Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: OnePlus 5 3G to LTE switching bug fixed?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,296
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0

    OnePlus 5 3G to LTE switching bug fixed?

    Several users are reporting that after the latest update OnePlus 5 devices are now automatically switching back to LTE after dropping to 3G for a call. Can any user in the forum confirm / deny this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nope. Doesn't work seamlessly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    275
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is embarrassing for Freedom. How can you launch a network and not have phones work on it with specs that qualify to work on said network?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,429
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0

    Post A Weekend with Freedom: Nice LTE (if you can get it)

    [Sorry, not a definitive answer at all, but I thought it better to put this here than to start a new thread...]

    Name:  fm-speedtest.jpg
Views: 486
Size:  40.0 KB

    Here is Freedom Mobile's LTE network at its very best in downtown Toronto, observed by yours truly in the second SIM slot of his Band 66-compatible OnePlus 5. I've definitely recorded better download speeds on Bell/Koodo/TELUS in the same neighbourhood, but Freedom's speeds—and the low latency in particular—is perfectly acceptable for almost anything you'd ask a modern smartphone to do.

    But here's the thing: in my three days of informal testing across the GTA that LTE signal was pretty hard to come by. More often than not I was stuck on HSPA+, sometimes even on (gasp) 3G!

    Not only that, but I can recall two incidents in particular where Freedom let me down entirely: the first was in the parking lot at IKEA North York, where the latency was so bad that launching Google Maps yielded no traffic data; the second was in the basement of Hudson's Bay Company at Queen and Yonge, where I was surprised to suddenly find myself with no signal at all.

    The rest of the time data on Freedom was slow but serviceable. I did keep an eye on my phone's status bar, and when a rare 4G signal magically appeared I immediately did a speed test, with results similar to what you see above. This may, of course, be an issue unique to my unsupported hardware. But a chat with a rep at my local Freedom outlet gave me the impression that the phones sold by the carrier exhibit similar behaviour.

    I will never fault anyone for choosing Freedom Mobile to vote with their wallet; Canada's Big Three carriers have been ripping us off for far too long. But while I'd definitely recommend an LTE upgrade to an existing user, I also think that any Big Three customer looking to jump ship is in for a disappointing ride.
    My mobile memoirs — free ebook available here.
    My HoFo feedback... is that still a thing?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    32
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hellouser View Post
    This is embarrassing for Freedom. How can you launch a network and not have phones work on it with specs that qualify to work on said network?
    This was a problem with Qualcomm and OP not including the 66 radio drivers or something.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you can't wait for OnePlus to fix it, you can edit the EFS items yourself if you are comfortable with the QXDM software suite.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,013
    Device(s)
    Blackview BV8000
    Carrier(s)
    Telus & Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Freedom was not worth it on old pricing.
    With new plans it has become the laughing stock of the Canadian marketplace.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    208
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Peppermint View Post
    Freedom was not worth it on old pricing.
    With new plans it has become the laughing stock of the Canadian marketplace.
    I beg to differ. 11gb of LTE for $39 if you payed attention around here. The new plans are a separate discussion, however...

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app
    Damn!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,609
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MacMan156 View Post
    This was a problem with Qualcomm and OP not including the 66 radio drivers or something.
    Has anyone tried the OP5 in Windsor lately? (Or any of the 5 band 4 plus band66 areas)

    My speculation is; you'll get a rescan after CSFB, camp on LTE band 4 and bump up to band 66.

    But I'm running band 4 only ATM...

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app
    --------------------------------
    Un petit d'un petit
    S'étonne aux Halles
    Un petit d'un petit
    Ah! degrés te fallent

    Old French Proverb from the book of; Mots D'Heures Gousses Rames

    (I am the Stig!)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    662
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MacMan156 View Post
    This was a problem with Qualcomm and OP not including the 66 radio drivers or something.
    Thank goodness Google fixed it in the Pixel 2 xl. I bought mine from the USA Google store, and it was working on band 66 no problem before the AWS 4 refarm and after the AWS 4 refarm in Windsor.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using HoFo mobile app
    Freedom Mobile: Everywhere Canada 100 (20gb) - 35% + $20 Ready To Go, US = $85 + TAX

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    845
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, Pixel 2 has the fix pre loaded from the start for both the 2 and 2XL. Qualcomm has still not fixed the bug.

    Sent from my ZTE A2017U using HoFo mobile app

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    136
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    OnePlus just pushed an update that specifically says they have fixed the band 66 issue for Freedom Mobile customers.

    Supported Airtel VoLTE in India
    Supported Band 66 of Freedom in Canada
    Fixed Wi-Fi WPA2 security issue
    Optimized battery usage in some cases
    Optimized GPS accuracy
    General bug fixes

    Should say a big thanks to zivan56 as he was the one who found out it was a Qualcomm issue and it looks like they implemented his fix.
    Last edited by laxplayer19; 11-02-2017 at 11:37 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0

    OnePlus 5 3G to LTE switching bug fixed?

    Great news. Now if Apple will just do the same for their iPhone Qualcomm B66 versions A1863/4/5

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,296
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by guelphandnew View Post
    Great news. Now if Apple will just do the same for their iPhone Qualcomm B66 versions A1863/4/5
    They are ditching qualcomm from the next year.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0

    OnePlus 5 3G to LTE switching bug fixed?

    They can use any hardware they want but they’ll still be paying for Qualcomm IP.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 230
    Last Post: 10-30-2017, 08:05 PM
  2. Whats everyones experience switching from 3g to LTE?
    By JJohn90 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-18-2017, 08:41 AM
  3. Galaxy S4 not switching from ePHRD 3G to LTE
    By c_bauer224 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-03-2014, 02:24 AM
  4. Smartconnect 3g to wifi switch fix
    By humble_bee in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 08:16 PM
  5. a PERSONAL THANKYOU to VZWStud! (MobileIM bug FIXED!)
    By NuAngel in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 06:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks