Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 61

Thread: Verizon coverage map shows AT&T roaming

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    DC/Baltimore
    Posts
    71
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Verizon coverage map shows AT&T roaming

    Verizon's coverage map clearly shows AT&T roaming in some areas, like West Virginia. Is this a glitch, or is Verizon actually roaming on AT&T?

    This only appears when you select "4G LTE without 3G CDMA" on the coverage map. Look at places like Harman, WV and Snowshoe, WV. Only AT&T has coverage in these areas. US Cellular doesn't. Sprint doesn't. T-Mobile doesn't. This is clearly AT&T HSPA coverage.

    Verizon coverage map for Harman, WV:



    AT&T coverage map for Harman, WV:



    Verizon 3G map for Harman, WV:



    Verizon coverage map for Snowshoe, WV:



    AT&T coverage map for Snowshoe, WV:



    Verizon 3G map for Snowshoe, WV:



    Even if this is a glitch, why would Verizon have AT&T's coverage map data saved in their system and displayed on their map?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    139
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    if this is true i might be able to go back to Verizon. AT&T's 3G is pretty decent. and it's extended 1x where i live as well. i live in greenbrier county (western half)

    Sent from my LG-V930 using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Outer Banks, NC
    Posts
    13
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The new LG Exalt LTE flip phone lists that the phone will roam on GSM/UMTS when LTE isn't available... So it has to be AT&T.

    Sent from my XT1650 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    1,492
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus Factory Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm surprised the reason being if Verizon has AT&T roaming then you get the best of both worlds with Verizon why not switch to Verizon from AT&T, if Verizon got a good roaming deal from AT&T I hope it's reciprocal or else goodbye AT&T... Sprint I understand they're coverage is horrible but Verizon...?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    207
    Feedback Score
    0
    If true, that is really surprising. How does this really benefit AT&T, other than a bit of extra $$ from Verizon for roaming. Hard to believe that would outweigh the work they did to build out those areas.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    997
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 128GB Black
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can I ask why you think Verizon is roaming on AT&T? Just because their maps are similar?

    I highly doubt Verizon roams on AT&T anywhere.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    919
    Feedback Score
    0
    If it is true then that roaming would likely have roaming limits.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1,684
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew110 View Post
    Can I ask why you think Verizon is roaming on AT&T? Just because their maps are similar?

    I highly doubt Verizon roams on AT&T anywhere.
    He showed thorough evidence in the OP...

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dover, NH
    Posts
    2,477
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by curiouscustomer View Post
    I'm surprised the reason being if Verizon has AT&T roaming then you get the best of both worlds with Verizon why not switch to Verizon from AT&T, if Verizon got a good roaming deal from AT&T I hope it's reciprocal or else goodbye AT&T... Sprint I understand they're coverage is horrible but Verizon...?
    It's definitely not a nationwide agreement, otherwise as you said there would be no reason to use AT&T. It's likely similar to other markets, and only in select areas will you be roaming, and even less so on AT&T as I'm sure it costs Verizon a lot more than partnering with small regional carriers. If true, it's probably because no one else has service there for them to roam with.

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew110 View Post
    Can I ask why you think Verizon is roaming on AT&T? Just because their maps are similar?

    I highly doubt Verizon roams on AT&T anywhere.
    I believe it's because he compared it with Sprint and US Cellular and they don't have coverage there either.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    997
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 128GB Black
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0

    Verizon coverage map shows AT&T roaming

    Quote Originally Posted by malibu31 View Post
    He showed thorough evidence in the OP...

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    The Verizon map shows LTE coverage not UMTS...

    Never heard of VZ roaming on UMTS in the U.S. ever. It’s probably a map glitch if anything.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    2,615
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 edge, Note 5, Galaxy Tab S2
    Carrier(s)
    T,T-Mo,VZ.
    Feedback Score
    0
    I agree with Andrew110. Looking at Sensorly and CellMapper, it doesn't appear that either VZ or AT&T has a site in Harman but CellMapper is showing a 2G CDMA site north of Harman in Thomas. It appears AT&T's UMTS coverage shown there is residual from the north/northwest.


    Edit: There does appear to be an AT&T site running UMTS in Harman. My bad

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    DC/Baltimore
    Posts
    71
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tgdub91 View Post
    The new LG Exalt LTE flip phone lists that the phone will roam on GSM/UMTS when LTE isn't available... So it has to be AT&T.

    Sent from my XT1650 using HoFo mobile app
    Ah, you're right! That phone supports GSM/UMTS/HSPA/LTE but not CDMA. I bet that's why.

    https://www.verizonwireless.com/basi.../lg-exalt-lte/

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew110 View Post
    Can I ask why you think Verizon is roaming on AT&T? Just because their maps are similar?

    I highly doubt Verizon roams on AT&T anywhere.
    I explained that very clearly in my post. The coverage maps are identical in those areas, and AT&T is the only carrier that has coverage in those areas. It's 100% AT&T coverage. It can’t be anyone else, because no other carrier has coverage in the two areas I mentioned.

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew110 View Post
    The Verizon map shows LTE coverage not UMTS...

    Never heard of VZ roaming on UMTS in the U.S. ever. It’s probably a map glitch if anything.
    Nope. Look closer. The coverage is shown as 3G roaming, not LTE. LTE is a different color on the map.

    This looks to be 3G roaming on AT&T for devices that don't support CDMA, like the LG Exalt.

    https://www.verizonwireless.com/basi.../lg-exalt-lte/

    It also makes no sense that it would be a glitch, as I said. Why would Verizon have AT&T's coverage data saved in their system and displayed on their map "accidentally"?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    DC/Baltimore
    Posts
    71
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 10mm View Post
    I agree with Andrew110. Looking at Sensorly and CellMapper, it doesn't appear that either VZ or AT&T has a site in Harman but CellMapper is showing a 2G CDMA site north of Harman in Thomas. It appears AT&T's UMTS coverage shown there is residual from the north/northwest.
    Wrong. I've been to Harman, Davis, and Thomas. AT&T has a site in Harman and is the only carrier that has coverage there. US Cellular does not. Check their coverage maps. Sensorly, and especially CellMapper, are notorious for being inaccurate. CellMapper is often completely wrong with cell site locations.

    Thomas, where there is a US Cellular site, is 22 miles away from Harman.

    https://www.att.com/maps/wireless-coverage.html

    https://www.uscellular.com/coverage-...indicator.html

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    2,615
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 edge, Note 5, Galaxy Tab S2
    Carrier(s)
    T,T-Mo,VZ.
    Feedback Score
    0
    What map are you using that gives that"4G LTE without 3G CDMA" selection? I'm on my desktop on the Verizon site as well as the full browser on my phone. Neither have those selection options.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    919
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 10mm View Post
    What map are you using that gives that"4G LTE without 3G CDMA" selection? I'm on my desktop on the Verizon site as well as the full browser on my phone. Neither have those selection options.
    I can't find that either

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 12:34 AM
  2. Replies: 36
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 05:28 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-03-2008, 08:12 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2004, 10:46 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2003, 02:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks