Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Traveling to Qatar area

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0

    Traveling to Qatar area

    I have question I'm going to be traveling to the Qatar area and I'm curious if Tmobile is a good option to have as carrier while I go? Currently have AT&T but I'll be suspending the line temporarily. I'm a huge fan of T- mobile so I would like to know everyones experience on traveling with Tmobile.

    Very much appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    181
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well you can pay $40 per month and an addition $1 for every megabyte you use on AT&T or you can just get it free on T-Mobile. The choice is yours. Keep in mind if you are just switching to tmobile to do international roaming then switching back to AT&T you are violating the terms and conditions and it's not a great option. Data speeds are limited to 256k but very usable for us. If you want to stay paying more to AT&T just get a SIM card in Qatar and use their network.

    Sent from my SM-G935T using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    264
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was in Qatar airport as a transit passenger. I was using Google Project FI and data worked fine there. Project FI, I think uses T-Mobile international, so I guess it works in the airport. While I did not go anywhere outside the airport, I am extrapolating that it will work in the city as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0
    I didn't know it violated their terms and conditions. Wow that makes that easy then. Att is expensive for international plans. Like really costly. I do alot on my phone as it is.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12,997
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rocket View Post
    Keep in mind if you are just switching to tmobile to do international roaming then switching back to AT&T you are violating the terms and conditions and it's not a great option.
    There is no violation of the terms and conditions. T-Mobile has no long term contract and you are always free to switch back to AT&T whenever you like.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,476
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    was there a few times, t-mobile works beautiful in qatar, bahrain, uae, kuwait, saudi, yemen, oman.. you wont have any problems there. just take your personal a/c because those temperatures.. oh lord...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,933
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cr0w View Post
    ...just take your personal a/c because those temperatures.. oh lord...
    It's not bad this time of year. Otherwise, BTDT. SA in August in a hotel that did not have windows that opened during a six hour power outage. I sweated through the mattress.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    13,375
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jet1000 View Post
    There is no violation of the terms and conditions. T-Mobile has no long term contract and you are always free to switch back to AT&T whenever you like.
    This is true but their excessive roaming button seems depend at least to some extent on how long one has been a customer and what percentage of the time is spent roaming. There doesn't seem to be a hard-and-fast rule but rather something triggers someone at T-Mobile to look into the situation and makes a decision. Exactly what, I don't know. At one time I thought it was 6 months continuous roaming but I've learned it can be much less. The OP didn't say how how long he planned to be in Qatar. If it's more than a month I might be concerned that he could trigger some concern on T-Mobile's part.
    Donald Newcomb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    This is true but their excessive roaming button seems depend at least to some extent on how long one has been a customer and what percentage of the time is spent roaming. There doesn't seem to be a hard-and-fast rule but rather something triggers someone at T-Mobile to look into the situation and makes a decision. Exactly what, I don't know. At one time I thought it was 6 months continuous roaming but I've learned it can be much less. The OP didn't say how how long he planned to be in Qatar. If it's more than a month I might be concerned that he could trigger some concern on T-Mobile's part.
    I will be there like 4-6 months. So I'm exactly sure what to do.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    13,375
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    This information may be out of date but here it is: http://www.prepaidgsm.net/en/qatar.html

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    211
    Feedback Score
    0
    Use T-Mobile until or if you get cut off and then get a local SIM card

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    13,375
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    It looks like you get 6 GB/mo with rollover for $27 with a local prepaid.

Similar Threads

  1. traveling to dallas and the bay area
    By jchambers2586 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-12-2015, 03:04 AM
  2. Any charge to change area code?
    By BigMikey in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2002, 08:49 PM
  3. Moving from TDMA to GPS area
    By markymark in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-09-2002, 04:49 PM
  4. VS T68 Traveling to Portugal
    By noc in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2002, 07:52 PM
  5. Traveling to London with T39m
    By jonlien in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2001, 08:16 AM

Bookmarks