Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: Data & calls work - but not text. Any idea what the problem could be?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0

    Data & calls work - but not text. Any idea what the problem could be?

    Hi,

    Data & calls work - but suddenly I can neither send nor receive texts.

    When I put my friend's Cricket sim in my phone - it was fine to send/receive texts. Put my sim in - nothing. Though again, 4g works just fine.

    Any idea what the issue could be?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are both SIM cards the same color?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    Are both SIM cards the same color?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes, they're identical.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Android or iPhone?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    Android or iPhone?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Android.

    To be clear - I have Cricket as well. Use my friend's Cricket sim in my phone - all is well. Use mine - texting doesn't work. Though again, 4G and calls do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmm that's quite weird. Is this a original cricket phone not a Unlocked one?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    Hmm that's quite weird. Is this a original cricket phone not a Unlocked one?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Unlocked. It was fine prior to today.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    What do you have in the apn settings?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    What do you have in the apn settings?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The ones I always had (and listed on the Cricket website):

    https://www.cricketwireless.com/supp...n-android.html

    There's also, under the APN I'm using a listing "mht", which is mostly blank. That I don't recognize, but deleting it doesn't seem to affect anything.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmace1 View Post
    The ones I always had (and listed on the Cricket website):

    https://www.cricketwireless.com/supp...n-android.html

    There's also, under the APN I'm using a listing "mht", which is mostly blank. That I don't recognize, but deleting it doesn't seem to affect anything.
    Those are the correct ones. Strange. Maybe it's just some related to your account. Have you tried calling tech support?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    Those are the correct ones. Strange. Maybe it's just some related to your account. Have you tried calling tech support?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes I was in chat with them - they're ****ing useless, naturally.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmace1 View Post
    Yes I was in chat with them - they're ****ing useless, naturally.
    Haha damn. Well maybe someone else can chime in here.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    Haha damn. Well maybe someone else can chime in here.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Their technical team will contact me within 3 days, but - yeah, not holding my breath.

    I've factory reset my phone - and anyway, another person's Cricket SIM works fine.

    I haven't troubleshooted the SIM itself, like does mine suddenly have a defect? - but I hate to drive/buy a new SIM, when - I mean, it's broken, but *only* for text? That doesn't seem to make sense...though maybe I'm lacking some understanding.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmace1 View Post
    Their technical team will contact me within 3 days, but - yeah, not holding my breath.

    I've factory reset my phone - and anyway, another person's Cricket SIM works fine.

    I haven't troubleshooted the SIM itself, like does mine suddenly have a defect? - but I hate to drive/buy a new SIM, when - I mean, it's broken, but *only* for text? That doesn't seem to make sense...though maybe I'm lacking some understanding.
    Well in my Verizon days sometimes something as simple as swapping out the SIM card was the "solution" but we never charged customer for that


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    Honor 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro.r.perezjr View Post
    Well in my Verizon days sometimes something as simple as swapping out the SIM card was the "solution" but we never charged customer for that


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Eh, I believe Cricket doesn't really have corporate stores - just sketchy local francisees, so I don't think that's an option. Best Buy has sim cards for $10, I may try that / setup the new one online, and see if it has the same issue.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Any ideas what the roaming will be like?
    By jbarsoum in forum Videotron
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 09:32 PM
  2. Picture works but NOT text! VX8500
    By SerpentDrago in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-25-2008, 10:14 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2007, 07:31 AM
  4. SDA: Sirius works through WiFi but not Edge - Any ideas?
    By JWA in forum Windows Mobile Devices
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 05:17 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-26-2005, 01:49 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks