Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50

Thread: Should any Prepaid ATT phone work with any ATT MVNO?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    326
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    PureTalk
    Feedback Score
    0

    Should any Prepaid ATT phone work with any ATT MVNO?

    I have been with Pure Talk for a little more than a year and it's perfect for my needs. As you know, it uses the ATT network and I have yet to be without a signal. Now I'm thinking of upgrading my phone and I'd like to know whether I could buy pretty much any ATT Prepaid phone (GoPhone, Straight Talk, Cricket), pop in my Pure Talk sim card and be good to go. I don't mind the phone not being unlocked as I'm happy with ATT's towers. But will it work or am I locked to the specific MVNO associated with the phone?

    Does anyone know for certain? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,196
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7, LG G Stylo 3 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Red Pocket-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cutter44 View Post
    I have been with Pure Talk for a little more than a year and it's perfect for my needs. As you know, it uses the ATT network and I have yet to be without a signal. Now I'm thinking of upgrading my phone and I'd like to know whether I could buy pretty much any ATT Prepaid phone (GoPhone, Straight Talk, Cricket), pop in my Pure Talk sim card and be good to go. I don't mind the phone not being unlocked as I'm happy with ATT's towers. But will it work or am I locked to the specific MVNO associated with the phone?

    Does anyone know for certain? Thanks.
    No. You'd only be able to use AT&T Prepaid or any unlocked phone.

    Straight talk locks there phones down from doing so. And cricket uses a different network ID meaning you'd first need to buy and unlock code.

    Also with cricket to buy the phone you must also buy a month of service.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Phone: AT&T iPhone 7 128GB Gold
    867-5309 Line: LG G Stylo 3 Plus

    I am no longer a U.S.Cellular User.
    Speedtest in Knox.TN EvDo Rev.A

    My Photography www.hunterspad.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    326
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    PureTalk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply. The phone I'm looking at is an actual ATT Prepaid phone (formerly GoPhone), so I guess you're saying that won't work with my PureTalk sim, either?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,196
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7, LG G Stylo 3 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Red Pocket-A
    Feedback Score
    0

    Should any Prepaid ATT phone work with any ATT MVNO?

    Quote Originally Posted by cutter44 View Post
    Thanks for the quick reply. The phone I'm looking at is an actual ATT Prepaid phone (formerly GoPhone), so I guess you're saying that won't work with my PureTalk sim, either?
    Yes. Go Phones will work fine as long as it's being used on some sort of AT&T MVNO. Just not cricket or straight talk phones.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    326
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    PureTalk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ah...I'm glad I checked. Thanks. Do you know if I'd even have to activate the new phone or can I just pop in my PureTalk sim card?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,555
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cutter44 View Post
    Ah...I'm glad I checked. Thanks. Do you know if I'd even have to activate the new phone or can I just pop in my PureTalk sim card?
    Plug and play!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    642
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also, don't turn the Gophone on with the AT&T SIM in it before you request AT&T to unlock it for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    326
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    PureTalk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Plug and play is what I like to hear. Thanks!

    And prof68, I don't care about unlocking it (yet). I'll put my PureTalk sim in before I even turn it on.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by prof68 View Post
    Also, don't turn the Gophone on with the AT&T SIM in it before you request AT&T to unlock it for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I just bought the iPhone SE ATT go phone version. I didn't put the att sim in it. Opened the phone and put my tracfone sim in. Can I request and unlock for it bc I didn't put the att sim in?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,196
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7, LG G Stylo 3 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Red Pocket-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Parker5011 View Post
    I just bought the iPhone SE ATT go phone version. I didn't put the att sim in it. Opened the phone and put my tracfone sim in. Can I request and unlock for it bc I didn't put the att sim in?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    You won't know until you try. It's a 50/50


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    642
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Parker5011 View Post
    I just bought the iPhone SE ATT go phone version. I didn't put the att sim in it. Opened the phone and put my tracfone sim in. Can I request and unlock for it bc I didn't put the att sim in?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I think the unlocking is only valid with Android phones. But make the request and let us know.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,547
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by prof68 View Post
    Also, don't turn the Gophone on with the AT&T SIM in it before you request AT&T to unlock it for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by prof68 View Post
    I think the unlocking is only valid with Android phones. But make the request and let us know.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I think you're wrong. When was the last time you tried to do this?

    Based on all recent reports I've read, AT&T stopped unlocking any GoPhones several months ago, unless they are used on AT&T prepaid for 6+ months. It won't hurt to try the unlock process; just don't get your hopes up.

    I'll be happy if I'm wrong, but the above is what I've read recently about attempts to have AT&T GoPhones unlocked immediately.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    642
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh okay, back in January I think.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,547
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by prof68 View Post
    Oh okay, back in January I think.
    Yeah. AT&T easily and quickly unlocked my LG Phoenix 2 in March, 2017. But the changes I mentioned above apparently happened after that.

    If I see another great deal on another AT&T GoPhone, such as the $30 deal for my LG Phoenix 2, I'll certainly try again.

    But I'll make sure to buy from a place with a good return policy/no restocking fee, and I'll make the unlock request before opening the package!
    Vzw-$9.99/mo+$0.25/min 1999-2001
    PagePlus-2001-2015
    LycaMobile-v1 2013-2016
    Selectel-2013-2015
    Puppy-2014
    Tracfone-2015-2016
    TruPhone-2015-
    Red Pocket-2016-2017
    Piranha-2016-
    FreedomPop-GSM 2016-
    T-Mo-Data 2017-

    Ericsson AF738 Jul01-Dec03
    Qualcomm QCP 2760 Dec03-Feb08
    LG VX-8600 Feb08-Apr10
    Samsung Omnia SCH-i910 Apr10-Nov11
    HTC Droid Inc ADR6300 (CM7.2) Nov11-Jun13
    HTC Droid Inc 2 ADR6350 (CM7.2) Jun13-May15
    LG G2 VS980 (Rooted) May15-Apr17
    LG Phoenix 2 Mar17-

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    563
    Feedback Score
    0
    It depends on what you find in the way of specials. I got a Cricket Escape 3 really on sale and even with paying for one month of Cricket service and an unlock code through E-bay feel that I got a good value. It has worked just fine on Pure Talk.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-13-2013, 11:23 AM
  2. can any unlock cell phone work with metro pcs company?
    By morfeojuno in forum Sony Ericsson Phone/Equipment Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-21-2012, 04:31 PM
  3. Do any Verizon BT phones work with Uniden ELBT 595?
    By michy44 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 10:10 PM
  4. Do any Verizon BT phones work with Uniden ELBT 595?
    By michy44 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 04:17 PM
  5. 6230i GAIT phone work with any account?
    By Aaron662c in forum AT&T
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2005, 04:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks