Page 76 of 223 FirstFirst ... 26 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 126 176 ... LastLast
Results 1,126 to 1,140 of 3342

Thread: Stand alone AT&T Unlimited ZTE Mobley Hotspot now only $20!!!!!

  1. #1126
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    9,460
    Device(s)
    Too Many
    Carrier(s)
    All Four
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think voltage might matter with the Mobley and OTA updates. Anything even slightly below 12V might block it. I think Mobley is looking for 13V+ to indicate the motor is running before attempting an update.

    I'd just drive around with the Mobley plugged in until it gets v1.0.1. Make sure the red LED isn't solid when shutting the car off, that means it's taking the update and could brick if interrupted.
    ChristopherPrice.net
    Phone.news (Temp Mod Note: Non-profit)

  2. #1127
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by andben2 View Post
    FYI this is a known thing with ATT and nothing you do will fix it. They have their own backend NAT that you cant configure or change. The known and only way to get around this is to get a static IP from them and that requires a business account im told.
    Ah , good to know but for a standalone $20 unlimited plan for Home internet where I had none but satellite and a capped verizon hotspot before I definitely can't complain. This plans been a godsend so NAT is a small negative in a sea of positive.

  3. #1128
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    559
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7+ 128GB, iPad Pro 12.9"
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T MSV 20GB RNA, w/ $20 unlimited connected Car / ZTE Mobley
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by andben2 View Post
    To all the guys here going the 100 extra miles to makes adapters and such, why dont you just pop the sim in a Velocity or some such? It would really, really make your life a lot easier.
    The hotspot would certainly be a lot nicer to have. It's probably got better reception too. And more portable.

  4. #1129
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    648
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CountryBoy91 View Post
    Ah , good to know but for a standalone $20 unlimited plan for Home internet where I had none but satellite and a capped verizon hotspot before I definitely can't complain. This plans been a godsend so NAT is a small negative in a sea of positive.
    Does this mean the device does not get a public IP address and there would be no way to remote into a network that is using it as the sole internet connection?

  5. #1130
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    94
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hytekj View Post
    Does this mean the device does not get a public IP address and there would be no way to remote into a network that is using it as the sole internet connection?
    Its weird, look further down on this post where the guy essentially has two public IP's. That has to do with ATT's NAt'ing. And I have heard of people having a hard time remoting in on these connections.

    https://forums.att.com/t5/Data-Messa...e/td-p/4171643

  6. #1131
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    9,460
    Device(s)
    Too Many
    Carrier(s)
    All Four
    Feedback Score
    0
    Feature, not a bug. Blocking remote NAT helps to prevent botnets that rely on NAT from draining the network of resources.

    People that pay for Static IPs usually are smart enough to firewall and antivirus.

  7. #1132
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    310
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hytekj View Post
    Does this mean the device does not get a public IP address and there would be no way to remote into a network that is using it as the sole internet connection?
    I don't see the options on the Mobley but the Unite Explore has an option to give a connected device a public IP. I'm not sure if this will help with the NAT issue or not. Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490047444.848777.jpg
Views: 357
Size:  42.1 KB

  8. #1133
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    41
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T UDP
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    Wrong gender...Gary already caught me on that last week!
    Looks like this adapter may help

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-ELM327-O...cAAOSwYmZXFJpF

    Name:  s-l1600.jpg
Views: 381
Size:  43.6 KB

  9. #1134
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    310
    Feedback Score
    0

    Stand alone AT&T Unlimited ZTE Mobley Hotspot now only $20!!!!!

    Alright I finally got my Unite Explore and have been putting it through a lot of tests. Thus far the Explore blows my Mobley out the water. In my driveway I was only getting a max of around 7mbps but on my phone and Explore I was in the 20s. I'll do my driving test probably tomorrow to see how the Explore holds up on the interstate. The Explore definitely allows more customization when it comes to the network. My Mobley wouldn't let me add an APN or change DNS servers etc. I can do all of that with the Explore. So I'm definitely liking it more than the Mobley at the moment but once again my Mobley is under my dash. Once I get a cord I'll test it again to see if things improve. The Explore also has an app you can download that gives you all of the Hotspot info on your phone at a glance. If you have a pin lock on the sim card you can enter it on the app. You don't have to go to the device to type it in and you can reboot etc from the app. It will even send you notification alerts if you are nearing your data limit or if you go over. Not that it's needed with the unlimited plans but it's good to have just in case. The Mobley is very basic and even something as basic as checking data usage you can't do unless you login to your account online. The Explore shows you the data in the app and Web portal and of course on the device itself. So thus far I'm really loving the Explore and may end up adding it to my Plus plan and maybe getting rid of the Mobley. Not sure yet. I've been seeing new Explores on ebay for $125 so that isn't bad at all. I'll post some screenshots. First screenshot is the speedtest on my iPhone 6s plus. Second screenshot is the speedtest using the Explore. Third screenshot is the signal info on the Explore. And 4th screenshot is the speedtest on the mobley I did in the exact same spot a few days ago. 5th screenshot is the best speedtest I've had on the Mobley. 10 down and 19 up and that was in an area where my phone had 5 dots of service. Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490049480.447177.jpg
Views: 336
Size:  41.5 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490049493.099439.jpg
Views: 336
Size:  41.7 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490049520.839676.jpg
Views: 340
Size:  27.6 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490049540.027791.jpg
Views: 339
Size:  37.3 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490049555.037705.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  37.5 KB

  10. #1135
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    236
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jjennings2510 View Post
    Alright I finally got my Unite Explore and have been putting it through a lot of tests. Thus far the Explore blows my Mobley out the water. In my driveway I was only getting a max of around 7mbps but on my phone and Explore I was in the 20s. I'll do my driving test probably tomorrow to see how the Explore holds up on the interstate. The Explore definitely allows more customization when it comes to the network. My Mobley wouldn't let me add an APN or change DNS servers etc. I can do all of that with the Explore. So I'm definitely liking it more than the Mobley at the moment but once again my Mobley is under my dash. Once I get a cord I'll test it again to see if things improve. The Explore also has an app you can download that gives you all of the Hotspot info on your phone at a glance. If you have a pin lock on the sim card you can enter it on the app. You don't have to go to the device to type it in and you can reboot etc from the app. It will even send you notification alerts if you are nearing your data limit or if you go over. Not that it's needed with the unlimited plans but it's good to have just in case. The Mobley is very basic and even something as basic as checking data usage you can't do unless you login to your account online. The Explore shows you the data in the app and Web portal and of course on the device itself. So thus far I'm really loving the Explore and may end up adding it to my Plus plan and maybe getting rid of the Mobley. Not sure yet. I've been seeing new Explores on ebay for $125 so that isn't bad at all. I'll post some screenshots. First screenshot is the speedtest on my iPhone 6s plus. Second screenshot is the speedtest using the Explore. Third screenshot is the signal info on the Explore. And 4th screenshot is the speedtest on the mobley I did in the exact same spot a few days ago. 5th screenshot is the best speedtest I've had on the Mobley. 10 down and 19 up and that was in an area where my phone had 5 dots of service. Attachment 149970Attachment 149971Attachment 149972Attachment 149973Attachment 149974
    what app are you referring to for the explore? i wonder if the velocity has an app?

  11. #1136
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh, but always traveling
    Posts
    177
    Device(s)
    AT&T iPhone 6 Plus, Verizon Mifi 6620L
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by alaskanjackal View Post
    Anecdotally, it does seem that traceroutes take slightly different paths over my iPhone versus over my Mobley. I've found that my phone tends to either exit to the public routed Internet either in Chicago or Dallas, whereas my Mobley last night exited in Kansas City (physically much closer to me). I'll have to do further testing and comparison.
    Well, I just did several side-by-side tests, and they seem to take identical paths (after the first couple of hops).

    Here's an odd one. Is AT&T's routing really so whacked that it sends my Missouri-to-Dallas traffic through Denver, New York, Dallas and then Austin before going back to Dallas, or do they just not do a good job of accurately maintaining the reverse DNS (PTR) records??

    Code:
    Tracing route to dfw.speedtest.sbcglobal.net [99.24.18.1]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
    
      1     2 ms     3 ms     4 ms  192.168.1.1
      2    78 ms    61 ms    46 ms  172.26.96.169
      3    62 ms   101 ms    48 ms  172.18.136.252
      4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      5   103 ms    77 ms    73 ms  12.83.186.145
      6   121 ms    76 ms    79 ms  gbr3.dvmco.ip.att.net [12.122.2.66]
      7    81 ms    75 ms    82 ms  gbr3.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.2.1]
      8   102 ms   104 ms    86 ms  cr1.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.1.209]
      9    99 ms    85 ms   109 ms  gar3.auttx.ip.att.net [12.122.100.125]
     10    73 ms    79 ms   112 ms  12.120.51.106
     11   107 ms    81 ms   175 ms  dfw.speedtest.sbcglobal.net [99.24.18.1]
    
    
    Trace complete.
    Quote Originally Posted by malibu31 View Post
    They can't, unfortunately.

    You can try going to a good signal location and hoping it updates there. That's what I did

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
    For whatever it's worth, the one I bought last night and first turned on around 10pm updated sometime today between 11am and 4pm while the car was out driving around.

  12. #1137
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    310
    Feedback Score
    0

    Stand alone AT&T Unlimited ZTE Mobley Hotspot now only $20!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by mloboy View Post
    what app are you referring to for the explore? i wonder if the velocity has an app?
    It's an app Netgear makes. It's called Netgear Mobile. I'm not sure about the Velocity Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1490049656.726559.jpg
Views: 370
Size:  52.7 KB

  13. #1138
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    ROLLTIDE
    Posts
    4,426
    Device(s)
    Bag phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just wish that the Explore was more stable while your mobile . It's total crap compared to the Verizon 6620L!

  14. #1139
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    47
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    I just ordered an extension I'll cut:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A6VMLTU

    and a cig adapter....this one has a nice big on/off button:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00OHHSK04

    i'll be interested in getting 1 too if it works and if you could provide steps with pic on gettin it done

    tks

  15. #1140
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    176
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ROLLTIDE View Post
    I just wish that the Explore was more stable while your mobile . It's total crap compared to the Verizon 6620L!
    What is not stable about It?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Page 76 of 223 FirstFirst ... 26 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 126 176 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 64
    Last Post: 03-01-2017, 09:31 PM
  2. AT&T unlimited international data
    By PHANTOM310 in forum Take over my phone plan
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2015, 01:39 PM
  3. WTS AT&T Unlimited International & Domestic Plan
    By pfwarrior in forum Take over my phone plan
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2015, 09:39 AM
  4. Wts AT&T unlimited data plan
    By PHANTOM310 in forum Take over my phone plan
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2015, 08:27 PM
  5. AT&T unlimited international data plan
    By PHANTOM310 in forum Take over my phone plan
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2015, 09:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks