Page 4 of 43 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 642

Thread: Koodo Plan Loophole on TELUS

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,134
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Keep us posted...

    Also does anyone know what the Dealers like Apex Wireless send to your home when you activate a line through them? I'm wondering because I want to use someones SK address to activate a line through them but want to know if i need to sign anything and return immediately.
    Join me on Telegram https://t.me/Samshares

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Basement
    Posts
    925
    Device(s)
    Zed 30, Z10, 9900, 9780, 8530, W995a, u8a, w508, w980, w380a and a few Z710s
    Carrier(s)
    au revoir Robbers... bonjour Mobilicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Samshares View Post
    Keep us posted...

    Also does anyone know what the Dealers like Apex Wireless send to your home when you activate a line through them? I'm wondering because I want to use someones SK address to activate a line through them but want to know if i need to sign anything and return immediately.
    if you're set up for ONLINE BILLING at the time of your activation, then no mail sent or required.

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    888
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    ^^ Not sure why that has never been mentioned before, but that's exactly how I got my Koodo QC plan from the start. Activated a random QC number with Bell prepaid, and went to Koodo to active a new line and port in from the start. Even though I selected the cheapest ON plan in store, the system allowed me to change the plan right away on self-serve.

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hey, do you mind if I send you a PM?

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,134
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BasesLoadedWalk View Post
    So I just ended up getting a Saskatchewan plan on my account, which is my Alberta number by going to corporate owned Telus store at Southgate Center in Edmonton Alberta, and even short cutted the process in doing so. It was very easy, and fool proof. It's a bit different than the instructions on this thread, so here's the rundown of what I did.

    1. Purchase a Virgin Mobile Sim Card. I purchased it from the Source, but they are available at Staples and Virgin themselves. The Sim cost me $4.99 + GST.

    2. Go online to virginmobile.ca and click the link to activate a sim card on a new prepaid account.

    3. Follow the instructions online at virgin, and make sure to select a Saskatchewan number (Area code 306). I entered my actual Alberta Address while doing this. You DO NOT need to add any funds to the pre-paid account. It will also ask you to create a 4-6 digit pin, so make sure to remember this too.

    4. After activating the virgin mobile pre-paid account, and setting up a Saskatchewan number, call virgin mobile prepaid account services (1-888-999-2321) and ask them to give you the new prepaid account number. This is not the phone number, but rather a 13 digit account number. Write it down, as you will need this later on at the Telus Store. The virgin mobile customer representative did ask me why I needed my account number, and I was honest and said I was porting it out. He then said that was fine and gave me the account number.

    5. Go to your local Telus Store in person. I went to a corporate owned location in Edmonton. Not sure about 3rd party dealers. When you are there, tell them you want to switch your number from Virgin prepaid to Telus. Do not tell them it is a Saskatchewan number just yet. Just play dumb when you are discussing what type of plan you would like, and just choose any plan that is available to Alberta. Do not worry, you wont end up with an Alberta plan when this is all over. The Telus associate will sit down with you and start the new account process. When it gets to the point that you are going to get a new number assigned, make sure you tell them you would like to port in your previously created virgin mobile phone number (which is the Saskatchewan number). DO NOT set up the account with a local number, insist on porting in right from the get go. The Telus guy didn't say anything to me about the 306 number, but if they do, just say you have a business in Saskatchewan or that you go to school there or anything really.

    6. When you are in the porting area of setting up your account, give the rep the Saskatchewan phone number's account number (that you previously received by calling virgin mobile), along with the 4-6 digit PIN that you created when setting up the virgin account number.

    7. The port in process was pretty much instant.

    8. After you have transferred the number into your Telus account, the only plans that were available to select were Saskatchewan plans (ie. the cheap ones that you want). The Telus guy can't even select a non-Saskatchewan plan at this point, and didn't seem to care that was all you could pick from. I ended up taking Unlimited Canada/USA calls and texts, plus 15 GB of data for a total of $85/month.

    9. After you are done at the TELUS store, go home and create a telus account to manage your new wireless service. After I set up my telus account access, I then went to the section that listed my devices. Underneath your listed device, it should list an option to check on your number transfer status. Click on this, and it will bring you to the classic my account website, which is what you want. When you are in the classic account website, click on the link that says "change phone number".

    10. Proceed to port in your local Alberta/ON/BC number from your main carrier you had previously (not the virgin mobile number you used in the previous steps). Port that number over to telus, and it will change your Saskatchewan number to a local number while keeping you on the Saskatchewan plan you selected at the Telus store.

    This process I followed had my Alberta number set up with Telus on the same day without having to wait for the first billing date to come and go, since I didn't have to bother with creating an Alberta number, switching it to a Saskatchewan number after the first bill, and then porting back to an Alberta number again. I just started my Telus relationship with a Saskatchewan number from the very beginning. I hope this was of value to someone. Good Luck.
    Fantastic, now only if there was a way to apply a corporate EPP code for those of us that legitimately work for a company without having to go through one of the lousy dealers as they are not too cooperating.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,134
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BasesLoadedWalk View Post
    If you are already with Telus and want to get the SASK plan on that number, you will have to port away from Telus to another carrier, then wait 30 days before performing the steps in my post above. It takes Telus 30 days for your number to clear out of their system.
    No, port to Telus Prepaid. Port back same day.

    Do not port to another carrier...

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BasesLoadedWalk View Post
    I didn't think of that, but there you go frv048. That should work like a charm. I've corrected my mistake above, Thanks Samshares.
    Thanks! Hoping this works or else I'll lose my SK plan on my Telus number.

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    888
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    As mentioned earlier, I have the 15GB $55.25 SK EPP plan. I e-mailed Corp support today to port in my Fido prepaid 416 number since you can't do a number change online with corp plans. They should get back within 48 hrs and I will post back with results right away.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,161
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by euroeuro View Post
    ^^ Not sure why that has never been mentioned before, but that's exactly how I got my Koodo QC plan from the start. Activated a random QC number with Bell prepaid, and went to Koodo to active a new line and port in from the start. Even though I selected the cheapest ON plan in store, the system allowed me to change the plan right away on self-serve.
    Never? I got my Koodo MB/SK plan exactly that way, and wrote about it back in 2014. That is also what I said in this thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by BasesLoadedWalk View Post
    So I just ended up getting a Saskatchewan plan on my account, which is my Alberta number by going to corporate owned Telus store at Southgate Center in Edmonton Alberta,
    There was a 6/10 brunette working at TELUS, and a 9/10 blonde at Koodo.
    It was sad to see the blonde for the last time before I moved to Ontario.
    Last edited by 5714; 05-30-2017 at 11:41 PM.

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    888
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by 5714 View Post
    There was a 6/10 brunette working at TELUS, and a 9/10 blonde at Koodo.
    It was sad to see the blonde for the last time before moving to Ontario.



    Never? I got my Koodo MB/SK plan exactly that way, and wrote about it back in 2014. That is also what I said in this thread.
    My apologies if I missed it in the past. Just doesn't seem like this method is frequently talked about. Most people get ON plan first, then switch number, then switch plan, then port next billing cycle. But with TELUS you'd have to wait the full 90 days.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,134
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by euroeuro View Post
    As mentioned earlier, I have the 15GB $55.25 SK EPP plan. I e-mailed Corp support today to port in my Fido prepaid 416 number since you can't do a number change online with corp plans. They should get back within 48 hrs and I will post back with results right away.
    Did they ask you for a agreement #? I keep getting asked for a Agreement #....

    I have the the Plan Activation Code, Program code, and Organization ID.....but Telus Corporate asked me about a "Agreement #"....which my company HR department says "we have no idea, we do have a dedicated portal that you can get your EPP through."....that portal sadly is to Apex which is not really a friendly place to deal with especially if getting a SK plan...

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    888
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Samshares View Post
    Did they ask you for a agreement #? I keep getting asked for a Agreement #....

    I have the the Plan Activation Code, Program code, and Organization ID.....but Telus Corporate asked me about a "Agreement #"....which my company HR department says "we have no idea, we do have a dedicated portal that you can get your EPP through."....that portal sadly is to Apex which is not really a friendly place to deal with especially if getting a SK plan...
    I've e-mailed them in the past to make account changes and they never asked for an Agreement number.

    The e-mail is: [email protected]

    I'm pretty sure it's just a general e-mail where they can work all corporate accounts, not just ones for a specific company, but I could be wrong. When I e-mailed them, I included my phone number, account number, and PIN number so they could access my account. Then I wrote my request in detail.

    Last time they got back to me within 48 hours so hopefully by Thursday I'll hear back.

    I tried to go on Live Chat but they will not touch corporate accounts, claiming it's due to "high security" lol

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Basement
    Posts
    925
    Device(s)
    Zed 30, Z10, 9900, 9780, 8530, W995a, u8a, w508, w980, w380a and a few Z710s
    Carrier(s)
    au revoir Robbers... bonjour Mobilicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by euroeuro View Post
    I've e-mailed them in the past to make account changes and they never asked for an Agreement number.

    The e-mail is: [email protected]

    I'm pretty sure it's just a general e-mail where they can work all corporate accounts, not just ones for a specific company, but I could be wrong. When I e-mailed them, I included my phone number, account number, and PIN number so they could access my account. Then I wrote my request in detail.

    Last time they got back to me within 48 hours so hopefully by Thursday I'll hear back.

    I tried to go on Live Chat but they will not touch corporate accounts, claiming it's due to "high security" lol
    I really hope i was told incorrectly, but from what I was convinced, it's not doable. That is, SK plan+ EPP discount + successful 416 port in = zero chance. Truth be told, i was given an awesome SK #, but wouldn't mind getting back into an old 416 I have lying around under an old PAYG plan.
    I'm eagerly looking foward to your update

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    258
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS, chatr (Mobilicity)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BasesLoadedWalk View Post
    So I just ended up getting a Saskatchewan plan on my account, which is my Alberta number by going to corporate owned Telus store at Southgate Center in Edmonton Alberta, and even short cutted the process in doing so. It was very easy, and fool proof. It's a bit different than the instructions on this thread, so here's the rundown of what I did.

    1. Purchase a Virgin Mobile Sim Card. I purchased it from the Source, but they are available at Staples and Virgin themselves. The Sim cost me $4.99 + GST.

    2. Go online to virginmobile.ca and click the link to activate a sim card on a new prepaid account.

    3. Follow the instructions online at virgin, and make sure to select a Saskatchewan number (Area code 306). I entered my actual Alberta Address while doing this. You DO NOT need to add any funds to the pre-paid account. It will also ask you to create a 4-6 digit pin, so make sure to remember this too.

    4. After activating the virgin mobile pre-paid account, and setting up a Saskatchewan number, call virgin mobile prepaid account services (1-888-999-2321) and ask them to give you the new prepaid account number. This is not the phone number, but rather a 13 digit account number. Write it down, as you will need this later on at the Telus Store. The virgin mobile customer representative did ask me why I needed my account number, and I was honest and said I was porting it out. He then said that was fine and gave me the account number.

    (...)
    Would these first four steps work in my case? I've currently got a Virgin Mobile post-paid account that I would like to move to the $75 Telus SK 15 GB BYOD plan. From 2005 to 2011, I was originally on Virgin Mobile pre-paid, before switching my account to post-paid.

    Can I start yet another Virgin Mobile pre-paid account with an existing Virgin Mobile post-paid account?

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    192
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BasesLoadedWalk View Post
    So I just ended up getting a Saskatchewan plan on my account, with an Alberta number by going to a corporate owned Telus store at Southgate Center in Edmonton Alberta, and even short cutted the process in doing so. It was very easy, and fool proof. It's a bit different than the instructions on this thread, so here's the rundown of what I did.

    1. Purchase a Virgin Mobile Sim Card. I purchased it from the Source, but they are available at Staples and Virgin themselves. The Sim cost me $4.99 + GST.

    2. Go online to virginmobile.ca and click the link to activate a sim card on a new prepaid account.

    3. Follow the instructions online at virgin, and make sure to select a Saskatchewan number (Area code 306). I entered my actual Alberta Address while doing this. You DO NOT need to add any funds to the pre-paid account. It will also ask you to create a 4-6 digit pin, so make sure to remember this too.

    4. After activating the virgin mobile pre-paid account, and setting up a Saskatchewan number, call virgin mobile prepaid account services (1-888-999-2321) and ask them to give you the new prepaid account number. This is not the phone number, but rather a 13 digit account number. Write it down, as you will need this later on at the Telus Store. The virgin mobile customer representative did ask me why I needed my account number, and I was honest and said I was porting it out. He then said that was fine and gave me the account number.

    5. Go to your local Telus Store in person. I went to a corporate owned location in Edmonton. Not sure about 3rd party dealers. When you are there, tell them you want to switch your number from Virgin prepaid to Telus. Do not tell them it is a Saskatchewan number just yet. Just play dumb when you are discussing what type of plan you would like, and just choose any plan that is available to Alberta. Do not worry, you wont end up with an Alberta plan when this is all over. The Telus associate will sit down with you and start the new account process. When it gets to the point that you are going to get a new number assigned, make sure you tell them you would like to port in your previously created virgin mobile phone number (which is the Saskatchewan number). DO NOT set up the account with a local number, insist on porting in right from the get go. The Telus guy didn't say anything to me about the 306 number, but if they do, just say you have a business in Saskatchewan or that you go to school there or anything really.

    6. When you are in the porting area of setting up your account, give the rep the Saskatchewan phone number's account number (that you previously received by calling virgin mobile), along with the 4-6 digit PIN that you created when setting up the virgin account number.

    7. The port in process was pretty much instant.

    8. After you have transferred the number into your Telus account, the only plans that were available to select were Saskatchewan plans (ie. the cheap ones that you want). The Telus guy can't even select a non-Saskatchewan plan at this point, and didn't seem to care that was all you could pick from. I ended up taking Unlimited Canada/USA calls and texts, plus 15 GB of data for a total of $85/month.

    9. After you are done at the TELUS store, go home and create a telus account to manage your new wireless service. After I set up my telus account access, I then went to the section that listed my devices. Underneath your listed device, it should list an option to check on your number transfer status. Click on this, and it will bring you to the classic my account website, which is what you want. When you are in the classic account website, click on the link that says "change phone number".

    10. Proceed to port in your local Alberta/ON/BC number from your main carrier you had previously (not the virgin mobile number you used in the previous steps). Port that number over to telus, and it will change your Saskatchewan number to a local number while keeping you on the Saskatchewan plan you selected at the Telus store.

    This process I followed had my Alberta number set up with Telus on the same day without having to wait for the first billing date to come and go, since I didn't have to bother with creating an Alberta number, switching it to a Saskatchewan number after the first bill, and then porting back to an Alberta number again. I just started my Telus relationship with a Saskatchewan number from the very beginning. I hope this was of value to someone. Good Luck.
    Hey BasesLoadedWalk, I'm thinking of doing the exact same thing you did (I currently live in Edmonton too). As of right now I'm on the Rogers Manitoba plan with 10GB for 70 bucks. But if I can get an extra 5 GB and be able to use it in the US for 15 bucks more that seems worth it to me.. (my parents live in Vancouver so I go down their quite a few times) plus if I switch I won't be throttled when I'm up north working, since as of right now rogers has no coverage at the site that I work on, so it roams on Telus when I'm up here which is a bit throttled and I have to watch my data usage.

    But I do have one question. Do you have Telus home services at all? And if so did you join your mobility account with it to get the discounted price? I'm just wondering if it's risky to do that in AB since it's a out of province plan.

    Thanks!

    Jaylay

Page 4 of 43 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Plans Koodo Plans compared to Telus
    By vcp199 in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 12:57 PM
  2. Koodo Nexus S on Telus
    By 1/2asleep in forum Koodo Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 11:52 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 02:26 PM
  4. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 10:14 PM
  5. can koodo phone work on telus plans?
    By jnusaputra in forum Koodo Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2008, 11:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks