Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Total Wireless going from TW branded iPhoen 5S -> SE Also unlock the 5S

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    337
    Feedback Score
    0

    Total Wireless going from TW branded iPhoen 5S -> SE Also unlock the 5S

    Haven't done a phone "upgrade" before, how to do transfer my service from my iPhone 5S to new SE? Can I just take the SIM out and put it in the new phone? Do I need to call and transfer the device?

    I will wipe the old phone and unlock it since I've had it for over 12 months. Anyone do this yet? My intention is to sell on eBay and hopefully get more for being unlocked. What does being "unlocked" even mean?

    Thanks sorry for the newbie questions. We've had Total since June 2016 and like it more than Net10 that we had before.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Buckeye Land
    Posts
    358
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wheelsup View Post
    Haven't done a phone "upgrade" before, how to do transfer my service from my iPhone 5S to new SE?
    Chat works best.

    Quote Originally Posted by wheelsup View Post
    Can I just take the SIM out and put it in the new phone?
    Not if you're going to reuse/sell the old one.

    Quote Originally Posted by wheelsup View Post
    Do I need to call and transfer the device?
    Chat works best.

    Quote Originally Posted by wheelsup View Post
    I will wipe the old phone and unlock it since I've had it for over 12 months. Anyone do this yet?
    Good luck with this you'll be one of the first.


    Quote Originally Posted by wheelsup View Post
    What does being "unlocked" even mean?
    http://www.ebay.com/gds/What-Is-an-U...8258720/g.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,109
    Carrier(s)
    guess
    Feedback Score
    0
    Get it unlocked before you transfer to the SE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    337
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by southchatham View Post
    Get it unlocked before you transfer to the SE.
    So I was successful in getting the primary line unlocked. Here is the rub and it kinda pisses me off. I have a two-line family plan with my phone listed first. This one they unlocked. The second phone is not eligible because each month the pin is auto billed to the first phone, so the second phone does not meet the 12 month in service requirement.

    Yeah...I know...I called multiple times they each said the same thing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    337
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok to round this out used Facebook chat and both lines were done in under five minutes working right out of the box. We’ll see if autopay for my two line plan transfers over.

    Boo hiss on the non availability to use the WiFi hotspot on the phone but that’s what you get for $31/line I guess under VZ.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    522
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for reporting back, I am in the same boat, one of my family plan lines will be due to unlocking, but is not the "primary" line.
    It's sad that you needed to use FB support for that - I don't have FB and not planning to get it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    337
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
    Thanks for reporting back, I am in the same boat, one of my family plan lines will be due to unlocking, but is not the "primary" line.
    It's sad that you needed to use FB support for that - I don't have FB and not planning to get it.
    I've had better luck with chat as well, also when dealing with sim and IMEI numbers its better because they can easily see vs having a language barrier. I've used the chat function on their web site as well. I have heard FB chat is staffed by Americans but don't know if that is true or not.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the NEW phone is compatible and not locked, you CAN just swap the sim. But your old phone will remain in their system and it will be Slim Locked, and unusable with any other Tracfone MVNO. They will never remove it. They will want you to buy a BYOP SIM, and transfer the phone number so they can Slim Lock your new phone too. Even if you do this, like they want, the old phone will STILL be slim locked. All their BYOPs say any phone with any of their other MVNOs are not compatible. You have to sell your soul to get a Slim Lock removed.

    The Slim Lock will NOT prevent the phone from being used on Verizon Prepaid.

    That said these verizon tower 4g LTE locked phones are in violation of the FCC mandate for that band, i'm pretty sure.

    If the old phoneis locked, you need to keep using it as far as i know until it gets unocked,and it will STILL be Slim Locked.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    541
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Work / T-Mobile (iPhone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    The no locking requirement applies only to devices sold by Verizon, as they are the ones that agreed to this requirement. A non-Verizon owned MVNO can lock their devices as they are the ones providing the subsidy.

    Not releasing the IMEI of a previously used device is both sleazy and likely illegal as it would prevent fair competition.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,247
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaphod77 View Post
    If the NEW phone is compatible and not locked, you CAN just swap the sim. But your old phone will remain in their system and it will be Slim Locked, and unusable with any other Tracfone MVNO. They will never remove it. They will want you to buy a BYOP SIM, and transfer the phone number so they can Slim Lock your new phone too.
    I have a Straight Talk iPhone 6 (Verizon) and a Total Wireless iPhone SE. Both were (initially) activated on Tracfone/Slim's Page Plus (Verizon), as follows: I activated the TF SIM that came with the ST IP 6 on my PP phone number. When I later bought the TW IP SE, I just swapped that same TF SIM into the SE and never bothered chatting/calling PP about it. I now move that same TF SIM freely between the IP 6, IP SE, a Moto G4, and a Galaxy S4. Has never been a problem; everything always works.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    The "Slim Lock" doesn't hold the iemi hostage completely. only from their other brands.

    Even if a phone is slim locked to total wireless it can still go to verizon pre or even post pay. so it's not technically anti competitive.

    You can even pop in a european sim while travelling and there's no problem.

    But you can't jump from say straight talk to total wireless because total wireless is cheaper, even if you have an iphone 6, which can perform the tower switch.

    And because they own all the brands involved, they can get away with it.

    Yes, it's pretty sleazy, but no one else is beating their price.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-14-2018, 01:14 AM
  2. How to go from ST branded phone to a BYOP
    By haymeadowfield in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2016, 02:49 AM
  3. Unlock iPhone 5S - How to Factory Unlock iPhone 5S - iPhone 5S Unlocking Solution
    By cellunlocker1 in forum CELLUNLOCKER.NET - UNLOCK your Phone to Any GSM Network, Fastest & LowestPrice 100% Guaranteed
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2013, 07:27 PM
  4. For Sale: Various Rogers branded phones. Nokia E71. SE W580 unlocked. SE X10a unlocked.
    By Tennoh in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 12:39 PM
  5. FS: Brand new in box SE P910i unlocked
    By EVO8 in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2004, 01:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks