Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: VOLTE working for some users!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,278
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    VOLTE working for some users!!!

    VOLTE is working for some while on the t-mobile network! this is very good news and ive been waiting for this to happen for some time now...i think it may be time for me to switch over


    http://www.phonearena.com/news/Some-...etwork_id91247
    Sign up for Ibotta, the app that really helps you save money on item's you already buy, click on the link below to get a $10 bonus! After $20 you can send the funds to a PayPal account or a gift card (wal-mart,target,giant eagle etc)

    https://www.ibotta.com/r/vkubwkv

    Don't have Ibotta? download it here:

    Android https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ibotta.android

    iPhone https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibotta/id559887125

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Suburban DC
    Posts
    255
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    How do I know?

    So, how do I know if I'm enjoying Voice Over LTE? As I sit here, I am connected to home wifi, and to band 4 LTE. Under Settings > more > Cellular network settings, Enhanced 4G LTE Mode is turned on.

    What would confirm that VOLTE is in operation? Maybe I should turn off wifi? I have no idea about these issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,226
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by JimWorthey View Post
    So, how do I know if I'm enjoying Voice Over LTE? As I sit here, I am connected to home wifi, and to band 4 LTE. Under Settings > more > Cellular network settings, Enhanced 4G LTE Mode is turned on.

    What would confirm that VOLTE is in operation? Maybe I should turn off wifi? I have no idea about these issues.
    Turn off WiFi. It should then say LTE at the top. Make a phone call. If it stays on LTE, you're on VoLTE. If the LTE signal changes to something else like 4G, H, 2G, etc, then you're not on VoLTE.
    Carriers I've used: Sprint, T-Mobile, Cricket, AT&T, Verizon, Page Plus, Virgin Mobile, Movistar, AT&T Mexico, Telcel, Straight Talk, RingPlus.
    Phones I've used: iPhone 6S, iPhone 5c, HTC One M9, Samsung Galaxy S3, LG G2, BlackBerry Storm, Nokia 820, Motorola Atrix HD, iPhone 4S, HTC One V, iPhone 4, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia N9, Samsung Focus, Samsung Captivate, Nokia N900, HTC 8525, iPhone 3GS, iPhone, Nokia E61i, Siemens A56...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,278
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by JimWorthey View Post
    So, how do I know if I'm enjoying Voice Over LTE? As I sit here, I am connected to home wifi, and to band 4 LTE. Under Settings > more > Cellular network settings, Enhanced 4G LTE Mode is turned on.

    What would confirm that VOLTE is in operation? Maybe I should turn off wifi? I have no idea about these issues.

    turn off wi-fi on ur phone, make a phone call during the phone call itll display HD somewhere on the screen ..during the phone call u should see the 4G LTE icon u can also download the SignalCheck Lite app to also confirm...during the phone call open the app and it should say "connect to LTE" if u see this then ur on a VOLTE call.....heres a screen shot to show what itll look like
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    62
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just tried it and LTE changed to H while on T-Mobile.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,278
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by trebordet View Post
    I just tried it and LTE changed to H while on T-Mobile.
    seems like ur not one of the lucky ones...im sure itll be rolled out to all users in like a month

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Suburban DC
    Posts
    255
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Not Yet

    Quote Originally Posted by trebordet View Post
    I just tried it and LTE changed to H while on T-Mobile.
    The same for me so far. I've watched the status line on a few calls. If "LTE" indication is present, it changes to H.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,192
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JimWorthey View Post
    The same for me so far. I've watched the status line on a few calls. If "LTE" indication is present, it changes to H.
    I think the real test would be in an LTE-only market, like parts of SD and N MI. It's no test of VoLTE if the phone drops back to UMTS in a multi-mode service area. That just says the network wants to use UMTS.
    Donald Newcomb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Suburban DC
    Posts
    255
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Subtle change

    When I wrote #2 and #7, I was getting a tiny LTE indication in the status line (or whatever it is called) at the top edge of the screen. Now Signal Spy says that I have Band 4 LTE, but I no longer get the tiny LTE at the top. This change is in effect over a day or two, it's not a momentary change. Of course I have no idea how to interpret these events.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,278
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    7 months later since this post....did VOLTE roll out to everyone? whos able to use it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,473
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6p,iphone 6s plus
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,T-mobile,Cricket,Fi
    Feedback Score
    0

    VOLTE working for some users!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by cricket101 View Post
    7 months later since this post....did VOLTE roll out to everyone? whos able to use it?
    I was able to use VoLTE for a while. Then I was back to UMTS for voice. Then I finally cancelled Fi.

    I am also curious about whether Fi has VoLTE when using T-mobile now.
    "I didn't get fat by accident. This was a personal choice. " - Kevin Gillespie

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,278
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by mch View Post
    I was able to use VoLTE for a while. Then I was back to UMTS for voice. Then I finally cancelled Fi.

    I am also curious about whether Fi has VoLTE when using T-mobile now.

    thats what im trying to find out.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,013
    Carrier(s)
    Google Fi
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a Pixel 2 on Fi and it appears to use VoLTE on T-Mobile.
    Pixel 2 on Google Fi

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Suburban DC
    Posts
    255
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cricket101 View Post
    7 months later since this post....did VOLTE roll out to everyone? whos able to use it?
    Indeed, this thread started 2017 Feb 22, and looking to the official Google Product Forum, the earliest mention is Feb 17, although it talks about testing before that.

    I have been on Project Fi all that time and have not seen voice over LTE. That is, I often would see the little LTE at the top of the screen, but if I made a voice call, the "LTE" would change to "H", meaning presumably the traditional "GSM + HSPA+."


    At last, I am getting Voice over LTE in repeated experiments!

    My device is a Nexus 5X, updated to Android 8.0.0 .

    One discovery leads to another. I have wondered, if I am here at home with excellent Wi-Fi, how do I know whether a phone call goes over the cell tower or the Wi-Fi? Keep in mind, this is Project Fi and it's supposed to use Wi-Fi when it's the better connection. It appears, if I am here at home, then the little LTE indication is absent. If I turn off Wi-Fi, then the LTE indication appears and remains during a call. That is a hint that the phone is choosing WiFi versus VoLTE. So, it seems like some (most?) calls are using WiFi when I'm at home.

    When I was out and about, without WiFi, then the little "LTE" appeared spontaneously. T-Mobile is generally strong in this area.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,278
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by JimWorthey View Post
    Indeed, this thread started 2017 Feb 22, and looking to the official Google Product Forum, the earliest mention is Feb 17, although it talks about testing before that.

    I have been on Project Fi all that time and have not seen voice over LTE. That is, I often would see the little LTE at the top of the screen, but if I made a voice call, the "LTE" would change to "H", meaning presumably the traditional "GSM + HSPA+."


    At last, I am getting Voice over LTE in repeated experiments!

    My device is a Nexus 5X, updated to Android 8.0.0 .

    One discovery leads to another. I have wondered, if I am here at home with excellent Wi-Fi, how do I know whether a phone call goes over the cell tower or the Wi-Fi? Keep in mind, this is Project Fi and it's supposed to use Wi-Fi when it's the better connection. It appears, if I am here at home, then the little LTE indication is absent. If I turn off Wi-Fi, then the LTE indication appears and remains during a call. That is a hint that the phone is choosing WiFi versus VoLTE. So, it seems like some (most?) calls are using WiFi when I'm at home.

    When I was out and about, without WiFi, then the little "LTE" appeared spontaneously. T-Mobile is generally strong in this area.


    well on my Samsung On5, when wifi calling is on and im connected to wifi theres a icon on the top left side looks like a phone with waves, meaning that wifi calling is on and ready...also when u bring up the keypad the same icon (top left on the screen) is the send button..like i said this is for my samsung not sure how the google phones UI looks, i would guess its the same since its android?

    also the app i talk about a few post up ...use Signal Check is a good app..it lets u know what LTE band u are using and u can tell if ur in a VOLTE call, during a phone call open the app and if it says connected to LTE then ur on VOLTE

    im on t-mobile now and cant live without VOLTE lol every call i make is so clear and when u talk with another t-mobile user WOW its like im right next to them!!.ive been waiting to jump on Fi but due to the lack of VOLTE ill be on t-mobile...another reason for getting Fi is that i really dont need data, i have a ATT hotspot with unlimited data so if i get Fi ill be rocking 3 networks witch is t-mobile, sprint then ATT using wifi calling

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 10:43 AM
  2. Does FREE WAP works for international users?
    By zezemv in forum CDMA Moto Discussion (Verizon, Alltel, Bell, US Cellular, Telus, etc)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2007, 09:23 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2006, 11:11 PM
  4. how to make E398 softkeys works for some java?
    By liquid_hiphop in forum Motorola
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 08:43 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 11:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks