Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: iPhone upgrade options

Device(s)
    iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score

iPhone upgrade options

Here is my situation. I have 4 lines with AT&T. I usually upgrade when the new iPhone is released and pass my device down to one of my family members. My line is currently on the AT&T NEXT plan (upgraded to iPhone 7 last September). The other 3 lines are all upgrade eligible. This is my first time with the NEXT plan, so please bear with me. What is the best/smoothest option to set myself up for the next iPhone? Payoff device before the new iPhone is released so my line is upgrade eligible? I prefer to upgrade via the Apple app, not through AT&T. I did a "dummy" iPhone 7 upgrade on the Apple app and the only option is contract free pricing. How long does it take for Apple's system to pick up that device was paid in full at AT&T?

Device(s)
    iPhone 4S, Moto Atrix, Galaxy Nexus LTE
    Carrier(s)
    ATT (Jan 2004-Current), Tmobile Oct 2007-Current, Sprint 1997-2004, Aerial Communications 1996
    Feedback Score
    Att next "upgrades" are not real "upgrades" cause you are essentially paying full price for the iPhone. If you pay it off "early" on att next u can always be eligible for another "upgrade"

Now what do you actually want to with ur old iPhones? If you intent is to trade it in with att next. Essentially you would need to pay off at least the equivalent of 60-70% of the msrp to trade it in. Don't get confused with 18 months, 24 or 30 months att "next". You are still paying full price for the phone but att tries to make the phones cheaper by spreading the payments.

The real key to att next is att calculates how much the phone needs to be paid off to trade it in. Which is normally the equivalent of 60-70% regardless of how many months you finance it.

Now. There are always promo running all the time on att next.