Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 41 of 41

Thread: Cricket priority on network

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    335
    Feedback Score
    0
    My cricket problems were on an iPhone 6s+ AT&T model. 2 bars LTE at home and 4 bars (dots) 4G. No problems with making calls or data (except during times of congestion). I would sometimes have incoming calls go straight to voicemail which was irritating.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,319
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by new-toy View Post
    My cricket problems were on an iPhone 6s+ AT&T model. 2 bars LTE at home and 4 bars (dots) 4G. No problems with making calls or data (except during times of congestion). I would sometimes have incoming calls go straight to voicemail which was irritating.
    Did you have a postpaid AT&T phone beside you at the same time and it was receiving calls at the same time and data was faster at the same time? Unless you did it is hard to scientifically say that Cricket was actually being "deprioritized" on the network. People always have these tales of "I was at the airport and it was slow" and blame Cricket but it's never very scientific.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    SE USA
    Posts
    1,963
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have experienced the voice call prority issue fairly frequently with Cricket and it is irritating. I don't mind the slowing of data but dial out failures andincoming call going to voicemail is not good. Not every will experience these problems as it probaby depends on the amount of local congestion. I will eventually be moving on because of this issue.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    But to understand why one person thinks they experience penumbratic deprioritization while most never see the issue, you can't fully ignore the insertion of proxima servers into the equation.
    Yeah, but NOBODY expects the Stack Overflow Penumbra!

    That said, considering I've never *ever* seen a speedtest over 4.5Mbps down on LTE on either phone on my account (while getting uploads of 16+Mbps), I haven't really thought about being screwed on Cricket ...

    ... until now.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    963
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by new-toy View Post
    Thanks for the replies. I really wanted cricket to be a good service for me but I guess I will just stay with GoPhone. Haven't had any issues with it like I had with cricket.
    Yeah, if you can live with the lower data for what you pay with Gophone, I hear it is somewhat better in certain regards.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,319
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NotABiot View Post
    Yeah, if you can live with the lower data for what you pay with Gophone, I hear it is somewhat better in certain regards.
    GP has gotten better in terms of data offered.

    Basically cutting through it>>>>>

    GoPhone:
    (+) Full LTE Speed
    (+) Slightly better pings (not too noticeable in real world usage)
    (+) Allows tethering
    (-) Higher cost
    (-) Smaller data bucket
    (=) No roaming

    Cricket:
    (+) More Data
    (+) Lower Cost
    (+) Referral Bonus
    (+) History of offering interesting deals on discounted phones (wasn't great this year though)
    (-) speeds throttled to 8mbps
    (-) higher pings (not too noticeable in real world usage)
    (-) Tethering not available on all plans and required addl cost
    (=) no roaming

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    939
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    This question gets asked several times a year since the new Cricket was formed. I have never heard or read any confirmation by AT&T or Cricket via the TOS, investor calls, press releases, etc., that states that AT&T postpaid has network priority over Cricket or GoPhone.

    I think everyone assumes so because T-mobile does prioritize and addresses this in their TOS:

    How does MetroPCS address network priority for its brands?

    To differentiate services we sell under the MetroPCS brand name from services we sell under other brand names, we give data of customers who choose T-Mobile-branded services precedence over data of customers who choose non-T-Mobile-branded services (including MetroPCS) when our network is presented with competing demands. Where the network is lightly loaded, a customer on those brands will notice little, if any, effect from having lower priority. This will be the case in the vast majority of times and locations. At times and at locations where the network is heavily loaded in relation to available capacity, however, those customers will likely see reductions in data speeds, especially if they are engaged in data-intensive activities. MetroPCS constantly works to improve network performance and capacity, but there are physical and technical limits on how much capacity is available, and at constrained locations, the frequency of heavy loading in relation to available capacity may be greater than at other locations. When network loading goes down or those customers moves to a location that is less heavily loaded in relation to available capacity, those customers’ speeds will likely improve.
    Get $50 FREE in Credits When You Join Cricket Wireless

    1) Cricket Reward 50k points = $25 Gift Card

    2) $25 Cricket Referral Credit

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    963
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    (-) Tethering not available on all plans and required addl cost
    Or "Not all plans have tether, and it is only allowed on a limited list of devices".

    That being said, we can see in these forums and elsewhere that many DO tether on any Cricket plan with any device at will, despite it being prohibited in the TOS (until recently.... they actually started to crack down on this, mainly on those who tether on devices that aren't phones).

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,048
    Device(s)
    Le Pro3 / Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    H2O;MintSIM
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 12thman View Post
    I have never heard or read any confirmation by AT&T or Cricket via the TOS, investor calls, press releases, etc., that states that AT&T postpaid has network priority over Cricket or GoPhone.
    Nor have I but my personal experience and those of others are certainly pointing to some type of issue that's happening far more frequently with Cricket than AT&T or GoPhone. The lack of confirmation from AT&T isn't necessarily proof there isn't an issue.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,904
    Device(s)
    LG F3
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think sometimes when people think that Cricket is being deprioritized, it has to do with the proxy you are on being overloaded.. Easy fix for this is to toggle airplane mode on/off to get on a different proxy.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,087
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge(T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    For me up in Portland, OR Cricket has pings of 110 to 150ms+, in Grants Pass, OR up to 1,000ms. Straight Talk for some reason recently did some backend work and lowered pings to between 65-75ms up here, H2O has 70-80ms ping, and my AT&T Business line has 29-32ms ping. Supposedly as I have tested AT&T business does get the highest priority according to Ping.
    Home Entertainment: Comcast Extreme 250 internet(Xfinity XB3 Arris TG1682G 24x8 Docsis 3.0 modem, IPv6 enabled), Xfinity Digital Preferred TV(Tivo Bolt(Main DVR)/Pace Next Gen XGv2(X1) Non-DVR), Xfinity Voice EMTA XB3 with Voice Unlimited.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 03:01 AM
  2. Cricket L7c on Verizon network?
    By drifter92776 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2007, 01:23 AM
  3. Network priorities on a v551
    By mikeeg in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 04:53 PM
  4. Network priorities on a v551
    By mikeeg in forum AT&T
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-15-2005, 09:07 AM
  5. Do Telus users have lower priority on Bell networks??
    By halfempty in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-11-2003, 05:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks