Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: VoLTE now in Ontario

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    550
    Carrier(s)
    Telus Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0

    VoLTE now in Ontario

    Don't think I saw anyone post this yet so...

    While looking at options of porting out of Telus (they seriously won't budge on free CID&VM for a 20+yr customer?!) I saw this option in My Account:

    Name:  Telus VoLTE.png
Views: 876
Size:  16.6 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,079
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, I posted a few weeks ago. Been using VoLTE on my Telus device in the GTA for the past several weeks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Yes, I posted a few weeks ago. Been using VoLTE on my Telus device in the GTA for the past several weeks.
    Do they only supports iPhones for VoLTE?
    Sucks that Rogers support almost all phones and bell and Telus only iPhones and a couple of old Android's like GS 6

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,335
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo & Google Voice
    Feedback Score
    0
    While VoLTE would be nice, I really don't care. Having cell service everywhere I go, is far better.

    It's what rules in my world.
    Un-Rogered, and getting better 'value'.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CGY Guy View Post
    While VoLTE would be nice, I really don't care. Having cell service everywhere I go, is far better.

    It's what rules in my world.
    I could agree to your statement, however, it takes me about 15 to 20 seconds to make a phone call because it has to switch to 3g to make that call

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,139
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ravercwb View Post
    I could agree to your statement, however, it takes me about 15 to 20 seconds to make a phone call because it has to switch to 3g to make that call

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app
    Is that phone that takes 15 to 20 seconds to switch to 3G advanced enough to support VoLTE?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,079
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Calls never ever took 15-20 seconds to connect while on 3G for me. Not sure why they take so long for some of you. They took about 4 seconds when calling a landline and 6-8 seconds when calling a cell phone. Now it's about 2 seconds for landline and 4 seconds for cell with VoLTE. I have an iPhone 6.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Calls never ever took 15-20 seconds to connect while on 3G for me. Not sure why they take so long for some of you. They took about 4 seconds when calling a landline and 6-8 seconds when calling a cell phone. Now it's about 2 seconds for landline and 4 seconds for cell with VoLTE. I have an iPhone 6.
    It takes for me when my phone has to switch from LTE to 3g to make calls.

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    127
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by polkaroo View Post
    Don't think I saw anyone post this yet so...

    While looking at options of porting out of Telus (they seriously won't budge on free CID&VM for a 20+yr customer?!) I saw this option in My Account:

    Name:  Telus VoLTE.png
Views: 876
Size:  16.6 KB
    Every telus plan since 2012 has included voicemail and call display.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,355
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^ Hey or she Probably has an old plan which doesn't have Call Display & Voice Mail.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,079
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ravercwb View Post
    It takes for me when my phone has to switch from LTE to 3g to make calls.

    Sent from my FRD-L04 using HoFo mobile app
    Then it must be your phone. When my iphone 6 had to switch from LTE to 3G (before VoLTE) to initiate a call, the amount of time it took is what I posted in my last reply (about 4 seconds when calling a landline and 6-8 seconds when calling a cell phone).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    550
    Carrier(s)
    Telus Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cayaguy View Post
    Every telus plan since 2012 has included voicemail and call display.
    If you can find me a comparable plan without going through loopholes OR an agent that'll legitimately give me an out-of-market plan, I'm all ears!!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    127
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by polkaroo View Post
    If you can find me a comparable plan without going through loopholes OR an agent that'll legitimately give me an out-of-market plan, I'm all ears!!!
    This forum is full of information at your fingertips on how to get whatever plan you want. I suggest instead of complaing you do some research on here and come up with what works best for you.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,139
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you call someone who doesn't have VoLTE, does your call still go to the network through LTE on your side?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    860
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes it does, but the codec rate will be negotiated between both phones, so the highest mutually supported rate will be used.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VoLTE now working in Ontario on Telus
    By toolcube in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-27-2017, 08:51 PM
  2. Unlimited Calling Plan now avaialble in Ontario and Quebec
    By computergeek541 in forum Koodo Mobile
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 09:54 PM
  3. HSDPA(?) now in Waterloo, Ontario?
    By mbt in forum Fido
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2007, 12:19 PM
  4. EVDO now available in Niagara Region in Ontario
    By Beckham23 in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 06:06 PM
  5. 800MHz in Ontario?
    By WirelessToronto in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-14-2001, 11:26 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks