Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Lycamobile - phone rings once and goes straight to voicemail

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0

    Lycamobile - phone rings once and goes straight to voicemail

    Called customer service and they asked me to do couple things:

    Code:
    follow the below procedure to search network manually Setting -> More settings -> Mobile network -> Network Operator -> Manual It will start searching for network and then select Lycamobile or T-Mobile.
    Another solution was to dial *185# to cancel the voicemail and then enable it by dialing 121 later.

    Finally, had to escalate to the technical team but there is no ETA - could take 24 hours or more!

    any suggestions that I can try in the meantime? Am not getting any calls - even though it rings once, only the calling person hears that - i can't hear anything but only get a missed call notification(via text)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    it's been almost 48 hours and am getting the usual run around from Lycamobile Customer Service. Their customer service is horrible and am getting frustrated to the point am considering switching to another provider.

    Do we have a Lycamobile moderator on this forum?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    Lycamobile is telling me that my Samsung Note 4 phone is incompatible since T-mobile has turned off 3G service. Is this true?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    152
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tampaite View Post
    Lycamobile is telling me that my Samsung Note 4 phone is incompatible since T-mobile has turned off 3G service. Is this true?
    It is true that Lycamobile is going (or already did it) to blacklist your phone. It is not true that your phone is incompatible with Lycamobile. My old T-Mobile phone was blacklisted few weeks after Lycamobile sent text message indicating that the phone will stop working on Lycamobile network and stopped to recognize Lycamobile SIM card (while recognizing all other SIM cards). I intended to use it on 2G Lycamobile Network but it was impossible because of blacklisting.

    Lycamobile blacklisted (probably by IMEI but not sure) all T-Mobile branded 3G phones that have 3G Band 2 1900 MHz but do not have 3G Band 4 1700 MHz despite the fact that these phones can still be used on T-Mobile/Lycamobile 2G GSM network. The proof: old 2G Nokia phones work fine with Lycamobile SIM for voice and text (no internet, of course). ATT 3G phones that do not have Band 4 also work fine with Lycamobile SIM for voice and text. Only T-Mobile branded phones that do not have 3G Band 4 but have 3G Band 2 are banned from using in Lycamobile. What's interesting, T-Mobile itself does not blacklist these phones, you can insert T-Mobile SIM card into your Samsung Note 4 and it will work fine on T-Mobile 2G network for voice and text.

    I contacted LM support regarding this issue one week ago, got ticket number but no response yet.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    so am a bit lost. Looks like I have to buy another handset but which one that has a Micro SIM slot? I bought the Note 4 on eBay for $120 few months ago. Is there anything comparable to Note 4 in that price range?

    Please let me know once you hear back from LM support.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RFK View Post

    Lycamobile blacklisted (probably by IMEI but not sure)
    They likely did as i changed plans several days ago...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Southeastern Michigan
    Posts
    525
    Device(s)
    Samsung A157
    Carrier(s)
    LycaMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RFK View Post
    It is true that Lycamobile is going (or already did it) to blacklist your phone. It is not true that your phone is incompatible with Lycamobile. My old T-Mobile phone was blacklisted few weeks after Lycamobile sent text message indicating that the phone will stop working on Lycamobile network and stopped to recognize Lycamobile SIM card (while recognizing all other SIM cards). I intended to use it on 2G Lycamobile Network but it was impossible because of blacklisting.
    What were the symptoms that your phone was blacklisted?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    Looks like rather than buying another phone, I can instead switch to Red Pocket which has comparable plan(except data is hard capped).

    Any suggestions on Red Pocket service?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    152
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Virgin man View Post
    What were the symptoms that your phone was blacklisted?
    The phone does not recognize Lycamobile SIM (and only Lycamobile SIMs, all other SIMS are OK). "Insert SIM" message displayed on the phone for any Lycamobile SIM card.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    152
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tampaite View Post
    so am a bit lost. Looks like I have to buy another handset but which one that has a Micro SIM slot? I bought the Note 4 on eBay for $120 few months ago. Is there anything comparable to Note 4 in that price range?

    Please let me know once you hear back from LM support.
    Moto E4: https://www.amazon.com/Moto-4th-Gene...ywords=moto+E4

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Southeastern Michigan
    Posts
    525
    Device(s)
    Samsung A157
    Carrier(s)
    LycaMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RFK View Post
    The phone does not recognize Lycamobile SIM (and only Lycamobile SIMs, all other SIMS are OK). "Insert SIM" message displayed on the phone for any Lycamobile SIM card.
    Thank you. I was wondering because several weeks ago we were in Portland, Oregon, and our unlocked Samsung A157 phones with Lycamobile Plus sims displayed "Phone not allowed MM#6". However, when we returned to southeast Michigan, the phones started working again.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RFK View Post
    The phone does not recognize Lycamobile SIM (and only Lycamobile SIMs, all other SIMS are OK). "Insert SIM" message displayed on the phone for any Lycamobile SIM card.
    well, so my phone isn't blacklisted as it still recognizes the SIM but am still unable to get incoming calls so far.

    Day 3 and counting....

    I tested the SIM with an old Moto Razr phone and able to get incoming calls so it's definitely something to do with Galaxy Note 4 not being able to support the frequency or Lycamobile unable to provide support to the frequencies that Note 4 works with.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    Finally...Finally..after so many trial and error method was able to change from LTE to 2G on N910A model.

    Dial *#2263# and select option [7] - this did the trick and am able to receive incoming calls now. The network icon changes to E now.

    I rate Lycamobile customer service and technical service teams as POOR as I spent countless hours trying to find the solution on my own...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    94
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by e.mote View Post

    Hmm, you said you have the 910A model, which is the Note 4 AT&T variant. It looks to have the necessary bands, but posssible that there is compatibility issue with a TMO MVNO (Lyca).

    http://samsung.com/us/mobile/cell-ph...0AZKEATT-specs

    .
    This link clearly shows that Note 4 does not support Band 4 1700 MHz.

Similar Threads

  1. Touch rings once and goes to voicemail
    By firepaws in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 07:48 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 04:16 PM
  3. 6682- only ring once and goes to voicemail
    By bellaroxio in forum Nokia
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-16-2005, 10:14 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-12-2003, 04:54 PM
  5. Help: phones rings once and diverted to VM...
    By Frosty Vibe in forum Fido
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2003, 11:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks