Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Freedom Mobile messed up and enabled all 10gb plans to have LTE.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    662
    Feedback Score
    0

    Freedom Mobile messed up and enabled all 10gb plans to have LTE.

    I have Smartphone 50 with double your data. Few weeks ago I noticed I could roam on LTE. Same time they introduced that one day sale for 10gb on LTE.

    Today I bought Moto E4 for my step father and I was wondering if it would work with my Sim and guess what, it does! I'm getting LTE on my Smartphone 50 plan.

    Now will Freedom fix this or let it slide because it's a big mistake and there is no real technical reasons for it.

    Please see links below for proof of LTE and LTE roaming.


    FYI, I am on the smartphone 50 with 10gb with double your data.

    Freedom Mobile LTE speed test https://i.imgur.com/KHEeL70.png

    Freedom Mobile LTE https://i.imgur.com/7fK8zjO.png

    Telus Roaming http://i.imgur.com/NMA7o0t.png

    Rogers Roaming http://i.imgur.com/k1CxWdm.png

    AT&T Roaming http://i.imgur.com/jALJPef.png

    Telus LTE speed test http://i.imgur.com/5aUGnj1.jpg

    AT&T LTE Roaming http://i.imgur.com/Hrb0rHa.jpg

    My Freedom 3g plan http://i.imgur.com/hu1SoL2.png




    Sent from my Pixel XL using HoFo mobile app
    Freedom Mobile: Everywhere Canada 100 (20gb) - 35% + $20 Ready To Go, US = $85 + TAX

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cowtown AB
    Posts
    384
    Device(s)
    BB Priv
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom 39
    Feedback Score
    0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    662
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jwslam View Post
    No, Windsor and LTE doesn't work on band 4, only band 66 in Windsor. Also this happen the exact same time the 10gb LTE promo came out (For 1 day)

    Sent from my Pixel XL using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,206
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Smartphone 50 as in the grandfathered plan, came with 10GB?

    You activated a new account & line on the $50 LTE Everywhere last weekend, no?
    They gave you a new P6 SIM, and you'd have a new IMSI.
    Afterwards you got loyalty to give you the same grandfathered 10GB plan on the new line?

    It's likely the P6 & IMSI that grants you LTE access on the Freedom towers.
    There's nothing to indicate all 10GB grandfathered plans are getting LTE.
    Unless someone else is on an old 10GB plan, original SIM & IMSI, and gets LTE.
    (not that there'd be that many)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    662
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Smartphone 50 as in the grandfathered plan, came with 10GB?

    You activated a new account & line on the $50 LTE Everywhere last weekend, no?
    They gave you a new P6 SIM, and you'd have a new IMSI.
    Afterwards you got loyalty to give you the same grandfathered 10GB plan on the new line?

    I'm thinking the P6 & IMSI is what grants LTE access on the Freedom towers.
    There's nothing to indicate all 10GB grandfathered plans are getting LTE.
    Unless someone else is on that 10GB plan, old SIM & same IMSI, and gets LTE.
    (not that there'd be that many)
    Are you telling me once you go LTE, you can't go back to 3g?
    Last edited by emann56; 09-08-2017 at 04:03 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    206
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by emann56 View Post
    Are you telling me once you go LTE, you can't go back to 3g?
    Not comment OP, BTW, but I think you can go back to 3G, considering they still do offer 3G plans ($25 T&T, $40 10gb). It looks to me like you got whitelisted for LTE when you flip flopped plans, and the system glitched so you didn't get added back to the blacklist. I wouldn't be surprised if it got corrected at some point, but enjoy it while you can!

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app
    Damn!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    662
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by qag01 View Post
    Not comment OP, BTW, but I think you can go back to 3G, considering they still do offer 3G plans ($25 T&T, $40 10gb). It looks to me like you got whitelisted for LTE when you flip flopped plans, and the system glitched so you didn't get added back to the blacklist. I wouldn't be surprised if it got corrected at some point, but enjoy it while you can!

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app
    I assumed it was because the 10gb LTE came out for 1 day and whitelisted all the 10gb plans but I guess I was wrong.

    Sent from my Moto E (4) using HoFo mobile app

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    618
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by emann56 View Post
    I have Smartphone 50 with double your data. Few weeks ago I noticed I could roam on LTE. Same time they introduced that one day sale for 10gb on LTE.

    Today I bought Moto E4 for my step father and I was wondering if it would work with my Sim and guess what, it does! I'm getting LTE on my Smartphone 50 plan.

    Now will Freedom fix this or let it slide because it's a big mistake and there is no real technical reasons for it.

    Please see links below for proof of LTE and LTE roaming.


    FYI, I am on the smartphone 50 with 10gb with double your data.

    Freedom Mobile LTE speed test https://i.imgur.com/KHEeL70.png

    Freedom Mobile LTE https://i.imgur.com/7fK8zjO.png

    Telus Roaming http://i.imgur.com/NMA7o0t.png

    Rogers Roaming http://i.imgur.com/k1CxWdm.png

    AT&T Roaming http://i.imgur.com/jALJPef.png

    Telus LTE speed test http://i.imgur.com/5aUGnj1.jpg

    AT&T LTE Roaming http://i.imgur.com/Hrb0rHa.jpg

    My Freedom 3g plan http://i.imgur.com/hu1SoL2.png




    Sent from my Pixel XL using HoFo mobile app
    That was a free trial here you go. I was in windsor last week I have no problem using using FM.
    http://www.freedommobile.ca/my-accou...ree-lte-trial/

    Sent from my Z957 using HoFo mobile app
    _____________________
    FREEDOM MOBILE
    [/URL]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,608
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    The free trial is for all the band 4 LTE areas.

    Windsor/London aren't included.

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app
    --------------------------------
    Un petit d'un petit
    S'étonne aux Halles
    Un petit d'un petit
    Ah! degrés te fallent

    Old French Proverb from the book of; Mots D'Heures Gousses Rames

    (I am the Stig!)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,644
    Device(s)
    Nokia 3100
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Its still an offensive company for making people change plans just to get a new band.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    441
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by icq2000b View Post
    Its still an offensive company for making people change plans just to get a new band.
    If you are referring to 66, grossly offensive. If it's 4/7/12/13 or whatever spectrum they bought then no.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,295
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by icq2000b View Post
    Its still an offensive company for making people change plans just to get a new band.
    The other option was to make Wind a flanker brand of Freedom and say "Freedom gets LTE, WIND doesnt". I guess that could be worse.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    441
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by xtachx View Post
    The other option was to make Wind a flanker brand of Freedom and say "Freedom gets LTE, WIND doesnt". I guess that could be worse.
    Shwind? Lol. It could be worse.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 110
    Last Post: 12-19-2012, 08:43 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-22-2005, 07:22 PM
  3. My phone keeps messing up and its my 5th replacement!
    By WannaPhone in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-04-2005, 03:31 PM
  4. My T-Mobile messed up
    By ptyes in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 10:23 AM
  5. T mobile messed up and gave me $378 & phone
    By Caligula in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-01-2003, 05:25 PM

Bookmarks