei's microcell selection, so I can't say for sure.
    Here are some more very high-res pictures : http://imgur.com/a/gASGk
    Unfortunately, I couldn't get close enough to get the label to be visible.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Nanaimo, Bc, Canada
    Posts
    3,912
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0


    These are the ones in use in Ladysmith BC


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Current Phone: Blackberry Bold 2: 9700 Bell Mobility..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    BC Canada
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    Cat S60, Rugby LTE (SGH-I547C)
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zivan56 View Post
    They are made by Huawei. I don't have the exact model #. They seem to connect via ADSL (or at least use the copper wires), as all the poles I have seen it on only had power+phone lines on them.
    LTE (Vancouver)
    Name:  302_220_11002_126391 (1).jpg
Views: 939
Size:  78.0 KB
    That's a fiber splice enclosure to the left, so I'm assuming that guy connects via fiber and is powered straight off of hydro (no battery backup)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Rampage_Rick View Post
    That's a fiber splice enclosure to the left, so I'm assuming that guy connects via fiber and is powered straight off of hydro (no battery backup)
    Interesting, I thought that was a cable box. That street finally got fibre installed a few months back, vs that cell being there for years.
    The other one had nothing of that sorts nearby, and its in the middle of a park.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    BC Canada
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    Cat S60, Rugby LTE (SGH-I547C)
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    From what I've seen I believe Telus is using BTS3902E (UMTS) and BTS3202E (LTE) with Ethernet over fiber backhaul. (GPON and VDSL2 are options, but I don't thing they're used by Telus)

    As much as I hate to promote these quacks, they have some great pictures: http://emrabc.ca/?page_id=7536

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    BC Canada
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    Cat S60, Rugby LTE (SGH-I547C)
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm seeing new hardware in Chilliwack. Looks like they've switched to the Huawei "AtomCell" BTS3911E (w/ integrated MIMO antenna)

    Name:  BTS3911E.jpg
Views: 306
Size:  8.9 KB

    They're still in the process of installing the PureFiber network, so only a half dozen of the microcells are active on the north side of town. There are dozens more sites waiting to be turned on.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    So they are 4x4 MIMO?
    Seems like they can do both UMTS+LTE or LTE+LTE. Are they configured as the current one (B2 UMTS + B4 LTE)?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    374
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zivan56 View Post
    So they are 4x4 MIMO?
    Seems like they can do both UMTS+LTE or LTE+LTE. Are they configured as the current one (B2 UMTS + B4 LTE)?
    Is there a way for Freedom deploy band 4 everywhere with this configuration UMTS+LATE on band 4?

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ravercwb View Post
    Is there a way for Freedom deploy band 4 everywhere with this configuration UMTS+LATE on band 4?

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app
    They could get rid of DC-HSPA+ and do 5MHz LTE and 5MHz HSPA+. That would probably upset a significant part of their usebase that is on 3G.

    Sent from my ZTE A2017U using HoFo mobile app

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zivan56 View Post
    They could get rid of DC-HSPA+ and do 5MHz LTE and 5MHz HSPA+. That would probably upset a significant part of their usebase that is on 3G.

    Sent from my ZTE A2017U using HoFo mobile app
    Not to mention if it was just 5mhz if LTE (not CA configured) it would be completely saturated in a short period of time just like 5mhz of 3G.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. American Airlines and Qualcomm test in flight cell phone use
    By Bugwart in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2004, 11:59 AM
  2. FS: TELUS Samsung Uproar Mp3 Cell Phone
    By BiggPoppa in forum Non GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2004, 03:02 PM
  3. Is Telus testing the T608??
    By halfempty in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-21-2003, 09:23 AM
  4. Free Telus Samsung SCH T300 cell phone-take over contract
    By brucele in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-15-2002, 11:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks