Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: So what actually happens when you unlock a (Verizon) Tracfone?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    But right now you already can take your SIM from your Rebel and use it in your unlocked Moto G5 without risk. Technically, TF wants you to transfer service from your Rebel to a CDMA BYOP SIM and use it in your G5.
    So, it turns out that the Rebel has a full-sized SIM, and the G5 wants a nano; and rather than try to cut it down, I'd prefer to do the transfer. But, will that work? I have a TF 3-in-1 kit, but the Verizon card says "Compatible with a used Verizon LTE phone", and my G5 has never been on VZ before.

    Also, is there an issue with transferring service from a VZ Tracfone to, say, an AT&T TF SIM? I thought I'd read something about problems with that.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,586
    Feedback Score
    0
    The "warning" on the Verizon card has to do with actual Verizon phones that have to fulfill their obligation to actual Verizon before they can be used elsewhere.

    You can transfer from a Tracfone Verizon SIM to a Tracfone AT&T SIM. It's just that Verizon has a reputation for being a pain about giving up the account. Customer Service may have to get involved.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,550
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5X - Moto X PE(2), LG X Charge, LG G Pad, Nokia 6102b
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone, Xfinity Mobile, Freedom Pop, Lycamobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
    So, it turns out that the Rebel has a full-sized SIM, and the G5 wants a nano; and rather than try to cut it down, I'd prefer to do the transfer. But, will that work? I have a TF 3-in-1 kit, but the Verizon card says "Compatible with a used Verizon LTE phone", and my G5 has never been on VZ before.

    Also, is there an issue with transferring service from a VZ Tracfone to, say, an AT&T TF SIM? I thought I'd read something about problems with that.
    Better off performing a transfer to its own SIM to use in the G5 anyway. Frees up the Rebel for future activation and the current SIM is still good.

    I recommend going to Chat and having them document your current units and days of service and then just have them perform the transfer. Don't leave the chat until you have a working phone and all the units and days show on your account. I recommend this especially when you are transferring bundles, but in your case it does not appear you are, so..... to note: I have had very good experiences in my last couple of simple transfers between BYOP SIMS just using the on line tool to perform the transfer, but I am still hesitant to recommend to others not documenting your current units and days before doing so.

    I have had no issues transferring from VZ to VZ or VZ to ATT or ATT to VZ and so on.
    Unlike many TF Inc. Subs in recent weeks and now months, TF Inc. not showing much love to their TF service customers.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    11,328
    Feedback Score
    0
    Check your G5 IMEI on the TracFone BYOP checker for Verizon activation - I'm guessing it's not whitelisted, so you cannot use its IMEI for activating a CDMA SIM on TracFone.

    If you have AT&T TracFone service in your area, transfer to a BYOP AT&T nano SIM - it could take 30 minutes to 48 hours to complete. Use TracFone chat as previously suggested.

    Nano SIMs are specd 15% thinner than the other larger SIMs, so cutting down the SIM introduces risks of ruining your phone with a jammed SIM - you would be wise to avoid that risk.

    Quote Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
    So, it turns out that the Rebel has a full-sized SIM, and the G5 wants a nano; and rather than try to cut it down, I'd prefer to do the transfer. But, will that work? I have a TF 3-in-1 kit, but the Verizon card says "Compatible with a used Verizon LTE phone", and my G5 has never been on VZ before.

    Also, is there an issue with transferring service from a VZ Tracfone to, say, an AT&T TF SIM? I thought I'd read something about problems with that.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,641
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    Check your G5 IMEI on the TracFone BYOP checker for Verizon activation - I'm guessing it's not whitelisted, so you cannot use its IMEI for activating a CDMA SIM on TracFone.

    If you have AT&T TracFone service in your area, transfer to a BYOP AT&T nano SIM - it could take 30 minutes to 48 hours to complete. Use TracFone chat as previously suggested.

    Nano SIMs are specd 15% thicker than the other larger SIMs, so cutting down the SIM introduces risks of ruining your phone with a jammed SIM - you would be wise to avoid that risk.
    Do you mean "thinner"?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    11,328
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks - yes, meant nano SIMs are 15% thinner. Will correct this now.

    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Do you mean "thinner"?

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,151
    Device(s)
    Moto X PE, Moto G4P, LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/Verizon, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    Check your G5 IMEI on the TracFone BYOP checker for Verizon activation - I'm guessing it's not whitelisted, so you cannot use its IMEI for activating a CDMA SIM on TracFone.
    The Moto G5 Plus and Moto G5S Plus definitely should be whitelisted for use on Verizon. They are universal carrier unlocked and certified to work on all 4 carriers.

    The only issue in the past, was that there was sometimes a delay before the IMEIs for some models were added to Verizon's database.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    You would be the first person I know of that gets a phone unlocked by Tracfone.
    Well congratulate me then, because YES I HAVE AN UNLOCKED TRACFONE now.

    I ported the number and service to a SIM first, a few days ago, which went well (it even doubled my units); and then, just now, I followed the instructions on www.tfwunlockpolicy.com. I thought it might fail because I'd moved the phone number, but it didn't. (I used the serial number for the eligibility check.) I know most people who've reported on this were just told to send in their phones for a $15 credit. Instead, I got this email:

    Dear William :

    Below are the instructions you need to follow to Unlock the phone with serial number xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx .

    Phone Unlocking Step-by-Step Instructions

    On your phone, dial #TFUNLOCK# (#83865625#) to access the TF UNLOCK Menu .
    The TF UNLOCK Menu will request the UNLOCK Codes . Enter:
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    When the Codes are processed successfully, a Device Unlocked message will display. If the Codes are NOT processed, try to re-enter them.

    Your phone may reboot.



    Note: After Unlocking your phone, your current phone number, service (including benefits), and any enrollment will remain as they are.

    AND IT WORKED.

    So now I guess I should try setting it up on another VZ MVNO...

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    11,328
    Feedback Score
    0
    Congratulations . This is definitely the first time I've seen that TracFone actually unlocked a phone.

    Quote Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
    Well congratulate me then, because YES I HAVE AN UNLOCKED TRACFONE now.

    I ported the number and service to a SIM first, a few days ago, which went well (it even doubled my units); and then, just now, I followed the instructions on www.tfwunlockpolicy.com. I thought it might fail because I'd moved the phone number, but it didn't. (I used the serial number for the eligibility check.) I know most people who've reported on this were just told to send in their phones for a $15 credit. Instead, I got this email:

    Dear William :

    Below are the instructions you need to follow to Unlock the phone with serial number xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx .

    Phone Unlocking Step-by-Step Instructions

    On your phone, dial #TFUNLOCK# (#83865625#) to access the TF UNLOCK Menu .
    The TF UNLOCK Menu will request the UNLOCK Codes . Enter:
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    When the Codes are processed successfully, a Device Unlocked message will display. If the Codes are NOT processed, try to re-enter them.

    Your phone may reboot.



    Note: After Unlocking your phone, your current phone number, service (including benefits), and any enrollment will remain as they are.

    AND IT WORKED.

    So now I guess I should try setting it up on another VZ MVNO...
    C

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,234
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, LG Rebel 2, Moto E4
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
    Well congratulate me then, because YES I HAVE AN UNLOCKED TRACFONE now.
    Congratulations and thanks for telling us about your unlocking experience.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,833
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wondering if they might unlock my Mom's Tracfone Samsung Galaxy On5?

    I'll wait to try it when it gets closer to the date when her service is up in December.

    EDIT:: I just remembered that her phone runs on T-Mobile so nevermind.

    Sent from my Magnificent Moto E4

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-25-2015, 08:49 PM
  2. So what happens when you return a phone?
    By Joe12304 in forum Verizon Prepaid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 05:10 PM
  3. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 06:46 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-01-2006, 03:05 AM
  5. what, exactly, happens when you flash an 8390?
    By e-man in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2002, 06:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks