Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Is there a way to make Google Voice my default SMS from Contacts?

Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket Essential Plan
    Feedback Score

Is there a way to make Google Voice my default SMS from Contacts?

If I open Contacts and tap the phone handset icon the call will go out using Google Voice. But if I tap the messaging icon the SMS will transmit with my normal phone number. Is there a way to set Contacts so that SMS get sent via Google Voice? Obviously the way to avoid this is to send SMS via the GV app, not Contacts.

Name:  brio.png
Views: 304
Size:  90.3 KB
    My smartphone is a lot smarter than I am.

Feedback Score
    So far, I am not seeing that.

What I would suggest, which I have been doing without any snags for several months now, is to send a sms with the gv app, then wait for the recepient to reply to your GV number, then save that phantkm number in that person's contact list, use custom and name it somethjng that you know is for GV, and then whenever you either call that number or sms that number, even without data on, it will contact that person and they will see your GV information on the ir caller ID.

Interesting tidbit, if you dms them using this phantom number, and then check your GV app, what you just sent will show up their.

Good luck.

let us know if there is a way to actually make it our default sms app.

When I went to sms setting, it did not register GV as a sms app, I guess that it is more like a voip device similar to whatsapp, allows sms, allows calls, allows video calls.

Feedback Score
    @MVNO!!!,
    Great tips and summary there.

It would still require WiFi/data to send the initial SMS via GV app to get the shadow number from the text reply.

Really annoying that Google broke things and forces us through this workaround.

Carrier(s)
    AT&T via Cricket Wireless, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via Motorola SmartZone
    Feedback Score