Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 163

Thread: Cricket Wireless to officially launch Wi-Fi calling 7/21

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    70
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok time to speculate. I spoke to a Cricket chat rep a couple weeks ago about WIFI calling and if my AT&T branded LG G5 would be WIFI calling capable since it is capable on postpaid AT&T and she stated that it most likely would. Does anyone think that will happen? I am on a new SIM card and don't get VoLTE though and she said that would be made available.

    Next question. If BYOD WIFI calling is made available on Cricket (if the phone supports it), would a T-mobile phone work on Cricket or is the inherent software specific to the phone model? Can T-mobile unlocked phones that are WIFI calling capable work on Cricket or is the WIFI calling specific to each carrier branded phone?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,155
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cricket just sent out a PR on the new "Unlimited 2" plan + the new phones and discount deals.

    http://cricketwireless.mediaroom.com...ew-Smartphones

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    3,332
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    3 lines on Sprint, 1 line on Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    So how much is 3 or 4 lines?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    5,145
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket Wireless to officially launch Wi-Fi calling 7/21

    Quote Originally Posted by djjim View Post
    So how much is 3 or 4 lines?
    Might need two accounts at $80 each
    Get $25 credit by switching to Cricket Wireless! Then $250 by referring others! Same AT&T signal! Click here!

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    3,332
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    3 lines on Sprint, 1 line on Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by blacksurfer View Post
    Might need two accounts at $80 each
    $160? Why would anyone do that? You can get full speed at TMobile for 4 lines, $160 for 4 lines if you have Directv with AT&T and $180 at Verizon. All with full speed. Heck, I think At&t's 3mbps plan is just $155 for 4 lines and is virtually the same thing.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus5/Nexus6
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    What's the big deal about Wifi calling? Seems like a pita. If I had to use Wifi calling I'd get on a different network.
    Exactly. I am glad they probably won't support my WiFi calling capable phone. I want to use the network for calls and not my wifi. I got away from that with Sprints airave box. I don't want to have to worry about a backup kicking in and eating up all the upload of our ISP and causing a phone call to break up. Just the other day the cable rep was changing my internet package and had to reset my modem. He asked if I was on wifi.. I said yes but not this call. He went on to say that is a problem at times since it drops people's phone calls.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    108
    Feedback Score
    0
    After everybody *****ing about my service that I have AT&T prepaid having 3 megabytes per second on unlimited now Cricket does it hilarious....

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,155
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by digiblur View Post
    Exactly. I am glad they probably won't support my WiFi calling capable phone. I want to use the network for calls and not my wifi. I got away from that with Sprints airave box. I don't want to have to worry about a backup kicking in and eating up all the upload of our ISP and causing a phone call to break up. Just the other day the cable rep was changing my internet package and had to reset my modem. He asked if I was on wifi.. I said yes but not this call. He went on to say that is a problem at times since it drops people's phone calls.
    Well, nobody is forcing anyone to use WiFi over LTE. You can setup your phone however you like.

    WiFi calling can be very helpful once in a while especially if one is in a building or basement where no signal is possible. I was recently in Las Vegas and I came across a few spots deep in the casino hotels where nobody in my group received any phone signal (Verizon, AT&T, T-mo, etc) but there was WiFi available so only those with WiFi calling capabilities were able to make and receive calls.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    59
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've never had wifi calling. Can you receive text over wifi also? Or no? I'm sure iMessage will work.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bricky23 View Post
    I've never had wifi calling. Can you receive text over wifi also? Or no? I'm sure iMessage will work.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes... it's like your router is a tower.. calls and text till go over wifi ..

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    362
    Device(s)
    Iphone 6s, Ipad Mini 4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon/Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by djjim View Post
    $160? Why would anyone do that? You can get full speed at TMobile for 4 lines, $160 for 4 lines if you have Directv with AT&T and $180 at Verizon. All with full speed. Heck, I think At&t's 3mbps plan is just $155 for 4 lines and is virtually the same thing.
    Because this is aimed for 2 people not families of 4....

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,422
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bricky23 View Post
    I've never had wifi calling. Can you receive text over wifi also? Or no? I'm sure iMessage will work.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Your phone should act exactly as it does when connected to a tower. Yes iMessage will work the same.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #43
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    700
    Device(s)
    2 iPhones are better than one. Twice the fun. Ask anyone.
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had cricket for a couple of weeks until this happened.... I live in SW Iowa service in our town of 7k is ok. HSPA+ it works. 3 kids 5 phones seemed like a great deal until one Saturday morning basketball game in a nearby town. 100% in the no coverage zone. In the gym, on the wifi I get a message via hangouts of a problem at work and they have been trying to reach me for a hour. Wifi calling could have saved the day but instead I had to drive 20mi to find an att tower. Went back to big red that afternoon.

    Please give me wifi calling! Solve most of my problems and save me $40/mo

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    737
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The Beet View Post
    I had cricket for a couple of weeks until this happened.... I live in SW Iowa service in our town of 7k is ok. HSPA+ it works. 3 kids 5 phones seemed like a great deal until one Saturday morning basketball game in a nearby town. 100% in the no coverage zone. In the gym, on the wifi I get a message via hangouts of a problem at work and they have been trying to reach me for a hour. Wifi calling could have saved the day but instead I had to drive 20mi to find an att tower. Went back to big red that afternoon.

    Please give me wifi calling! Solve most of my problems and save me $40/mo
    Until recently, Iowa coverage has sucked bad. I love in Oklahoma. I'd go up to east central Iowa once a year and have no signal a lot of the drive thru the state. It was somewhat better 2 years ago and with roaming it's supposed to be even better this year. But most of the people I know that live in Iowa have Verizon.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    782
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well I was hoping that when I woke up this morning that my iPhone would have gotten a carrier update and WiFi calling would be working. Sad to say that so far nothing. VoLTE was a real nice addition, now I'm really hopeful that WiFi calling is available on the iPhone too.

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Has Cricket Wireless deployed WI-FI calling yet?
    By idavenport90 in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2017, 02:12 PM
  2. AT&T still aims to launch Wi-Fi calling in 2015
    By @TheRealDanny in forum AT&T
    Replies: 307
    Last Post: 11-25-2016, 01:32 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 03:30 PM
  4. Is RIM ready to launch Wi-Fi RIM?
    By wireless-wizz in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 12:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks