Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Cricket gave me an unlock code, now what?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    440
    Carrier(s)
    H2O
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket gave me an unlock code, now what?

    After a bit of struggle, Cricket sent me an unlock code for my Alcatel Flint.

    Being a bit of a n00b, I have no earthly clue how to turn that number into an unlocked phone.

    I bet someone here can help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4,116
    Feedback Score
    0
    Put in a non AT&T carrier based SIM card. You'll get prompted for the unlock code,
    As a US citizen I have the right to criticize my government. My thanks for this is endless in magnitude.

    Fascism is here led by a hypersensitive psychopathic dictator having complete power, obsessively suppressing criticism, regimenting industry & commerce. Emboldening racism & aggressive nationalism.

    Red Pocket (AT&T) $255yr UTnT 3GB
    AirVoice (AT&T) $20mo UTnT 50MB
    T-Mo Gold Rewards $10yr exp ext
    Tello (Sprint) $5 1+call/3mo=no exp x2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    440
    Carrier(s)
    H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    What if I don't have one of those?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,595
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eggsalad View Post
    What if I don't have one of those?
    Then you get one

    You can often get a T-Mobile SIM for free or 99 cents. Or find a friend with a different carrier and borrow his

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    440
    Carrier(s)
    H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    Weird. I don't remember having to go through all that when I unlocked my G Stylo. I wonder where I got a SIM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    524
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    cricKet
    Feedback Score
    0
    Buy H2O SIM from Amazon for a penny

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    5,149
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket gave me an unlock code, now what?

    There are sometimes a second way where to type in a certain sequence on numbers to get to the unlock code screen. Try googling. But it's faster to get any non cricket sim and insert it.
    Get $25 credit by switching to Cricket Wireless! Then $250 by referring others! Same AT&T signal! Click here!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,157
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eggsalad View Post
    Weird. I don't remember having to go through all that when I unlocked my G Stylo. I wonder where I got a SIM.
    Who was your carrier before Cricket?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    440
    Carrier(s)
    H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 12thman View Post
    Who was your carrier before Cricket?
    I have a Verizon iPhone 4s with a SIM that's too small, and a TracFone LG 306 with a SIM that's too big

    I guess I'll go to WalMart tomorrow and see if I can find a $0.99 SIM that's juuuust right.

    The problem here is... I want to port out to a T-Mo MVNO. To prove my phone will work with it, they want my IMEI - which shows as locked. I guess there's no winning.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    473
    Feedback Score
    0
    Google

    Alcatel Flint secret codes


    My first result is a website with multiole codes to enter for various tasks are including the network unlock screen.

    I have always used google to find the unlock screen without using a sim from another carrier.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,560
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ugg, such a easy fix to unlock. Borrow a friend's sim and if not the correct size, use the sim adaptor. If still a problem you can't figure out, ask any 12yo kid to help you.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    440
    Carrier(s)
    H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting. I tried those codes and all it does is say "USSD code running" and then nothing changes.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,157
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eggsalad View Post
    I have a Verizon iPhone 4s with a SIM that's too small, and a TracFone LG 306 with a SIM that's too big

    I guess I'll go to WalMart tomorrow and see if I can find a $0.99 SIM that's juuuust right.

    The problem here is... I want to port out to a T-Mo MVNO. To prove my phone will work with it, they want my IMEI - which shows as locked. I guess there's no winning.
    I see these Tracfone SIM cards for .99c everywhere

    https://www.walmart.com/ip/Tracfone-...CDMA/972236556

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    890
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Best to do it with a working(active) foreign SIM so you can test the unlock immediately(can actually make a call with the "unlocked" sim).

    I once thought I had unlocked my phone, ie, the unlock was reported on screen as "Successful".

    But a month or so later when I actually got hold of an active foreign sim, when inserted, I got the unlock code request screen again.

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,327
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6, iPhone 5s,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by teKcirc View Post
    Buy H2O SIM from Amazon for a penny
    Yes. Lycamobile also which used tmobile network. With lycamobile sim you can see network signal and call customer service without actually activating the sim. Usually 1 cent on amazon with free shipping.

Similar Threads

  1. friend gave me an unlocked LG Optimus G (AT&T) - what are my best prepaid deals?
    By JAcQuIN MeNdoZa in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 01:06 PM
  2. Wow, Cingular gave me the unlock code for an AT&T phone.
    By jbzcar in forum AT&T Regular Phones
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 10:13 PM
  3. If I cancel with Rogers, will they give me an unlock code?
    By urbanlegend in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-18-2002, 02:36 PM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-22-2002, 12:37 PM
  5. i got my unlock code now what !?
    By n666z in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2001, 11:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks