Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 282

Thread: AT&T Roaming Speedtests

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,632
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by curiouscustomer View Post
    I can confirm that is not true. On the status bar it displays Nextel or Iusacell but if you go to the carrier tab in settings ( to select the carrier you want to roam on) it shows Nextel as AT&T MX and Iusacell as Iusacell. Also it depends on location because in certain cities it will show Nextel as AT&T MX (in carrier tab in settings not status bar) and in other it will just display Nextel.
    Interesting. I wonder why the alpha tags would be different for roaming customers vs. AT&T Mexico customers.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    1,621
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus Factory Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dnywlsh View Post
    Interesting. I wonder why the alpha tags would be different for roaming customers vs. AT&T Mexico customers.
    I agree I also wonder why

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    225
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was in cancun and it showed AT&T

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles - San Diego - Tijuana / D.F. - Puebla
    Posts
    22,038
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus / Apple iPhone 7 / Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / Verizon Wireless / iusacell MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by itsme718 View Post
    I was in cancun and it showed AT&T
    Same here. I'm only seeing "AT&T" with the MSV line, on my BB which is confusing if I'm in Tijuana, now if I use my S7 then it's AT&T MX.
    My grandfathered line will display "Nextel" on my iPhone 6S, but for some unknown reason it can't display Movistar so all I get is "334 03".

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,632
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by i0wnj00 View Post
    Same here. I'm only seeing "AT&T" with the MSV line, on my BB which is confusing if I'm in Tijuana, now if I use my S7 then it's AT&T MX.
    My grandfathered line will display "Nextel" on my iPhone 6S, but for some unknown reason it can't display Movistar so all I get is "334 03".
    That's odd. I didn't know there could be so many inconsistencies in alpha tags. Usually, they're sent by the network itself, and are the same no matter what phone or plan you have.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    1,621
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus Factory Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by i0wnj00 View Post
    Same here. I'm only seeing "AT&T" with the MSV line, on my BB which is confusing if I'm in Tijuana, now if I use my S7 then it's AT&T MX.
    My grandfathered line will display "Nextel" on my iPhone 6S, but for some unknown reason it can't display Movistar so all I get is "334 03".
    Yup on my iPhone 6s Plus it displayed Nextel instead of AT&T MX

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles - San Diego - Tijuana / D.F. - Puebla
    Posts
    22,038
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus / Apple iPhone 7 / Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / Verizon Wireless / iusacell MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by curiouscustomer View Post
    Yup on my iPhone 6s Plus it displayed Nextel instead of AT&T MX
    Well, I got switched over to AT&T MX in my 6S Plus..

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    1,621
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus Factory Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by i0wnj00 View Post
    Well, I got switched over to AT&T MX in my 6S Plus..
    Well I can't say as I won't be back to Mexico until next year and I am now on iOS 10.2 Beta 4 so I'm more than likely going to get AT&T MX now to

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    445
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    For the iPhones call international tech support and they can enable manual network selection. I use it in Canada and I can choose whichever network I want.
    Alex
    Teamsters Local 399
    "American by birth, teamster by the grace of God"

  10. #25
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    1,621
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus Factory Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T Roaming Speedtests

    Quote Originally Posted by astrand1 View Post
    For the iPhones call international tech support and they can enable manual network selection. I use it in Canada and I can choose whichever network I want.
    I did this a while back but thanks for the advice

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,632
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just got back from Cabo San Lucas with family who has AT&T.

    Some phones displayed "AT&T MX", while others showed "Nextel" and "IUSACELL". They were only able to register on the AT&T networks and Movistar, but they couldn't connect to Telcel. For some reason, Movistar showed up as "334 03" on the AT&T phones. The AT&T networks were definitely preferred. The AT&T phones would only connect to Movistar automatically if you completely lost AT&T signal, and then it would switch back to AT&T as soon as you got a signal again.

    Verizon phones preferred Movistar, but could connect to Telcel if you manually forced it.

    Our T-Mobile phones preferred Telcel, but we could force them to Movistar.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sugar Land
    Posts
    695
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+ 64GB (At&t), Galaxy S5 (Verizon)
    Carrier(s)
    Houston Cellular/Cingular/At&t - 3 lines (2000-present) Verizon (2011-2014,2016-present(work phone))
    Feedback Score
    0
    Name:  UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_193b.jpg
Views: 457
Size:  14.9 KBName:  UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_193c.jpg
Views: 468
Size:  29.7 KBName:  UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_193d.jpg
Views: 471
Size:  41.0 KBName:  UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1943.jpg
Views: 475
Size:  32.2 KB

    I'm getting 5-10Mbps down and 2Mbps up currently roaming on Commnet in Tusayan, AZ (Grand Canyon hotels area). iPhone 6 and 6+ both display "AT&T 3G". Speeds have stayed pretty consistant and reliable in this area, although once leaving town going south, coverage gets sketchy real fast and their are stretches of voice/text only until closer to Williams and back on At&t.
    Last edited by technoevil; 12-15-2016 at 10:05 PM.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,632
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by technoevil View Post
    I'm getting 7-10Mbps down and 2Mbps up currently roaming on Commnet in Tusayan, AZ (Grand Canyon hotels area). iPhone 6 and 6+ both display "AT&T 3G". Speeds have stayed pretty consistant and reliable in this area, although once leaving town going south, coverage gets sketchy real fast and their are stretches of voice/text only until closer to Williams and back on At&t.
    Any screenshots?

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,491
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T/Sprint/VZW
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1482051465.376237.jpg
Views: 532
Size:  37.2 KB

    Tijuana, México later at night so I'm assuming empty network.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,491
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T/Sprint/VZW
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1482051858.849507.jpg
Views: 484
Size:  41.0 KB

    Similar performance on Telcel at around same time.

Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AT&T Roaming In The Bahamas?
    By MrDrew in forum AT&T
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-15-2003, 08:46 PM
  2. rogers at&t roaming agreements?
    By dd61999 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-14-2002, 10:34 PM
  3. Any Hope for VS/AT&T Roaming agreement?
    By laferle in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2002, 10:10 AM
  4. AT&T roaming agreements
    By emcee in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2002, 06:50 PM
  5. At&T/Rogers At&T Roaming?
    By Avironeur in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2002, 11:52 PM

Bookmarks