Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Domestic roaming data question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0

    Domestic roaming data question.

    Does T-mobile allow data roaming on partner coverage? When on vacation, Tmobile coverage was extremely spotty and spent most of my time on ATT. While ATT signal was strong in that area, i did have voice and text but no data.

    I have roaming data enabled but it still did not work. Does tmobile allow domestic data? Specifically for the old $30/mo plan.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    931
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by L33 View Post
    Does T-mobile allow data roaming on partner coverage? When on vacation, Tmobile coverage was extremely spotty and spent most of my time on ATT. While ATT signal was strong in that area, i did have voice and text but no data.

    I have roaming data enabled but it still did not work. Does tmobile allow domestic data? Specifically for the old $30/mo plan.

    Thanks.
    I don't think that plans does. I thought their more recently plans did. Maybe not

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    931
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by L33 View Post
    Does T-mobile allow data roaming on partner coverage? When on vacation, Tmobile coverage was extremely spotty and spent most of my time on ATT. While ATT signal was strong in that area, i did have voice and text but no data.

    I have roaming data enabled but it still did not work. Does tmobile allow domestic data? Specifically for the old $30/mo plan.

    Thanks.
    To add to that I know post paid does. Is the 30 dollar plan your talking about prepaid? I'm not sure prepaid includes data.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thotguy31 View Post
    To add to that I know post paid does. Is the 30 dollar plan your talking about prepaid? I'm not sure prepaid includes data.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    The $30 plan is prepaid so if they do not allow roaming data on prepaid it would make sense.
    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    145
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It does where I live. Currently don't have native T-Mobile and have a 1Gb a week plan and I was able to get AT&T HSPA+ roaming. Bought it because there is a new array on a tower and I'm sure it's T-Mo but hasn't been activated yet. But it should roam.

    Sent from my LG-H871 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    13,921
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Even on postpaid plans, data roaming on AT&T (where permitted) is severely limited.
    Donald Newcomb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    68
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    Even on postpaid plans, data roaming on AT&T (where permitted) is severely limited.
    I'll say. I have the $50 prepaid and while roaming on AT&T, it was 200kbps down & 120kbps up.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    173
    Carrier(s)
    t-mobile, at&t, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by caqz View Post
    I'll say. I have the $50 prepaid and while roaming on AT&T, it was 200kbps down & 120kbps up.
    You're lucky its like that because on a high speed connection, speedtests can use up to 50 MB each time. Given that the roaming limit is 200 MB, you'll use up a lot of data on speedtests. If speeds are lower, the test uses smaller sample sizes.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    10,463
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+, Google Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    As a quick sanity check... If you haven't roamed before on this device, make sure that your phone settings have data roaming enabled. I had an issue similar to this on my first trip to Canada shortly after going to T-Mobile.

    Sent from my LG-H872 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    CMA003 (Chicagoland)
    Posts
    2,381
    Device(s)
    A bunch
    Carrier(s)
    Most of them
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by caqz View Post
    I'll say. I have the $50 prepaid and while roaming on AT&T, it was 200kbps down & 120kbps up.
    Prepaid has data roaming now? Cool. I thought it was only talk/text.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    68
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by clonehappy View Post
    Prepaid has data roaming now? Cool. I thought it was only talk/text.
    Yep. I was in a roaming area so, out of curiosity, I enabled data roaming and did a speed test. Needless to say I don't have to worry about going over the 200mb limit because I turned it back off. Those speeds reminded me of Mint SIM on a weekend.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    8,180
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S8+ and Gear S3 Frontier
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by caqz View Post
    I'll say. I have the $50 prepaid and while roaming on AT&T, it was 200kbps down & 120kbps up.
    This is why I'm so happy T-Mobile bought a boatload of prime/greenfield lowband spectrum and that they plan to deploy it all over even in areas they traditionally never served.

    I want to be able to use my data plan at full speed wherever I'm at.
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7,632
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @TheRealDanny View Post
    This is why I'm so happy T-Mobile bought a boatload of prime/greenfield lowband spectrum and that they plan to deploy it all over even in areas they traditionally never served.

    I want to be able to use my data plan at full speed wherever I'm at.
    As one of their network engineers put it, TMobile bought a crap load of low band spectrum that's definitely a game changer

Similar Threads

  1. Roaming data question
    By Mjhar in forum USCellular
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 11:05 AM
  2. Ascend roaming data question?
    By bigsam83 in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 01:28 PM
  3. Another Roaming Data Question
    By ricerz in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 05:30 PM
  4. Roaming Data question with ic902
    By rafster in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2009, 09:54 AM
  5. Going to the US - Roaming & Data questions
    By TRDsupraman in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 06:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks