Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can't link target numbers to more than one GV number

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,384
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Can't link target numbers to more than one GV number

    In the past it was possible to have 2 different gv numbers forward to the same number by specifying the target differently on each account. Target number could be listed as mobile on one gv account and home on another.

    Tried doing the same today, but get the following error.



    Did they finally close this loophole?
    ====================================
    UPDATE

    I should clarify. Target number is listed as a mobile number in the primary gv account. It didn't matter what the number was listed as in the secondary account. The above error appeared.

    By changing it to any type other than mobile in the primary account allowed it to be added in the secondary. I don't recall this being the behavior, but at least it still works.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    385
    Device(s)
    Too many to list
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,
    Feedback Score
    0
    AFAIK, Google Voice has always limited linked numbers marked as mobile to a single GV number. This has been my experience since the transition from Grand Central. Home or Work designations allow two GV accounts to be linked to a number.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    2,754
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); Moto G (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I never experimented fully with this as I don't have the need, but one other way to do this (at least under the previous generation of the GV app), was to add the phone to the secondary as a 'Temporary' number, which only worked for voice calls. This is done (or was; don't know if it can still be configured) exclusively by calling the secondary GV number from the desired phone (it could be any type) and getting into the Settings through the audible phone selection menu. This was a feature intended to make forwarding to a phone number that might have been a last minute impromptu convenience, like showing up at a vacation cabin or relative's house with a landline (for instance). I've got it set up with my secondary GV account and it works, and shows up in the 'Legacy' GV interface as Temporary Number. I haven't seen any place for it in the new UI. Pretty limited.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 10:01 AM
  2. Can I sync BB to more than one computer?
    By TXLady in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 04:20 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 02:10 PM
  4. Sending messages to more than one person
    By DaDebster in forum Samsung
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 05:57 PM
  5. Pairing a Bluetooth headset to more than one device
    By Wired69 in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 11:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks