Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Still possible to get Airave? And is there a dual sim phone somehwere?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Macclenny, FL
    Posts
    1,968
    Device(s)
    Moto G5 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    Still possible to get Airave? And is there a dual sim phone somehwere?

    I have Verizon (prepaid) and now Sprint (1 year thing). Does anyone know of a model of phone that has dual SIM and supports both carriers?

    And, I chatted with the twitter sprint team, and seems due to inventory constraints (their words) can't get a airave anymore. Is this true? If not, who do I speak with to get one? I applied for a magicbox, but no guarantees, of course.

    Thanks!
    Call Me Bubbles Dahhhlin... Everyone Does! ||

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    59
    Feedback Score
    0
    There are a bunch on eBay, and I'm interested as well. Is it it simply plug and play, or does it have to be registered with Sprint?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aridzona
    Posts
    2,145
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7, Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tbonecopper View Post
    I have Verizon (prepaid) and now Sprint (1 year thing). Does anyone know of a model of phone that has dual SIM and supports both carriers?

    And, I chatted with the twitter sprint team, and seems due to inventory constraints (their words) can't get a airave anymore. Is this true? If not, who do I speak with to get one? I applied for a magicbox, but no guarantees, of course.

    Thanks!
    I'm interested too. I have the same set up you have with both VZ and Sprint. Would love one phone and an airave. Got no signal at my house.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    902
    Feedback Score
    0
    Maybe they discontinued it and the Sprint "magic box" was planned on replacing it ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,154
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Qt0 View Post
    Maybe they discontinued it and the Sprint "magic box" was planned on replacing it ?
    The magicbox is basically a small cell so it works better.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    6,306
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bigcuzdave View Post
    There are a bunch on eBay, and I'm interested as well. Is it it simply plug and play, or does it have to be registered with Sprint?
    Absolutely has to be registered with Sprint. On the older models you owned it but they charged $5 per month to use one. On the newer models I believe it was free but you had to return the unit once you stopped using it.
    Sprint user since 1997

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by larryt510 View Post
    Absolutely has to be registered with Sprint. On the older models you owned it but they charged $5 per month to use one. On the newer models I believe it was free but you had to return the unit once you stopped using it.
    Not free, they charge a small admin fee on each line you have, plus some tax on that. Airave is another line on your account.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thotguy31 View Post
    The magicbox is basically a small cell so it works better.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Magic box is only for LTE data and requires signal to work.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tbonecopper View Post
    I have Verizon (prepaid) and now Sprint (1 year thing). Does anyone know of a model of phone that has dual SIM and supports both carriers?

    And, I chatted with the twitter sprint team, and seems due to inventory constraints (their words) can't get a airave anymore. Is this true? If not, who do I speak with to get one? I applied for a magicbox, but no guarantees, of course.

    Thanks!
    ZTE Axon 7 and Axon 7 mini. There have been reports of people using it with CDMA carriers. However, considering that Sprint roams on Verizon, why would you need that?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,154
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vvk View Post
    Magic box is only for LTE data and requires signal to work.
    Yes but, when VOLTE happens then it will allow calls also. It works just like small cells it does require a tower in the area.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thotguy31 View Post
    Yes but, when VOLTE happens then it will allow calls also. It works just like small cells it does require a tower in the area.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    LOL, silly to expect that from Sprint, no?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,154
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vvk View Post
    LOL, silly to expect that from Sprint, no?
    Huh?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thotguy31 View Post
    Huh?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    I am doubtful about ever getting VoLTE on Sprint. Would be awesome, though! The voice quality on CDMA2000 is not always good.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,154
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vvk View Post
    I am doubtful about ever getting VoLTE on Sprint. Would be awesome, though! The voice quality on CDMA2000 is not always good.
    Well since it was announced few months ago and two devices can use it while it's being tested. This the point of the magicbox it works just like a small cell.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,025
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7, Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thotguy31 View Post
    Well since it was announced few months ago and two devices can use it while it's being tested. This the point of the magicbox it works just like a small cell.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    The two devices on Calling Plus are using OTT VoIP. We want to see actual VoLTE deployed. By now they should at least have it deployed on a market by market basis.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-16-2014, 11:54 AM
  2. Is it still possible to get 2 sim cards?
    By SplitInfiniti in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2004, 03:24 PM
  3. Is it still possible to get a NEW v60ci from Telus?
    By ggweci in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-18-2003, 11:49 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-20-2003, 12:56 PM
  5. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-23-2002, 06:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks