Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Data useage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    164
    Feedback Score
    0

    Data useage

    How accurate is everyone's data usage per freewind's tracking? Mine is way off with them throttling me well before my plan limit. Almost 1gb early on an 8gb plan. Advised tech support. Got excuses so far. Keep track using your phones own counter and compare.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,547
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've been throttled while roaming since my billing date (Apr 25)... I'd been throttled before my billing date, as per normal, but didn't get sped up after... I did actually use about 1.8 gigs last month, so I wasn't surprised about being throttled.

    This month, I'm down to 32kbps with 20Mbps up, and I'm hoping the next cycle fixes things...

    Usage on the home network appears OK

    Sent from my XT1563 using Tapatalk
    --------------------------------
    Un petit d'un petit
    S'étonne aux Halles
    Un petit d'un petit
    Ah! degrés te fallent

    Old French Proverb from the book of; Mots D'Heures Gousses Rames

    (I am the Stig!)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    187
    Feedback Score
    0
    My usage is usually really accurate, I get throttled pretty much exactly at 500 megs over my high speed limit. That's going by my phones data usage tracking, if I go by winds then they are usually 200 megs lower than what my phone says I've used.

    Sent from my LGLS992 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    40
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got the usage warning yesterday. When I checked with *123# and it says I've used 1.1 GB. This morning I checked my phone and it says I'm at 3.5 GB (still not near my 5 GB threshold, as far as I'm concerned).

    I messaged Freedom Support on Twitter (@Freedom_Cares I think), but no response. I'm not on Bookface so I can't ask there.

    I'm not overly concerned, personally, because there are no overage charges, and my billing cycle ends tomorrow. Plus this is the most data I've used in a billing cycle in a long time.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,960
    Device(s)
    BB Passport, MS 650DS, W10 Alcatel Idol 4s
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've never been throttled as far as I know, I've never received any notification about it nor have I noticed any serious slow down of speeds and I'm been with WIND/Freedom for over 7 years. Admittedly, back in the early days it was sometimes hard to tell whether you had been throttled or not but I was often over the soft data cap and nothing ever happened, I think much later they became stricter about it. I'm currently on the grandfathered US roaming package with 10GB soft cap and am only using about half of that per month so they'd have to be really inaccurate to start throttling me!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,960
    Device(s)
    BB Passport, MS 650DS, W10 Alcatel Idol 4s
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by memoryguy View Post
    I got the usage warning yesterday. When I checked with *123# and it says I've used 1.1 GB. This morning I checked my phone and it says I'm at 3.5 GB (still not near my 5 GB threshold, as far as I'm concerned).

    I messaged Freedom Support on Twitter (@Freedom_Cares I think), but no response. I'm not on Bookface so I can't ask there.

    I'm not overly concerned, personally, because there are no overage charges, and my billing cycle ends tomorrow. Plus this is the most data I've used in a billing cycle in a long time.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app
    For customer service I've always had good luck with their Twitter account, @freedomsupport. Give them a try if you have an account.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    164
    Feedback Score
    0
    Correct no overage charges....BUT...... I'm paying for LTE speed. Their 3G/256kbs is absolutely useless (for my purposes). The only reason I'd stay with them is for full speed LTE. If they throttle before I even reach that limit, there's no value in it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    355
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 2
    Carrier(s)
    Mobilicity -> WIND Mobile -> Public Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    There's probably something wrong with their tracker. I believe that people complained about the same issue a year ago but it was fixed that time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    40
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mann Incognito View Post
    For customer service I've always had good luck with their Twitter account, @freedomsupport. Give them a try if you have an account.
    Ah right, that is the one I tweeted to. Still no response. Maybe because I posted before business hours, so it scrolled off the screen before anyone saw it

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,870
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by memoryguy View Post
    I got the usage warning yesterday. When I checked with *123# and it says I've used 1.1 GB. This morning I checked my phone and it says I'm at 3.5 GB (still not near my 5 GB threshold, as far as I'm concerned).

    Freedom/Wind sends the usage warning text message and e-mail at exactly the 70% point of your monthly full usage allotment. So 3.5 GB would be the amount that would trigger that message. But since you have 5GB, and still have 1.5GB remaining, and also because they not-so-subtly way they try to sell you the 3GB add-on, I've always considered that text message and e-mail message to be nothing more than spam advertising. i can see that 70% might be a good trigger for the message on plans with less data included, but for a 5GB plan, 70% means that you still have a considerable chunk of your monthly data remaining.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    648
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phoneseeker101 View Post
    There's probably something wrong with their tracker. I believe that people complained about the same issue a year ago but it was fixed that time.
    My tracker is showing I am using zero everything....

    Freedom Mobile: Smartphone 50 + $10 Double Your Data (10gb x 2 = 20gb) = $60 + TAX

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    40
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by emann56 View Post
    My tracker is showing I am using zero everything....
    Mine was doing that for a while too. This morning, after my billing period ended, my usage is still showing the same amount that it did a couple days ago when I got the usage warning.

    Clearly the usage tracker is broken. Freedom needs to improve their regression testing strategy.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    164
    Feedback Score
    0
    So what would you guys/girls do if you were actually throttled BEFORE reaching your plan full speed allotment, like I was. Yes, I've complained. Getting the bs runaround like the big three do!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,103
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Edit: Got a reply from Freedom Support on twitter, they confirmed that they are having issues with data usage meters, for some reason on their end they can see actual usage that is not visible on the My Account and through *123# as both of those options don't seem to be up to date.
    Last edited by Samshares; 05-26-2017 at 03:44 PM.
    Join me on Telegram https://t.me/Samshares

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    40
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by memoryguy View Post
    Ah right, that is the one I tweeted to. Still no response. Maybe because I posted before business hours, so it scrolled off the screen before anyone saw it

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app
    Okay, I see one reason they didn't reply to me... The tweet isn't showing up even when I view my own tweet history. So apparently the app (official twitter app) lied to me and it didn't actually post.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Data useage to check mail
    By Kman23 in forum HP/Palm
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 03:52 AM
  2. Replies: 60
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 04:58 PM
  3. Can you check your Data Useage online?
    By BlaBlaBla in forum AT&T
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-30-2004, 02:25 PM
  4. 3650, T-Mobile, and Data useage...
    By playboycougar in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2003, 12:14 PM
  5. with data useage are air-time minutes used
    By jyalexop2003 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2003, 02:58 AM

Bookmarks