Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Traveling abroad with a Tracfone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    259
    Feedback Score
    0

    Traveling abroad with a Tracfone

    Hi all!
    If I remember correctly, it is not possible to use my TracFone Moto G5 from outside​ the US.
    However, can I just buy a prepaid sim card say in Europe, and swap that with the TracFone sim for the trip? Or has TracFone somehow locked my phone?
    This method has always worked for me when I was with airvoice and travelled abroad. Will it work with TracFone? I sure hope so ...
    Thanks for your response!

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using HoFo mobile app

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,187
    Feedback Score
    0
    You will most likely need to get the
    Phone unlocked. How long has it
    Been active on Tracfone ??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,778
    Device(s)
    Moto G1, Moto E2, LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus Cellular, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FT_VZW View Post
    Hi all!
    If I remember correctly, it is not possible to use my TracFone Moto G5 from outside​ the US.
    However, can I just buy a prepaid sim card say in Europe, and swap that with the TracFone sim for the trip? Or has TracFone somehow locked my phone?
    This method has always worked for me when I was with airvoice and travelled abroad. Will it work with TracFone? I sure hope so ...
    Thanks for your response!

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using HoFo mobile app
    The Moto G5+ is unlocked and will work with most any carrier, at least for 2G or 3G GSM. It's missing some LTE bands that are common in Europe, like band 20. So yes, you should have no problem swapping in a prepaid SIM card in Europe.

    It's not possible for Tracfone to lock your phone, except for what's been referred to as Slim-locking - preventing the phone from being activated on another America Movil brand using Verizon. For example, if you're on TF/VZW, you may have issues moving to Total Wireless (which only uses Verizon as the underlying carrier). And that may now be fixed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    3,700
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, LG L41C
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The OP's G5 is not a TF-branded phone. How long it had been used on TF is not a factor regarding unlocking. If it was purchased unlocked, a non-TF SIM will work. If it's locked, an unlock code purchased on Ebay probably will work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    259
    Feedback Score
    0
    Perfect, thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7,937
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    You will most likely need to get the
    Phone unlocked. How long has it
    Been active on Tracfone ??
    This is 100% WRONG!

Similar Threads

  1. travelling abroad with iphone
    By chasealicious11 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 10:59 AM
  2. Traveling Abroad with the iPhone
    By daytoncj in forum Apple
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 08:21 AM
  3. Traveling abroad with a Iphone v2...
    By AndyD in forum AT&T
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 05:12 AM
  4. Traveling Abroad with a GSM Razr
    By gregc1968 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-14-2006, 02:55 AM
  5. Travel Abroad with my Nextel SIM
    By daftgem in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-22-2002, 03:37 PM

Bookmarks