Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CDMA to GSM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    CDMA to GSM

    Hi,
    I am new to Tracfone as it is sufficient for my needs. I bought a LG Treasure with bundles a few months ago. I like the Tracfone service which runs on CDMA (Verizon I think, that's what I see on play store). But I do not like the phone at all. So I am thinking of buying an Unlocked Galaxy S7 (which are getting cheaper after S8 release) from eBay. So my question is, can I transfer my CDMA Tracfone service to a GSM unlocked phone? I may sound foolish but I have never used CDMA before and also Tracfone before. And also how do I do the transfer if possible.
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,191
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can but you need to find out
    What network works best in your area - AT&T or T-Mobile.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    From previous experiance I know that AT&T works better here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    437
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5s,Samsung Galaxy 5
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone,T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have switched from CDMA to ATT and back to CDMA with no problems. What I would suggest is to get your balance from a customer service rep through chat before you start the process so you have a record of all your buckets just in case they disappear.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    497
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    1. Obtain a byop Sim kit - $1 - it will have 2-3 sizes of GSM, CDMA, & maybe T-Mobile.
    2. Figure out the size of sim for an S7 GSM - be assured the S7 will do LTE on GSM
    3. Hop on tracfone Chat - have them confirm your balance first ! very important
    4. Then , they can transfer the balance to the GSM sim card - no IMEI needed.
    5. They will need to port your phone # from Verizon to ATT as well, assuming you like the phone #. Might take 24-48 hours

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    That is actually really helpful and it answered all my concerns. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 08:37 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 03:59 PM
  3. cdma to gsm
    By cloudstrife1ph in forum Nokia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 07:45 AM
  4. v60i (CDMA to GSM)
    By darksonc0 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2004, 12:00 PM
  5. [NZ] Telecom considers moving from CDMA to GSM/UMTS
    By KiwiSurfer in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2003, 11:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks