Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Will My AT&T Phone work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    507
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0

    Will My AT&T Phone work

    i have an unlocked AT&T Galaxy Note 4 i would like to use
    with TMobile. their webpage says phones need LTE bands
    2,4,12. my Note has 2,4,12 but AT&T for some reason
    disabled band 12 so only 2 and 4 work.

    will i have any issues or problems ?
    " The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of a low price has faded from memory" > Aldo Gucci

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    152
    Feedback Score
    0
    https://willmyphonework.net

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    507
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    that doesn't really help because it assumes band 12 is functional just because it has it but AT&T disabled it in the software.

    what will I be missing by not having band 12 ?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,487
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by parishmc View Post
    that doesn't really help because it assumes band 12 is functional just because it has it but AT&T disabled it in the software.

    what will I be missing by not having band 12 ?
    It really depends on your area. Band 12 is generally used for rural coverage or to improve in-building penetration in urban areas. If your area is covered well by band 2 & 4, you may not miss it at all. You could always try it out with a prepaid card in areas that you frequent before making the full switch.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    362
    Feedback Score
    0
    Depends where you are or where you go. If you are in an area where band 12 is deployed you'll be missing out on some coverage. Indoor coverage will suffer some. It will still work on bands 2 and 4 just won't be as robust of coverage. If your area doesn't have band 12 you won't be missing a thing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    2,386
    Device(s)
    LG G4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by parishmc View Post
    that doesn't really help because it assumes band 12 is functional just because it has it but AT&T disabled it in the software.

    what will I be missing by not having band 12 ?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
    It all depends where you live with Band 12. In my area almost 30% of all T-Mobile towers are Band 12. Band 12 has the most ability to penetrate building. I couldn't handle not having Band 12 but my old non-Band 12 phone still worked for the most part outside but not inside commercial building very well without Band 12.

    Also, where you live could have T-Mobile's new Band 66 that your phone would be missing (HERE) as well as the new LTE-U/LAA spectrum from small cells.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,336
    Device(s)
    Le Pro3 / Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    MintSIM/Red Pocket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I frequently see Band 12 pop up in regions and interiors of buildings where signal is weak on the other bands. In many places in Michigan it's the ONLY band available so it depends on the area.

    I think most will say if you're using T-Mobile you should really have a Band 12 device. The coverage map would be considerably smaller without it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,020
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    What's the exact model number of your phone (e.g. N910W8)?
    What does it show if you dial *#2263# ? Is band 12 listed among the LTE choices?
    Donald Newcomb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    507
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    it says "RAT selection option is restricted"

    phone is model SM-N910A

    it physically has band 12 but it is disabled by AT&T




    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,020
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by parishmc View Post
    it says "RAT selection option is restricted"

    phone is model SM-N910A

    it physically has band 12 but it is disabled by AT&T
    Some people know about flashing T-Mobile firmware versions to other carriers' Samsung phones. I have no experience with that. This sort of crippling is why I've come to dislike Samsung.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    507
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    Some people know about flashing T-Mobile firmware versions to other carriers' Samsung phones. I have no experience with that. This sort of crippling is why I've come to dislike Samsung.

    yeah flashing requires Root and AT&T locked the Bootloader, AT&T really ruined the Note 4 !
    it supports hotspot tethering and wifi calling but they will only work on AT&T's network.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7,768
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's one reason I hate carrier branded phones in some ways. I bought a used k10 (att branded) that has b12 but it never picks it up. Ive always wondered if it's blocked. My friends iPhone picks it up fine 2 feet away but mine doesn't. Plus I haven't been able to get WiFi calling to work on it with anyone other than att.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,020
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    P.S. If the phone is not compatible with T-Mobile's VoLTE, you may have a lot of problems in some markets. (e.g. NYC). T-Mobile is either moving UMTS back to the AWS band or going all-LTE with a very thin GSM layer running in the PCS LTE guard-bands. There have been numerous complaints recently from people with BYODs and older phones in some markets, who didn't know about the change. I don't think T-Mobile was really proactive about letting customers know about this.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    59
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a band 12 phone and my girlfriend does not. We have traveled all over the US and I've yet to see any appreciable difference.
    T-Mobile ONE - Three unlimited lines for for $80

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    507
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 8
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sorinut View Post
    I have a band 12 phone and my girlfriend does not. We have traveled all over the US and I've yet to see any appreciable difference.

    fantastic....thanks !

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AIO: Will an AT&T locked phone work?
    By silentdaze in forum AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone)
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 02-10-2014, 04:07 AM
  2. Will my At&t sims card work in a prepaid go phone?
    By kawaii81 in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 09:13 PM
  3. Will my Motorola V710 data cable work for my I830 Phone?
    By Silverlex02 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-11-2005, 03:05 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2004, 05:31 AM
  5. Will my AT&T S56 work with TMobile?
    By King_James_III in forum Siemens
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-16-2003, 12:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks