Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: I'm driving from Buffalo to Toronto. Which carrier will I pick up once I'm in Canada?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0

    I'm driving from Buffalo to Toronto. Which carrier will I pick up once I'm in Canada?

    I have AT&T Prepaid SIM inserted in my Samsung Galaxy S7 edge unlocked. It's the international version that accepts two SIM cards.

    I'm driving from NYC to Buffalo to Toronto in a couple of weeks. I assume the AT&T Prepaid SIM card will work fine in Canada. Well, it's the only reason I bought the SIM in the first place.

    Once I cross the border into Canada, which Canadian carrier will I pick up? Is it all automatic? Which LTE bands do they use?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    It was Rogers all the time when I went to Toronto last June. I belive Band 7 is the only one Canada uses that the US doesn't.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    90
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Not sure about the bands but with my 6S I always picked up rogers as well. It's automatic, once you cross the boarder you'll get nonfunctional ATT coverage for a couple of miles and then it switches over to ROGERS eventually.

    Ridiculous 5 bars at all times too!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    What kind of data transfer speeds were you getting while on rogers? Like, was it on LTE or did it seem slow or?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    90
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It was 5 bars of LTE, speed tests rang up 30-40 mbps.

    Quite stellar, I never really used my phone and thought 'damn I wish I had better signal.'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got Rogers in Toronto airport, with high bars, but I kept losing connectivity on my note 4.... Something's wonky.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by angrytable View Post
    It was 5 bars of LTE, speed tests rang up 30-40 mbps.

    Quite stellar, I never really used my phone and thought 'damn I wish I had better signal.'
    I don't believe the bars anymore, at least not on my iPhone 7(Verizon).
    When it shows just 2 bars, I can get almost 70mbps on Verizon LTE.
    Sometimes even faster than 70mbps, but 90% of the time it's only
    60mbps to 70mbps.

    However, if I put my AT&T SIM card in it and it shows 4 or 5 bars, I'm
    only getting around 25mbps at best on AT&T LTE.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hi Amanda, I hope you and everyone doesn't mind me asking an off topic question. (I can't figure out how to pm you) When you put the Gophone sim card in to your Verizon model iphone 7, does visual voicemail work? I'm asking because i also have a verizon model iphone 7 using AT&T Prepaid and visual voicemail has never worked for me. I'd like to know if it ever works for someone with this situation. Thank you very much for letting me know.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JTEX View Post
    Hi Amanda, I hope you and everyone doesn't mind me asking an off topic question. (I can't figure out how to pm you) When you put the Gophone sim card in to your Verizon model iphone 7, does visual voicemail work? I'm asking because i also have a verizon model iphone 7 using AT&T Prepaid and visual voicemail has never worked for me. I'd like to know if it ever works for someone with this situation. Thank you very much for letting me know.
    Sorry.. I don't even know what visual voicemail is. I've been using Google Voice for voicemail for the last several years.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    90
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JTEX View Post
    Hi Amanda, I hope you and everyone doesn't mind me asking an off topic question. (I can't figure out how to pm you) When you put the Gophone sim card in to your Verizon model iphone 7, does visual voicemail work? I'm asking because i also have a verizon model iphone 7 using AT&T Prepaid and visual voicemail has never worked for me. I'd like to know if it ever works for someone with this situation. Thank you very much for letting me know.
    If you are on the AT&T network you should have visual voicemail.

    I had it one time and I put my friends t-mobile sim to test if his sim was working and my phone wiped the visual voicemail.

    I called customer service and it took me like 20 minutes to restore it, had to wipe all of my old voicemail and reset it on their end but at least it works now.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    79
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 Duos
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AmandaCL View Post
    I have AT&T Prepaid SIM inserted in my Samsung Galaxy S7 edge unlocked. It's the international version that accepts two SIM cards.

    I'm driving from NYC to Buffalo to Toronto in a couple of weeks. I assume the AT&T Prepaid SIM card will work fine in Canada. Well, it's the only reason I bought the SIM in the first place.

    Once I cross the border into Canada, which Canadian carrier will I pick up? Is it all automatic? Which LTE bands do they use?

    Thanks!
    It will roam on Rogers as that is the Canada roaming partner. I assume you have either the $45/6GB or $65/Unlimited Prepaid plan as these are the only two prepaid AT&T plans with roaming. I use AT&T prepaid also and it works great in Canada.

    It's automatic. I'm not sure what band Rogers uses but I've never had a problem in Canada. Speed is fast too, I've received up to 100Mbs at the Toronto airport! It's generally pretty good all over the city.

    I use the dual sim S7 so similar to your phone!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by batcave View Post
    It will roam on Rogers as that is the Canada roaming partner. I assume you have either the $45/6GB or $65/Unlimited Prepaid plan as these are the only two prepaid AT&T plans with roaming. I use AT&T prepaid also and it works great in Canada.

    It's automatic. I'm not sure what band Rogers uses but I've never had a problem in Canada. Speed is fast too, I've received up to 100Mbs at the Toronto airport! It's generally pretty good all over the city.

    I use the dual sim S7 so similar to your phone!
    one quick question... I assume that I have to turn on roaming
    in order for the AT&T SIM card to pick up Rogers in Canada, right?

    Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    79
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 Duos
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AmandaCL View Post
    one quick question... I assume that I have to turn on roaming
    in order for the AT&T SIM card to pick up Rogers in Canada, right?

    Thanks!
    I think calling and texting work without roaming being turned on as it is part of the plan. However, if you want the data to work in Canada, there is an option to turn data roaming on in the settings. You can leave this on all the time as there are no roaming charges on these accounts and you will have uninterrupted coverage when you cross the border.

Similar Threads

  1. from Nextel to Verizon which plan is best?
    By AEguyNYC5 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 01:01 PM
  2. My drive from Chicago to St.Louis on I-55
    By ujpatel in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-17-2002, 10:45 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-31-2002, 02:27 PM
  4. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-12-2002, 10:53 AM
  5. How's Rogers GSM on the 401 from Ottawa to Toronto?
    By nasauti in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-03-2001, 06:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks