I drove 17 hours total and 1000 miles round-trip to Loudon Tn to see 2.5 minutes of total eclipse. I had and have cognitive dissonance about the effort and expense vs reward. I'm an amateur astronomer so I sort of had to do it.

Traveling from Virginia, we were on I64, I81, I75. I don't think we were ever out of sight of huge cell towers. I counted six platforms on some of them. Shentel and USCC are a thing down there. We had Verizon and AT&T and they worked fine all the way. We even had cell service out in the very rural area West of Loudon.

I had a AT&T Mobley Connected Car. It worked fine. We didn't really need it with plenty of mobile data on our phones and tablets. Just for fun, the passenger live streamed the DC local news video while we were cruising along the interminable highway. At one hotel the Wifi password access did not work. At 11 pm after driving for hours, I did not feel like calling the 800 number to try to sort it out. I got the Mobley out of the car and it was faster than hotel Wifi anyway. I saw a max of 23 Mbps at one hotel. That's plenty to do email, web browse and check the TV guide and weather.

The eclipse itself: The weather was perfectly clear. It was impressive and I enjoyed it, but I wouldn't call it a life-changing experience. It didn't get as dark as I expected. I only saw one planet, Venus to the West, and no stars. That was cool enough. Venus is visible in the attached image.

Speaking of cool, a few minutes before during and after the total eclipse, it did get cool enough to be pleasant. Otherwise, it was a sweat-fest. Between the sunscreen, bug spray and perspiration, I stunk bad.