Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: New Moto G5 on AT&T Prepaid

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    426
    Feedback Score
    0

    New Moto G5 on AT&T Prepaid

    I just switched from a Moto G4 Plus to a 5G Plus. I have an issue where the phone keeps shifting between LTE and 3G every so often when the signal is a strong LTE. My Moto 4G Plus does not do this in the same location nor does my work IPhone on AT&T. I moved the Sim from the 4G to the 5G.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using HoFo mobile app

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    Motorola MOTO G, Iphone 6 On VZW (Wife's)
    Carrier(s)
    GoPhone, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    That is strange. I'm pretty sure the G4 & G5 have the same bands so it could be that you have a defective device. That would be my best guess. The thing is, I'm not sure how you could definitively verify that it's a defective device other than moving your SIM to another device which you have already done. Unless you know someone else with a Moto G5 that you could try with your SIM card.
    Last edited by Dust N Bones; 09-04-2017 at 07:39 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation
    Posts
    9,284
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, Droid Turbo 2, Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Changes often
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    I just switched from a Moto G4 Plus to a 5G Plus. I have an issue where the phone keeps shifting between LTE and 3G every so often when the signal is a strong LTE. My Moto 4G Plus does not do this in the same location nor does my work IPhone on AT&T. I moved the Sim from the 4G to the 5G.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using HoFo mobile app
    I had a similar issue with a G5 on the T-Mobile network.

    A network reset (it's in the Backup & Reset Menu) solved it.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    Motorola MOTO G, Iphone 6 On VZW (Wife's)
    Carrier(s)
    GoPhone, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    I just switched from a Moto G4 Plus to a 5G Plus. I have an issue where the phone keeps shifting between LTE and 3G every so often when the signal is a strong LTE. My Moto 4G Plus does not do this in the same location nor does my work IPhone on AT&T. I moved the Sim from the 4G to the 5G.
    Did you try BillM's suggestion? I'm just curious if that resolved the issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    426
    Feedback Score
    0
    It resolved itself. I put the Sim in the G5 about 6am. The cell signal kept going away and when I had it the data was 3G. I put it back into the 4G no issue. I put it back into the 5G and by noon I kept a solid signal flipping between 3G and LTE. By 5 pm all was fine. It was like AT&T was having issues with the new IMEI. I have swapped many phones on a number of different flavors of AT&T and T-Mobile with never an issue.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2006, 12:48 PM
  2. Any new moto's on the horizon?
    By SexyHolly in forum Motorola
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-31-2005, 03:09 AM
  3. Nextels new Moto Smart Phone at CTIA
    By AllGlobaltk in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 12:14 AM
  4. New firmware supplied on AT&T v600
    By riptorn in forum AT&T
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 07:01 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2003, 02:51 AM

Bookmarks