Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Cricket gave me an unlock code, now what?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    411
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket gave me an unlock code, now what?

    After a bit of struggle, Cricket sent me an unlock code for my Alcatel Flint.

    Being a bit of a n00b, I have no earthly clue how to turn that number into an unlocked phone.

    I bet someone here can help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3,863
    Feedback Score
    0
    Put in a non AT&T carrier based SIM card. You'll get prompted for the unlock code,
    As a US citizen I have the right to criticize my government. My thanks for this is endless in magnitude. I fear fascism is here in the US. [fascism: government led by a dictator having complete power, forcibly suppressing opposition & criticism, regimenting all industry, commerce, etc., & emphasizing an aggressive nationalism & often racism]

    AirVoice (AT&T) $20 a month UTnT 50MB
    T-Mobile ToGo Gold Rewards $10/yr exp extension
    Tello (Sprint) Pay As You Go $5 [1+ calls in 6mo Never Expires]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    411
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    What if I don't have one of those?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,509
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eggsalad View Post
    What if I don't have one of those?
    Then you get one

    You can often get a T-Mobile SIM for free or 99 cents. Or find a friend with a different carrier and borrow his

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    411
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Weird. I don't remember having to go through all that when I unlocked my G Stylo. I wonder where I got a SIM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    508
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    cricKet
    Feedback Score
    0
    Buy H2O SIM from Amazon for a penny

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    4,727
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket gave me an unlock code, now what?

    There are sometimes a second way where to type in a certain sequence on numbers to get to the unlock code screen. Try googling. But it's faster to get any non cricket sim and insert it.
    Make cheap national and int'l telephone calls with a calling card! Click here!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,098
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eggsalad View Post
    Weird. I don't remember having to go through all that when I unlocked my G Stylo. I wonder where I got a SIM.
    Who was your carrier before Cricket?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    411
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 12thman View Post
    Who was your carrier before Cricket?
    I have a Verizon iPhone 4s with a SIM that's too small, and a TracFone LG 306 with a SIM that's too big

    I guess I'll go to WalMart tomorrow and see if I can find a $0.99 SIM that's juuuust right.

    The problem here is... I want to port out to a T-Mo MVNO. To prove my phone will work with it, they want my IMEI - which shows as locked. I guess there's no winning.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    192
    Feedback Score
    0
    Google

    Alcatel Flint secret codes


    My first result is a website with multiole codes to enter for various tasks are including the network unlock screen.

    I have always used google to find the unlock screen without using a sim from another carrier.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,473
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ugg, such a easy fix to unlock. Borrow a friend's sim and if not the correct size, use the sim adaptor. If still a problem you can't figure out, ask any 12yo kid to help you.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    411
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting. I tried those codes and all it does is say "USSD code running" and then nothing changes.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,098
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eggsalad View Post
    I have a Verizon iPhone 4s with a SIM that's too small, and a TracFone LG 306 with a SIM that's too big

    I guess I'll go to WalMart tomorrow and see if I can find a $0.99 SIM that's juuuust right.

    The problem here is... I want to port out to a T-Mo MVNO. To prove my phone will work with it, they want my IMEI - which shows as locked. I guess there's no winning.
    I see these Tracfone SIM cards for .99c everywhere

    https://www.walmart.com/ip/Tracfone-...CDMA/972236556

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    726
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Best to do it with a working(active) foreign SIM so you can test the unlock immediately(can actually make a call with the "unlocked" sim).

    I once thought I had unlocked my phone, ie, the unlock was reported on screen as "Successful".

    But a month or so later when I actually got hold of an active foreign sim, when inserted, I got the unlock code request screen again.

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,292
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by teKcirc View Post
    Buy H2O SIM from Amazon for a penny
    Yes. Lycamobile also which used tmobile network. With lycamobile sim you can see network signal and call customer service without actually activating the sim. Usually 1 cent on amazon with free shipping.

Similar Threads

  1. friend gave me an unlocked LG Optimus G (AT&T) - what are my best prepaid deals?
    By JAcQuIN MeNdoZa in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 12:06 PM
  2. Wow, Cingular gave me the unlock code for an AT&T phone.
    By jbzcar in forum AT&T Regular Phones
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 09:13 PM
  3. If I cancel with Rogers, will they give me an unlock code?
    By urbanlegend in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-18-2002, 01:36 PM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-22-2002, 11:37 AM
  5. i got my unlock code now what !?
    By n666z in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2001, 10:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks