Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: From Ting to Tracfone questions.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0

    From Ting to Tracfone questions.

    I need to transfer my number from Ting to Tracfone with the old Moto E 2nd generation but I checked on Tracfone website it's not compatible because it's from Sprint network: no Sprint phones for Tracfone?

    I'm not sure but my Moto E is probably unlocked, can I just order a free sim card from Tracfone to use it?

    In case I have to buy a Tracfone compatible phone, can I use my old TMFL LG306G to port in my phone number? Or is it better buying smartphone on sale once in a while at HSN or QVC or Tracfone web sites?

    TIA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    11,211
    Feedback Score
    0
    No Sprint on TracFone. You will need a new SIM card from TracFone to reactivate your old TracFone.

    You can buy a TracFone BYOP SIM kit from Best Buy, Target, or Dollar General for $1 - TracFone will charge the same for a single SIM.

    If you don't have TracFone service time, yes, HSN/QVC bundles are the cheapest route to get started on TracFone.

    If your Moto supports AT&T, you could buy a AT&T bundle phone, then swap SIM into Moto.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    4,059
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    If your Moto supports AT&T, you could buy a AT&T bundle phone, then swap SIM into Moto.
    If this one is a Sprint XT1526 there is no GSM band support. Is only CDMA, with little Verizon LTE band support.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    No Sprint on TracFone. You will need a new SIM card from TracFone to reactivate your old TracFone.

    If you don't have TracFone service time, yes, HSN/QVC bundles are the cheapest route to get started on TracFone.
    So the cheapest way is buying a new SIM card and reactivate my old LG306G, is the SIM coming with some air time/minutes?




    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    If your Moto supports AT&T, you could buy a AT&T bundle phone, then swap SIM into Moto.
    If this one is a Sprint XT1526 there is no GSM band support. Is only CDMA, with little Verizon LTE band support.
    Yes, it's XT1526. So it's OK to throw in the trash, I guess.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    5,983
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    You cannot buy the locked SIM`s that the 3G LG306G uses, but Tracfone will send one to you for free. The SIM will lock to your 306G when powered.
    Tracfone has never utilized Sprint service, and I hope they never do.

    I believe the 306G was AT&T only, but they might send a T-Mobile SIM, so check that you get what you want..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    4,059
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DKTVAV View Post
    So the cheapest way is buying a new SIM card and reactivate my old LG306G, is the SIM coming with some air time/minutes?
    Like Tracfancier said, a replacement SIM should be free. You will have to phone/chat request it. I believe they will ask for the ESN, and it may be assigned a phone number as shipped. To see what service it had before, go to the Prepaid menu for SIM number. 890126 = T-Mobile, 890141 = AT&T. SIM will come with no airtime, and some will have to be applied at activation with the new SIM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,992
    Device(s)
    Moto G1, Moto E2, LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus Cellular, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DKTVAV View Post
    Yes, it's XT1526. So it's OK to throw in the trash, I guess.
    Why would you throw it in the trash? After you transferred service from Ting, it should be released and could be activated on Freedompop or Tello or a number of other Sprint MVNOs. I would think it would have some value to someone for those.

Similar Threads

  1. Moving from Verizon post paid to Tracfone questions
    By Tersanyus in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-02-2016, 08:09 PM
  2. Porting Lumia 920 from AT&T to Tracfone questions
    By Evilhaider in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-22-2015, 03:35 PM
  3. From PP to Tracfone - Questions
    By ListedGuru in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2015, 06:05 AM
  4. Moving basic phone from Verizon to Tracfone questions
    By sprtfan in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 11:50 AM
  5. switching from TDMA to GSM questions
    By kenken325 in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 01:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks