Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: it works just fine...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    76
    Feedback Score
    0

    it works just fine...

    The apple care replacement i got for my iphone 6s plus works just fine on verizon prepaid. it's a verizon post paid phone so i was a bit concerned. not worries....popped in my sim....took no time at all to find a great signal.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    328
    Feedback Score
    0
    Why were you concerned about AppleCare and prepaid? Apple only cares if the iPhone is within the T&C for AppleCare at the time of the service request.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    138
    Feedback Score
    0
    Correct me if wrong, but arent all Apple replacement Iphones the fully unlocked sim free model? My wifes Iphone 6s from ATT had battery problems and they swapped it out for a totally unlocked version. Its on Verizon prepaid right now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,289
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MayorOfSexyTown View Post
    Correct me if wrong, but arent all Apple replacement Iphones the fully unlocked sim free model? My wifes Iphone 6s from ATT had battery problems and they swapped it out for a totally unlocked version. Its on Verizon prepaid right now.
    Unsure on that, but I did see a post
    Awhile back that their iphone was unlocked and they sent it in to have it
    Repaired and the phone came back locked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    CMA003 (Chicagoland)
    Posts
    2,404
    Device(s)
    A bunch
    Carrier(s)
    Most of them
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MayorOfSexyTown View Post
    Correct me if wrong, but arent all Apple replacement Iphones the fully unlocked sim free model? My wifes Iphone 6s from ATT had battery problems and they swapped it out for a totally unlocked version. Its on Verizon prepaid right now.
    You're supposed to get back the same model you sent in. So if you bring in an AT&T locked phone, you'll receive an AT&T locked phone in return.

    There are issues like another poster stated, however, that if you get a phone unlocked by the carrier, sometimes they screw up and you get a locked phone in return. If you got an unlocked phone in return for a locked one, I think you just got lucky!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    328
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MayorOfSexyTown View Post
    Correct me if wrong, but arent all Apple replacement Iphones the fully unlocked sim free model? My wifes Iphone 6s from ATT had battery problems and they swapped it out for a totally unlocked version. Its on Verizon prepaid right now.
    Apple changed the policy on this. If the iPhone is locked, the replacement iPhone is supposed to be locked to the same carrier.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Maybe the old phone are carrier unlocked, but because of Apples fight with Qualcomm, newer iPhone are often either GSM or CDMA, due to limitations with Intel modems. It sucks for the customer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    138
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CallmeJake View Post
    Apple changed the policy on this. If the iPhone is locked, the replacement iPhone is supposed to be locked to the same carrier.
    Now that you mention it i did have her ATT phone unlocked before taking it in for warranty work (we paid it off early). Thats probably why we received a sim free model to match.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    688
    Feedback Score
    0
    About a month ago, a friend of mine on Sprint broke his 6S. He got a replacement 6S and it was unlocked; the model number began with an "N", IIRC.

Similar Threads

  1. unable to make call, receiving call works just fine
    By sangleweb in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 11:03 AM
  2. battery worked just fine...am i missing something
    By joeygambino in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 10:47 PM
  3. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-24-2007, 03:59 PM
  4. K750 works just fine in MKE/CHI, USA
    By n1174u in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2005, 10:31 AM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-23-2002, 03:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks