Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: iOS 10.3 breaks cellular data / APN settings for Verizon

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0

    iOS 10.3 breaks cellular data / APN settings for Verizon

    I just upgraded my iPhone 5s which is on Tracfone BYOP Verizon to iOS 10.3 and now cellular data does not work anymore. I tried to delete and reinstall the APN profile via
    ivzwentp.tracfone.com
    ivzwinternet.tracfone.com
    http://www.unlockit.co.nz/
    but nothing works

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,288
    Feedback Score
    0
    Try toggling airplane mode Off & on. Check & see if you have data
    Turned on, is wifi turned off ??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Try toggling airplane mode Off & on. Check & see if you have data
    Turned on, is wifi turned off ??
    Thanks, but tried that all. No success

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    511
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    I used one called: iPhone.flexserve.net It's a custom APN. Under Settings > General > Profile. Then, when in the profile > "more details"

    It says advanced settings tracfone.vzwentp for the APN. This sounds like what you have tried, but perhaps via

    different route.

    Just realized when checking phone that I have 10.2 update. Will go to 10.3 see what happens. Might delete profiles

    & try data ??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    4,900
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+
    Feedback Score
    0
    While you still can downgrade to iOS 10.2
    Get $25 credit by switching to Cricket Wireless! Then $250 by referring others! Same AT&T signal! Click here!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    511
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by blacksurfer View Post
    While you still can downgrade to iOS 10.2
    No. Just realized I was on update 10.2

    I deleted the custom APN tracfone.vzwentp , then updated to IOS 10.3 Then tried Data on LTE - it was a no go.

    Downloaded the above profile again, & Wa Laa , data works. Seems odd to need to do that now. iPhone 6

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by trek83 View Post
    I used one called: iPhone.flexserve.net It's a custom APN. Under Settings > General > Profile. Then, when in the profile > "more details"

    It says advanced settings tracfone.vzwentp for the APN. This sounds like what you have tried, but perhaps via

    different route.

    Just realized when checking phone that I have 10.2 update. Will go to 10.3 see what happens. Might delete profiles

    & try data ??
    Thank you, this did the trick Cellular data is working again!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    511
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Glad it worked.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    4,059
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is being able to change APN settings for CDMA service unique to the iPhone, or can it also be done on Android phones that have both CDMA and GSM capability? Have not seen this with CDMA only phones...the changes are done automatically by the network.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    4,900
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+
    Feedback Score
    0
    For a while my wife freaked out 10.3 was causing battery drain. I got the dreaded don't upgrade my phone complaint. But it seems fine now....thanks god! Lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    511
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Is being able to change APN settings for CDMA service unique to the iPhone, or can it also be done on Android phones that have both CDMA and GSM capability? Have not seen this with CDMA only phones...the changes are done automatically by the network.
    iPhone users can't really change the APN settings. I've just had to install this tracfone.vzwentp profile a few months ago for the first time.

    It's a download from tracfone. I'm on Verizon carrier 28.4 My iPhone 6 was from Verizon , unlocked for all 4 carriers.

    In the past data worked fine without installing the above profile.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,801
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a Verizon iPhone 5s and did not encounter any problems after 10.3 upgrade. Never had to use any APN settings on TF Verizon.

    I would think the settings are more likely cause than cure problems.

    Have you tried deleting the settings, followed by a network settings reset and rebooting?

    You really shouldn't need APN settings for Verizon.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    511
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rchang View Post
    I have a Verizon iPhone 5s and did not encounter any problems after 10.3 upgrade. Never had to use any APN settings on TF Verizon.

    I would think the settings are more likely cause than cure problems.

    Have you tried deleting the settings, followed by a network settings reset and rebooting?

    You really shouldn't need APN settings for Verizon.
    No, I've not tried deleting settings / network reset & reboot. I agree - should not need the profile. Confusing to me.

    I'll check out the network reset & reboot. Thanks.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    79
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by trek83 View Post
    No, I've not tried deleting settings / network reset & reboot. I agree - should not need the profile. Confusing to me.

    I'll check out the network reset & reboot. Thanks.
    Just another point of note - I also had an iPhone 7 that didn't require APN settings when I first signed up for Tracfone. Then one day, after adding minutes to my account, I then needed to use the APN settings in order for me to get data again.

    Ever since that day, I've needed the APN settings. Every so often, I delete the profile, erase my network settings and reboot just to make sure it's not needed, but it always is.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by oatflake View Post
    Just another point of note - I also had an iPhone 7 that didn't require APN settings when I first signed up for Tracfone. Then one day, after adding minutes to my account, I then needed to use the APN settings in order for me to get data again.

    Ever since that day, I've needed the APN settings. Every so often, I delete the profile, erase my network settings and reboot just to make sure it's not needed, but it always is.
    The same happened to me: in the beginning I did not need the APN settings but suddenly data did not work without. APNs are a pain in the b...

    Can someone with more insight explain why Tracfone (via Verizon) cannot be provisioned automatically?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Consumer Cellular APN Settings for LTE Service
    By smsgator in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 95
    Last Post: 12-09-2015, 07:32 AM
  2. Cricket Galaxy S5 MMS/APN settings for Verizon.
    By dc000 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2014, 10:05 AM
  3. IPhone4 keep changing APN settings for MMS and DATA
    By RayLoveXoXo in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2013, 11:05 AM
  4. Replies: 38
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 10:34 PM
  5. Change APN settings for iOS 4.0
    By psx0529 in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 09:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks