Page 1 of 36 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Thread: Porting to Google Voice: Pros and Cons?

Feedback Score

Porting to Google Voice: Pros and Cons?

Looking to port my number to GV and looking for comments on likes or dislikes. If I have this correct, when I dial out to someone, do I need to use the dialer on the phone or use the GV dial pad app? If phone dialer, does the other party see the phone number I'm using or will it show my number ported to GV? What about sending MMS..does it work with Google Voice? Again, do I need to use the GV dialer? Thanks in advance.

Feedback Score
    I've been using GV for primary number for a few months now. Generally speaking, it has been great. The ease of integration is going to depend in part on whether you have an iPhone or an Android handset. Either way, if you want to be able to send/receive MMS using your GV number, you will need to opt into Hangouts for handling GV. Then you can use Hangouts through your browser or your phone for texting or sending MMS messages. What number the other side will see will depend on what you choose for the GV dialer. On Android, it's wonderfully integrated - you install the GV app, and then you can choose to have it always make calls using your GV number. So selecting numbers in a browser, from contacts, etc., or any calls using the native dialer will show your GV number on the other end. The correct outgoing number will also show up in your call history. On iPhone, you always have to remember to place calls through the app. The native dialer will only use your carrier number, and you have a list of funky numbers in your call history.

In short, my experience has been good. I wish the iPhone experience was a little more integrated, and that part has me thinking about dropping my iPhone 6S Plus and going to a Moto Z Play or something. I still haven't made up my mind.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Shade00 View Post