Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: How accurate are coverage maps from tech support?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    721
    Device(s)
    v3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    How accurate are coverage maps from tech support?

    I am with T-mo and am thinking of switching back to ATT. I wanted to see if a "dead zone" had improved. They are claiming that there's LTE/HD Voice. Could they really have fixed this in 5 weeks?

    Mosslake Dr., DeSoto, TX 75115 is the street

    Well, as I'm posting this, part of the street did have service. It winds down into my in-laws, and eventually you get no service. This will be an important factor in switching back.

    Any suggestions?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wouldn't trust them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    As with any cellular provider read
    the fine print "coverage is estimate
    Only and not a guarantee you will
    Have service" best just to go out
    And test coverage yourself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    slc ut
    Posts
    1,017
    Device(s)
    7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Buy a prepaid sim and check it never trust maps from any carrier.
    Paul Thurrott:
    Not now mom, somebody's wrong on the Internet

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    721
    Device(s)
    v3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the replies. I think I may try one of my parents' phones as they are on ATT. However if older iPhones truly have better reception than the 7s, that won't be as helpful for me as I had a 7 plus.

    Can I insert a prepaid sim into my phone if my phone is not unlocked? Do those provide same coverage as a postpaid sim would?

    Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    393
    Carrier(s)
    ATT, TMO, VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by maverick22 View Post
    Thanks for the replies. I think I may try one of my parents' phones as they are on ATT. However if older iPhones truly have better reception than the 7s, that won't be as helpful for me as I had a 7 plus.

    Can I insert a prepaid sim into my phone if my phone is not unlocked? Do those provide same coverage as a postpaid sim would?

    Thanks again!
    Inserting the ATT sim will not work if the phone is locked. It will bad or unrecognized sim and nothing else.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    721
    Device(s)
    v3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I guess I will just have to try one of my parents' phones and if they get service, cross my fingers my 7+ will work just as well.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    slc ut
    Posts
    1,017
    Device(s)
    7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by maverick22 View Post
    I guess I will just have to try one of my parents' phones and if they get service, cross my fingers my 7+ will work just as well.

    Thanks
    You would have to pay off the phone to get it unlocked to switch.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    721
    Device(s)
    v3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sectime View Post
    You would have to pay off the phone to get it unlocked to switch.
    Yes, to switch carriers? I guess it sounds like it needs to be paid off/unlocked to try a prepaid sim from another carrier as well.

    I want to compare how ATT does in a couple of spots now before switching back and paying more than T-mo. I hate that my phone pretty much becomes unusable in most buildings (stores, restaurants). Didn't have that issue with ATT.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by maverick22 View Post
    Thanks for the replies. I think I may try one of my parents' phones as they are on ATT. However if older iPhones truly have better reception than the 7s, that won't be as helpful for me as I had a 7 plus.

    Can I insert a prepaid sim into my phone if my phone is not unlocked? Do those provide same coverage as a postpaid sim would?

    Thanks again!
    Prepaid sims don't useally offer the
    Same coverage/features (like roaming & volte for example) as
    Post paid sims do. AT&T gophone
    Just uses native AT&T Coverage
    Only.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    721
    Device(s)
    v3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Prepaid sims don't useally offer the
    Same coverage/features (like roaming & volte for example) as
    Post paid sims do. AT&T gophone
    Just uses native AT&T Coverage
    Only.
    Okay, didn't know...thanks

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Posts
    11,947
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus Grey 128Gb
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sectime View Post
    Buy a prepaid sim and check it never trust maps from any carrier.
    Yeah I recommend this as well.
    Hartford, CT Area

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Chicago/Northwest Indiana
    Posts
    3,188
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by maverick22 View Post
    I am with T-mo and am thinking of switching back to ATT. I wanted to see if a "dead zone" had improved. They are claiming that there's LTE/HD Voice. Could they really have fixed this in 5 weeks?

    Mosslake Dr., DeSoto, TX 75115 is the street

    Well, as I'm posting this, part of the street did have service. It winds down into my in-laws, and eventually you get no service. This will be an important factor in switching back.

    Any suggestions?

    thanks
    That seems kinda ridiculous AT&T doesn't provide decent coverage not even that far from a major highway. And it's not like you have mountains or anything there, just those gentle rolling hills that part of TX is known for. I doubt AT&T has improved there since you left. You can always get that phone paid for, unlocked and borrow a sim from someone to test and see how your 7+ does there.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,434
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7+
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Prepaid sims don't useally offer the
    Same coverage/features (like roaming & volte for example) as
    Post paid sims do. AT&T gophone
    Just uses native AT&T Coverage
    Only.
    Based on coverage map, Gophone actually provides at least some roaming. Nebraska, for instance. Compare with Cricket, which is only the ATT network. But still not the coverage that postpaid provides.

    Correct about VoLTE with Gophone.
    I now have the 7+, continuing my pattern of buying every other iPhone generation.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    721
    Device(s)
    v3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GusHerb94 View Post
    That seems kinda ridiculous AT&T doesn't provide decent coverage not even that far from a major highway. And it's not like you have mountains or anything there, just those gentle rolling hills that part of TX is known for. I doubt AT&T has improved there since you left. You can always get that phone paid for, unlocked and borrow a sim from someone to test and see how your 7+ does there.
    It shocked me too! We are just 10-15 miles south of Dallas -- pretty much right off the highway! My in-laws have been there for 2 years now, and AT&T has never had cell service there. My in-laws have T-mobile, and it works like a charm! I had that "mark the spot" app, and did it a few times. AT&T just said for me to buy one of those signal boosters.

    My wife is over there often, but I don't want to have to pay for a device in hopes that AT&T will get some signal there.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2015, 12:01 PM
  2. How accurate are sprint's maps?
    By Soybomb in forum Sprint
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 05:09 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 10:44 AM
  4. How accurate are the maps?
    By WorldIRC in forum AT&T
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2004, 12:44 PM
  5. How often are coverage maps updated?
    By wharp in forum AT&T
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2004, 08:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks