Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Did T-Mobile just make some changes to their LTE in NYC?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,090
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    At least your phone can fall back to U1700 (WCDMA band-4).
    Calls are dropping and saying "failed"
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________



    Speed achieved using T-Mobile Samsung GS2

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,197
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by terryjohnson16 View Post
    Calls are dropping and saying "failed"
    Could be that one block of U1700 isn't enough to handle the demand.
    Donald Newcomb

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,090
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    Could be that one block of U1700 isn't enough to handle the demand.
    Tmobile's answer was they doing tower maintenance and upgrades and to give them a week. lol.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Posts
    12,082
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus Grey 128Gb
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by terryjohnson16 View Post
    Tmobile's answer was they doing tower maintenance and upgrades and to give them a week. lol.
    You shouldn't have to suffer like this Terry. You should port your line over to AT&T immediately! LOL
    Hartford, CT Area

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,090
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post
    You shouldn't have to suffer like this Terry. You should port your line over to AT&T immediately! LOL
    Lol. Old buddy. Come on over to magenta.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Posts
    12,082
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus Grey 128Gb
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by terryjohnson16 View Post
    Lol. Old buddy. Come on over to magenta.
    Lol how you been Terry? Did T-Mobile finally fix the problem in New York City?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    434
    Device(s)
    BB Passport and BB Priv
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mo '01-'07, ATT '07-'17, T-Mo '17-
    Feedback Score
    0
    Terry,
    How is your service now? Is iPhone capable of selecting bands manually?

    Also, could someone please let me know the exact bands T-Mobile is using these days? I always thought any phone with
    Band 2 (700)
    Band 4
    Band 12 (1900)

    and
    1900 for 3G

    would be OK on T-Mo, but am I wrong?

    But when I check the bands on WMPW? website, it says (Band 4-AWS, Band 2 and 12) for LTE and (AWS, 1900) for 3G.
    What exactly is AWS? Are there other (Band 4)'s?

    After this experience, I am trying to be more careful when buying other carrier's phones or even unlocked phones to use on T-Mobile.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    434
    Device(s)
    BB Passport and BB Priv
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mo '01-'07, ATT '07-'17, T-Mo '17-
    Feedback Score
    0
    After few restarts, the phone lost LTE altogether, I had to go back to the code, select Automatic, exit and then go back and select LTE/GSM Only again for it to get LTE back, and then simply fall back to Edge when making calls.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    531
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Work / T-Mobile (iPhone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IheartBB10 View Post
    Also, could someone please let me know the exact bands T-Mobile is using these days? I always thought any phone with
    Band 2 (700)
    Band 4
    Band 12 (1900)

    and
    1900 for 3G

    would be OK on T-Mo, but am I wrong?

    But when I check the bands on WMPW? website, it says (Band 4-AWS, Band 2 and 12) for LTE and (AWS, 1900) for 3G.
    What exactly is AWS? Are there other (Band 4)'s?

    After this experience, I am trying to be more careful when buying other carrier's phones or even unlocked phones to use on T-Mobile.
    Your LTE bands are correct, but the frequencies are reversed:

    LTE Band 2 is 1900 (aka PCS)
    LTE Band 4 is 1700 up/2100 down (aka AWS)
    LTE Band 12 is 700

    3G is on Bands 2 and 4 (those bands are parlty 3G and partly LTE across the country).

    Years ago T-Mobile has 2G on 1900 and rolled out 3G on Band 4. When they added LTE they used Band 4 and pushed some/most/all of 3G to Band 2, depending on geography. What they appear to be doing now is adding LTE to Band 2 and shutting down 3G on Band 2, and leaving a sliver of 2G on Band 2 for legacy calling. So what being discussed here is that some other carrier devices don't have Band 4 3G, which makes them incompatible with the Band 2 migration to LTE and the move of 3G back to Band 4.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    De Soto
    Posts
    238
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 3 (with FM Radio), iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IheartBB10 View Post
    Terry,
    How is your service now? Is iPhone capable of selecting bands manually?

    Also, could someone please let me know the exact bands T-Mobile is using these days? I always thought any phone with
    Band 2 (700)
    Band 4
    Band 12 (1900)

    and
    1900 for 3G

    would be OK on T-Mo, but am I wrong?

    But when I check the bands on WMPW? website, it says (Band 4-AWS, Band 2 and 12) for LTE and (AWS, 1900) for 3G.
    What exactly is AWS? Are there other (Band 4)'s?

    After this experience, I am trying to be more careful when buying other carrier's phones or even unlocked phones to use on T-Mobile.
    AWS is ADVANCED WIRELESS SERVICE
    B2 (1900) PCS
    B4 (1700/2100) AWS
    B5 (850) CLR
    B12/17 (700) SMH

    Sent from my LG-K371 using HoFo mobile app

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Boom! Mobile making drastic changes to some plans
    By resucami in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-18-2017, 12:20 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 11:37 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2009, 01:59 PM
  4. i want to make some changes to my tilt
    By closet410 in forum HTC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 08:46 AM
  5. Just grabbed a K1, need to make some changes...
    By aleks007 in forum Motorola Modding
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-02-2008, 04:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks