Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Throttled roaming speeds?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    195
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Throttled roaming speeds?

    If you're on the $59 plan with 1GB roaming, when you go over that amount, is the throttled speed good enough to stream low bitrate play music and also keep google maps navigation running smoothly?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,579
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by X-Nemesis View Post
    If you're on the $59 plan with 1GB roaming, when you go over that amount, is the throttled speed good enough to stream low bitrate play music and also keep google maps navigation running smoothly?
    Yes...250kbps

    Until you get to the super-throttle...32kbps...


    I don't use Google NAV much, but Waze works well...

    Spotify works too...

    The super-throttle kicks in from 1.7gigs to 2.5 gigs of usage... I can't figure out how or why it changes...

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app
    --------------------------------
    Un petit d'un petit
    S'étonne aux Halles
    Un petit d'un petit
    Ah! degrés te fallent

    Old French Proverb from the book of; Mots D'Heures Gousses Rames

    (I am the Stig!)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    200
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have to admit that I didn't even really notice the throttle.

    One of our lines hit 1.6 GB with no warning or anything, so I'm not sure how it works either.

    Sent from my Passport using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,579
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by markf_2 View Post
    I have to admit that I didn't even really notice the throttle.

    One of our lines hit 1.6 GB with no warning or anything, so I'm not sure how it works either.

    Sent from my Passport using HoFo mobile app
    The first throttle is usually pretty much spot on 1gig... The second is fuzzy... I've blown well past 1gig, but I was using it quickly (hot spotting my kid's devices on a road trip).

    I generally don't feel the throttle, as I use email, Waze and web browsing. None of which show a significant drop in performance with a slow down.

    The super throttle does make things painful, however...

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,160
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    The second stage throttle is configured to kick in at 50% over the plan's allotment, presumably same on the 1GB roaming data though the onset might lag some.

    Freedom really should bump up that second throttle to at least 64kbps.
    Though they don't advertise 'unlimited' like WIND did..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,160
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sirtate View Post
    Yes...250kbps
    Until you get to the super-throttle...32kbps...
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Freedom really should bump up that second throttle to at least 64kbps.
    Tested over-quota throttle (on the home network).

    When I hit quota, 256kbps.
    Enough to do most anything, including Netflix SQ much to my surprise.

    2GB later, second stage throttle kicked in, at 128kbps.
    A far sight better than 32kbps.

    Don't know if it gets knocked down yet again, hit 2nd stage the day before my next billing cycle.
    Got in about 500MB @128kbps before the reset.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    133
    Device(s)
    ZTE Grand X 4
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Tested over-quota throttle (on the home network).

    When I hit quota, 256kbps.
    Enough to do most anything, including Netflix SQ much to my surprise.

    2GB later, second stage throttle kicked in, at 128kbps.
    A far sight better than 32kbps.

    Don't know if it gets knocked down yet again, hit 2nd stage the day before my next billing cycle.
    Got in about 500MB @128kbps before the reset.
    Have they gotten rid of the 32kbps throttle, or is there just a third tier now?
    Damn!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    86
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 Duos
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wow, I can't believe they throttle everyone. In the US they only throttle the top users. I've gone over my allotment and haven't gotten throttled. There's even one person claiming to use 100GB/month and not getting throttled.

    Wind is kinda like Verizon, next thing people will get canceled.

    https://www.engadget.com/2016/07/22/...ed-data-users/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,160
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by batcave View Post
    Wow, I can't believe they throttle everyone. In the US they only throttle the top users.
    I'm reading 'unlimited' US plans get throttled now around 22GB.

    Here in Canada we have the option of the Big 3 and $70/GB overage. No throttle!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    GTA, K-W
    Posts
    332
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S4, Desire 601
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    I'm reading 'unlimited' US plans get throttled now around 22GB.

    Here in Canada we have the option of the Big 3 and $70/GB overage. No throttle!
    What a great deal I must say. ***sarcasm***

    We get gouged with everything, compared to our U.S. friends.

    With minor inflation the cost of phones are a measly $300-400 difference. Yes, minimum wage is better in Canada, yet the cost of things significantly outweigh income.

    Sent from my SGH-M919V using HoFo mobile app
    I will never buy an HTC ever again! (two broke within 4 years, which were well taken care of)

    Learn about price collusion, https://www.reddit.com/r/canada/comm...n_of_canadian/ Canada has the highest utility rates in the G7 countries. Say no to price collusion, be informed of the CCTS, Industry Canada and the CRTC. The working class needs affordability in today's society.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    337
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Wind (Former Mobilicity Subscriber)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    I'm reading 'unlimited' US plans get throttled now around 22GB.

    Here in Canada we have the option of the Big 3 and $70/GB overage. No throttle!
    Of course. They don't want to throttle you when they can rape you financially.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    86
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 Duos
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mo throttle could be 50gb soon!

    http://www.tmonews.com/2017/09/t-mob...hreshold-50gb/

    Sent from my SM-T807T using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 49
    Last Post: 04-25-2013, 09:38 PM
  2. Rogers throttling upload speed?
    By TilhasBB in forum Apple
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 01:08 AM
  3. Bell sued for throttling internet speeds!!
    By TelecomZombie in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 10:43 AM
  4. Replies: 37
    Last Post: 07-01-2007, 01:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks