Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 44

Thread: List best offer Galaxy S8 plus that work w Cricket

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,056
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwfreak View Post
    Also, what about software updates? If you purchase ATT version are you at ATT's mercy to roll out updates vs buying an unlocked version? Does Samsung send updates similar to Apple and Google or are you always relying on the carrier?
    If you buy AT&T version, you will need active AT&T SIM to get new updates. That's a pretty good reason to choose unlocked version, if it's compatible with AT&T bands.

    This is the frustrating thing about Samsung / LG vs Apple. You can safely buy a Verizon iPhone model, and it will contain bands for most all carriers. Samsung / LG still cripple their phones to limit the bands supported.

    So if I was going to shell out $800+ for a flagship, I'd want a phone that has all the bands for all carriers, so I'm not locked into a few carriers, and have the phone be worth less than equivalent iPhone.

    I no longer see it worthwhile to pay the premium for Apple, so for me, a phone like the Moto G4 / G5 plus are great value, they are far cheaper, and they work with all carriers. If the S8 / S8+ had bands for all carriers that would be a great thing and I may consider buying one, but not with the current limitations of carrier specific phones.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    76
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sam's Club has the best deal if you have a membership (and probably even if you don't). $150 Sam's Club gift card in addition to the free Gear VR and controller. No activation fee 4/21-4/23.

    https://www.samsclub.com/sams/pagede...geName=samsung

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sprintleaver View Post
    If you buy AT&T version, you will need active AT&T SIM to get new updates. That's a pretty good reason to choose unlocked version, if it's compatible with AT&T bands.

    This is the frustrating thing about Samsung / LG vs Apple. You can safely buy a Verizon iPhone model, and it will contain bands for most all carriers. Samsung / LG still cripple their phones to limit the bands supported.

    So if I was going to shell out $800+ for a flagship, I'd want a phone that has all the bands for all carriers, so I'm not locked into a few carriers, and have the phone be worth less than equivalent iPhone.

    I no longer see it worthwhile to pay the premium for Apple, so for me, a phone like the Moto G4 / G5 plus are great value, they are far cheaper, and they work with all carriers. If the S8 / S8+ had bands for all carriers that would be a great thing and I may consider buying one, but not with the current limitations of carrier specific phones.
    You can update without a sim using Samsung switch desktop app.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation
    Posts
    9,325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, Droid Turbo 2, Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Changes often
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aokusman View Post
    You can update without a sim using Samsung switch desktop app.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    I was never able to update my AT&T branded Galaxy S4, S5 or Note 4 on KIES.

    Are you sure that's changed?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by billm261 View Post
    I was never able to update my AT&T branded Galaxy S4, S5 or Note 4 on KIES.

    Are you sure that's changed?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    I said switch app and not kies.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation
    Posts
    9,325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, Droid Turbo 2, Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Changes often
    Feedback Score
    0

    List best offer Galaxy S8 plus that work w Cricket

    Quote Originally Posted by aokusman View Post
    I said switch app and not kies.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    I'm clear on what you said, that's why I asked.

    I'll simplify it or rephrase it if it helps:

    Are you sure, or do you have first hand knowledge that Switch will update the OS of a Samsung phone without the AT&T SIM card inserted?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,595
    Feedback Score
    0
    Funny that we are talking about $800 phones here yet I am looking at 5 HTC phones in boxes that I also just bought from Cricket for a total of $5.35.

    And I played around with one of the HTCs are really they don't seem too bad! Certainly very usable, esp for a buck!

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    Funny that we are talking about $800 phones here yet I am looking at 5 HTC phones in boxes that I also just bought from Cricket for a total of $5.35.

    And I played around with one of the HTCs are really they don't seem too bad! Certainly very usable, esp for a buck!
    Which HTC is it. Where these cheap phones lack is in the camera department and lag.

    Sent from my H1611 using Tapatalk

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by billm261 View Post
    I'm clear on what you said, that's why I asked.

    I'll simplify it or rephrase it if it helps:

    Are you sure, or do you have first hand knowledge that Switch will update the OS of a Samsung phone without the AT&T SIM card inserted?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    My S7 which I sold last week is a Verizon version used in H20. I could not do over the air update since I don't have a Verizon sim. I had to update using Samsung switch on my desktop.

    Sent from my H1611 using Tapatalk

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation
    Posts
    9,325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, Droid Turbo 2, Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Changes often
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aokusman View Post
    My S7 which I sold last week is a Verizon version used in H20. I could not do over the air update since I don't have a Verizon sim. I had to update using Samsung switch on my desktop.

    Sent from my H1611 using Tapatalk
    Odd, I've never had an issue updating a Verizon device (usually over Wi-Fi) without a SIM card. That's a few Galaxy models and just yesterday a Droid Turbo 2 which obviously isn't a Samsung.

    I've never been able to update an AT&T branded Android device without an active AT&T SIM.

    I'd be careful giving advice to someone willing to spend 800.00 on a phone without knowing with 100% certainty it will work for them.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation
    Posts
    9,325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, Droid Turbo 2, Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Changes often
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    Funny that we are talking about $800 phones here yet I am looking at 5 HTC phones in boxes that I also just bought from Cricket for a total of $5.35.

    And I played around with one of the HTCs are really they don't seem too bad! Certainly very usable, esp for a buck!
    For less than a cup of coffee they're fine. Once you run out of storage, see how 1GB of RAM chokes the phone, you will see that it's probably only worth a buck.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by billm261 View Post
    Odd, I've never had an issue updating a Verizon device (usually over Wi-Fi) without a SIM card. That's a few Galaxy models and just yesterday a Droid Turbo 2 which obviously isn't a Samsung.

    I've never been able to update an AT&T branded Android device without an active AT&T SIM.

    I'd be careful giving advice to someone willing to spend 800.00 on a phone without knowing with 100% certainty it will work for them.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Well my s7 would not fetch the OTA update. The only way I was able to update was when the update showed up in smart switch.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    515
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Smart Switch never worked for me either, only way to get an update is with an active AT&T SIM !!!

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
    " The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of a low price has faded from memory" > Aldo Gucci

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    890
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by parishmc View Post
    Smart Switch never worked for me either, only way to get an update is with an active AT&T SIM !!!

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
    Does that include active att mvno sims(h2o, etc)?

    Sent from my LG-K450 using Tapatalk

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation
    Posts
    9,325
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, Droid Turbo 2, Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Changes often
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gwite View Post
    Does that include active att mvno sims(h2o, etc)?

    Sent from my LG-K450 using Tapatalk
    No, it has to be AT&T or GoPhone.

    That's it.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 06:51 PM
  2. Best touchscreen that works on Cricket
    By je300zx in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-20-2009, 01:54 PM
  3. Best Web Browsers For S60 That Works......?
    By Crimson Lotus in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 02:01 AM
  4. best phone in current lineup that works as a voice phone?
    By grizdawg in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 08:58 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-10-2006, 01:13 AM

Bookmarks