Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 66

Thread: Rogers LTE advanced coverage

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    304
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    But regarding the main topic of this forum I def agree with you that they need to expand LTE advanced and even just native coverage in general especially in Newfoundland! I'm just saying I don't think I'd ever switch back to Bell personally haha

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    108
    Device(s)
    ZTE Grand X 4
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by popperdela View Post
    Honestly if anyone is not on a Corporate plan with Rogers, they should just go to Bell or Telus or one of their smaller carriers.
    +1

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app
    Damn!

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    108
    Device(s)
    ZTE Grand X 4
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by newfoundlander1 View Post
    Been there done that. Lol. Their prices are too ridiculous for me to justify it. Here in NL Rogers bundle prices are awesome, speeds are more than fast enough for what I need and they roam on Bell outside of their coverage area free of charge. Plus I always have gotten deals in store here better than their advertised prices online on phones & even cases.

    Not sure that I'd be so quick to count Rogers out as an option completely! Just my 2 cents!
    For most consumer level plans, the difference is <$5, don't get me wrong, I'm all about giving these F**** the least amount of money as possible, but to me, that $5 is worth the significant reliability difference (Bell Telus > Rogers) however if Rogers works well in your area, go for it

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    Name:  Screenshot_20170921-165621.png
Views: 191
Size:  348.7 KBName:  Screenshot_20170921-165837.png
Views: 202
Size:  785.5 KB

    This is the fastest speed I've ever seen on the Rogers network. The band in total is 35 MHz which is the most I've seen it at.

    Im wondering if this is the max capacity available of the network? Also does the same go for Bellus network?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    860
    Feedback Score
    0
    20 MHz + 15 MHz would be 260 Mbps, assuming 64QAM and 2x2 MIMO.

    Bell/Telus have 75 MHz with 256QAM, with peak speeds close to 750 Mbps.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    812
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Max bw I can get on my S7 on Rogers is B2-4-12 (15+20+5) 40Mhz (or B4+7). The network supports 256qam as well in certain areas with the above combo (like metro Vancouver). No 4x4 MIMO...

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    860
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks zivan! So in that case max speeds are 400 Mbps for 40 MHz with 256QAM.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    75 MHz on Bellus!!!!!

    40 MHz was introduced in 2015

    https://mobilesyrup.com/2015/01/26/r...-lte-advanced/

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    Name:  Screen Shot 2017-09-23 at 6.15.51 PM.png
Views: 149
Size:  62.5 KB


  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,079
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers LTE advanced coverage

    I think part of the problem is that Rogers still relies on and supports their 2G network. They’ve reduced the number of 2G channels by a significant amount over the years but they haven’t decommissioned any of it yet. That’s one area where they can quickly regain and refarm a lot of spectrum for LTE. I’ve heard excuses about them still using 2G for M2M but that’s not necessarily true. Most M2M utilizes 3G HSPA these days. Rogers has a plethora of spectrum...they could easily improve network quality if they put it to good use. I wouldn’t even argue that their backhaul is not sufficient...they have fibre (granted, not as extensive as Bellus) and a very good high capacity microwave solution nearly everywhere now.

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    108
    Device(s)
    ZTE Grand X 4
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    I think part of the problem is that Rogers still relies on and supports their 2G network. They’ve reduced the number of 2G channels by a significant amount over the years but they haven’t decommissioned any of it yet. That’s one area where they can quickly regain and refarm a lot of spectrum for LTE. I’ve heard excuses about them still using 2G for M2M but that’s not necessarily true. Most M2M utilizes 3G HSPA these days. Rogers has a plethora of spectrum...they could easily improve network quality if they put it to good use. I wouldn’t even argue that their backhaul is not sufficient...they have fibre (granted, not as extensive as Bellus) and a very good high capacity microwave solution nearly everywhere now.
    I'd bet the majority of 2G usage is commercial customers

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,548
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by qag01 View Post
    I'd bet the majority of 2G usage is commercial customers

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app
    There's a lot of alarm systems and such that rely on 2G...

    I'm not sure, but maybe even OnStar?

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app
    --------------------------------
    Un petit d'un petit
    S'étonne aux Halles
    Un petit d'un petit
    Ah! degrés te fallent

    Old French Proverb from the book of; Mots D'Heures Gousses Rames

    (I am the Stig!)

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    860
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think OnStar is Bell CDMA.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,079
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Most alarm companies now use 3G. OnStar is still Bell last I heard.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    144
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, Telus, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    From what I understand OnStar is sunsetting their Bell CDMA (along with Bell) and moving things over to LTE, from what I understand their carrier here is AT&T's roaming (so all of Robellus). I think Toronto's parking meters and other basic utility reading still goes thru 2G, as well as the dwindling handful of 2G only roamers and customers holding onto 2G phones

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Rogers launches LTE-Advanced
    By howard in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 72
    Last Post: 12-31-2014, 11:13 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-17-2014, 07:13 PM
  3. Plans Rogers LTE coverage
    By rudiboy in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-25-2012, 01:04 PM
  4. Rogers LTE Coverage Map Updated and Expanded
    By TotalDistinction in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 12:27 PM
  5. Anyone notice that Rogers LTE coverage has increased?
    By howard in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 01:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks