Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: OnePlus 5 3G to LTE switching bug fixed?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,231
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0

    OnePlus 5 3G to LTE switching bug fixed?

    Several users are reporting that after the latest update OnePlus 5 devices are now automatically switching back to LTE after dropping to 3G for a call. Can any user in the forum confirm / deny this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    53
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nope. Doesn't work seamlessly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    274
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is embarrassing for Freedom. How can you launch a network and not have phones work on it with specs that qualify to work on said network?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,344
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0

    Post A Weekend with Freedom: Nice LTE (if you can get it)

    [Sorry, not a definitive answer at all, but I thought it better to put this here than to start a new thread...]

    Name:  fm-speedtest.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  40.0 KB

    Here is Freedom Mobile's LTE network at its very best in downtown Toronto, observed by yours truly in the second SIM slot of his Band 66-compatible OnePlus 5. I've definitely recorded better download speeds on Bell/Koodo/TELUS in the same neighbourhood, but Freedom's speeds—and the low latency in particular—is perfectly acceptable for almost anything you'd ask a modern smartphone to do.

    But here's the thing: in my three days of informal testing across the GTA that LTE signal was pretty hard to come by. More often than not I was stuck on HSPA+, sometimes even on (gasp) 3G!

    Not only that, but I can recall two incidents in particular where Freedom let me down entirely: the first was in the parking lot at IKEA North York, where the latency was so bad that launching Google Maps yielded no traffic data; the second was in the basement of Hudson's Bay Company at Queen and Yonge, where I was surprised to suddenly find myself with no signal at all.

    The rest of the time data on Freedom was slow but serviceable. I did keep an eye on my phone's status bar, and when a rare 4G signal magically appeared I immediately did a speed test, with results similar to what you see above. This may, of course, be an issue unique to my unsupported hardware. But a chat with a rep at my local Freedom outlet gave me the impression that the phones sold by the carrier exhibit similar behaviour.

    I will never fault anyone for choosing Freedom Mobile to vote with their wallet; Canada's Big Three carriers have been ripping us off for far too long. But while I'd definitely recommend an LTE upgrade to an existing user, I also think that any Big Three customer looking to jump ship is in for a disappointing ride.
    My mobile memoirs — free ebook available here.
    My HoFo feedback... is that still a thing?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    31
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hellouser View Post
    This is embarrassing for Freedom. How can you launch a network and not have phones work on it with specs that qualify to work on said network?
    This was a problem with Qualcomm and OP not including the 66 radio drivers or something.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    812
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you can't wait for OnePlus to fix it, you can edit the EFS items yourself if you are comfortable with the QXDM software suite.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 215
    Last Post: 10-21-2017, 04:11 AM
  2. Whats everyones experience switching from 3g to LTE?
    By JJohn90 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-18-2017, 07:41 AM
  3. Galaxy S4 not switching from ePHRD 3G to LTE
    By c_bauer224 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-03-2014, 01:24 AM
  4. Smartconnect 3g to wifi switch fix
    By humble_bee in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 07:16 PM
  5. a PERSONAL THANKYOU to VZWStud! (MobileIM bug FIXED!)
    By NuAngel in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 05:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks