Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Network Extender on Prepaid? Will it work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Macclenny, FL
    Posts
    1,967
    Device(s)
    Moto G5 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    Network Extender on Prepaid? Will it work?

    Will the network extender work on a prepaid line? I can't get a straight answer out of verizon.
    Call Me Bubbles Dahhhlin... Everyone Does! ||

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Always in front of a computer somewhere
    Posts
    260
    Device(s)
    LG K4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is no reason why it wouldn't. What kind of phone do you have? If it supports WiFi Calling, you can use that and save $250.

    Sent from my VS425 using Tapatalk
    -- My opinions are my own and do not reflect those of my employer, past, present, or future.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Macclenny, FL
    Posts
    1,967
    Device(s)
    Moto G5 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ke6alv View Post
    There is no reason why it wouldn't. What kind of phone do you have? If it supports WiFi Calling, you can use that and save $250.

    Sent from my VS425 using Tapatalk
    Verizon rep I spoke with insisted the network extender was a service attached to a phone, and though it's "free", because I have prepaid it wouldn't attach. Unfortunately my phone doesn't have wifi calling. moto g5 plus.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    423
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Pretty sure the rep is right. A network extender has to be registered on your account and it shows up in your list of devices on the My Verizon section of the website.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,227
    Feedback Score
    0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    278
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    You could have a friend with Verizon postpaid add your Network Extender to their account, and then place the device where you need it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    124
    Device(s)
    SM-G935U
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by limegrass69 View Post
    You could have a friend with Verizon postpaid add your Network Extender to their account, and then place the device where you need it.
    Exactly the right approach. It's a silly requirement, anyway. But I agree this would work, and poses no risk that I can see to the postpaid account holder.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    286
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 6, Moto G5 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I recently purchased a 4G LTE Network Extender for our new house (decent service upstairs but no LTE signal in the finished basement). I knew that one couldn't activate an extender unless they were on a postpaid plan, but from what I read it looked like up to seven Verizon users could link to the extender; didn't say seven Verizon postpaid account users. I don't know anyone on a Verizon prepaid account, but will keep an eye on that if I do.

    I also purchased a used 1X/3G Network Extender from eBay and activated that one as well. My best friend is old-school; still uses a Verizon flip-phone. :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    145
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It should. even though this is a different network I do know for a fact that any GSM phone will work with AT&T's Microcell. Postpaid, Prepaid. and even Straight Talk. I would think it would operate the same way.

    Sent from my SM-J327P using HoFo mobile app

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,236
    Device(s)
    too many to list
    Carrier(s)
    virgin mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Extenders and cell spot need to activated with an special number in order for it to pick up signal,I have an T-Mobile one after it was activated it als worked on metro pcs and simple mobile ,it's the same for Verizon


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Peter Is A God AkA Gods Son

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Fivay
    Posts
    382
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP5, iPhone SE, lG 290c, iPad mini 2
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    One of the government buildings that I work in has A Verizon network extender in their dispatch room and my Verizon tracfone connects to it automatically!

Similar Threads

  1. Unlocking Kits on Ebay...will it work?
    By sundayduffer in forum Apple
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2007, 10:20 PM
  2. i760 sim card on motorazr, will it work?
    By importskyline22 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 01:31 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-31-2007, 07:40 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2006, 01:59 PM
  5. Att 8390 on Cingular,will it work?
    By punkkloser in forum AT&T
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 05:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks